Province comparison
Hearing Aid Practitioner Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Licence required
- Alberta: Licence required
- Saskatchewan: Licence required
- Manitoba: Licence required
- Ontario: Not confirmed yet
- Quebec: Licence required
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Licence required
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Licence required
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Licence required | College of Health and Care Professionals of BC | Read the guide for British Columbia |
| Alberta | Licence required | College of Hearing Aid Practitioners of Alberta | Read the guide for Alberta |
| Saskatchewan | Licence required | Saskatchewan Ministry of Health | Read the guide for Saskatchewan |
| Manitoba | Licence required | — | Read the guide for Manitoba |
| Ontario | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Quebec | Licence required | Ordre des audioprothésistes du Québec | Read the guide for Quebec |
| New Brunswick | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Licence required | — | Read the guide for Nova Scotia |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Licence required | Hearing Aid Practitioners Board of Newfoundland and Labrador | Read the guide for Newfoundland and Labrador |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not listed | 4 |
| Alberta | $1,450 | 8 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia and Alberta.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | — | — | Not listed | 1.4 to 1.8 months (partial) | $30.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Practical Exam, International Licensing Exam (ILE), CHAPA Certification Exam (NBC HIS exam) | — | $1,450 (Trained outside Canada) | 0.3 months (partial) | $25.41 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (12)
- Not stated (30)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $17.62 | $26.85 | $36.71 |
| British Columbia | $22.00 | $30.00 | $39.56 |
| Alberta | $15.00 | $25.41 | $36.71 |
| Saskatchewan | $22.97 | $28.00 | $32.88 |
| Manitoba | $17.00 | $21.17 | $26.00 |
| Ontario | $17.60 | $25.68 | $36.00 |
| Quebec | $22.54 | $30.00 | $38.00 |
| New Brunswick | $20.32 | $26.13 | $27.77 |
| Nova Scotia | $20.45 | $26.82 | $42.95 |
| Prince Edward Island | $19.00 | $27.00 | $28.37 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $16.55 | $26.67 | $29.33 |
| Yukon | $25.32 | $34.97 | $43.65 |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.