How to Become an Optician in Manitoba
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with Opticians of Manitoba to work as an optician in Manitoba or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“All Licensed Opticians and Contact Lens Licensed Opticians must be registered and licensed by OOM to legally practice in Manitoba.”
From opticiansofmanitoba.ca/registrants/application-licensure, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 2 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step, listed one-time fees $200
- Annual fees
-
- License Fee: Eyeglasses: $809.49
- License Fee: Contact Lenses: $868.31
- License Fee: Inactive: $339.17
- License Fee: Eyeglasses: $833.77
- License Fee: Contact Lenses: $894.36
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,745.10
-
You must be enrolled in an accredited opticianry program before you can register as a student optician.
Source
“If you wish to register as a student optician with the OOM, you must be enrolled in an accredited opticianry program.”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/becoming-an-optician/student-registration -
Student registrations must be renewed if the student plans to enroll in a second or subsequent session of the program.
Source
“Student registrations must be renewed if a student is planning to enroll in a second or subsequent session of an accredited opticianry program.”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/becoming-an-optician/student-registration
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with OOM
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,745.10 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- License Fee: Eyeglasses: $809.49
- License Fee: Contact Lenses: $868.31
- License Fee: Inactive: $339.17
- License Fee: Eyeglasses: $833.77
- License Fee: Contact Lenses: $894.36
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- Listed one-time fees: $200
- Annual fees: $3,745.10
-
Applicants licensed in another Canadian province or territory who are in good standing apply for registration with the OOM under the Mutual Recognition Agreement and submit a Letter of Good Standing, proof of liability insurance, a passport photo, a criminal record check, a completed application form, and the registration fee.
- Optician License Registration Fee: $200
Source
“Optician License Registration Fee | $200.00 | $200.00”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/registrants/fees
Source
“Applicants licensed in another province or territory in Canada who are in good standing with their current provincial regulatory college can apply for registration with the OOM under the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA). Please note, applicants must submit the following: Letter of Good Standing Proof of Liability Insurance with a minimum of $1 million in coverage Passport Photo Criminal Record Check Completed Application for Registration Form Registration Fee”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/becoming-an-optician/out-of-province - Optician License Registration Fee: $200
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $200
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $200 | 100% |
| One-time total | $200 | 100% |
Annual fees: $3,745.10 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- License Fee: Eyeglasses: $809.49
- License Fee: Contact Lenses: $868.31
- License Fee: Inactive: $339.17
- License Fee: Eyeglasses: $833.77
- License Fee: Contact Lenses: $894.36
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Replacement Registration Certificate: Printing fee: $35
Source
“Replacement Registration Certificate: Printing fee | $35.00 | $35.00”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/registrants/fees - Replacement License to Practice Card: $35
Source
“Replacement License to Practice Card | $35.00 | $35.00”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/registrants/fees - Late Student Application Fee: $50
- Reinstatement Fee (Optician/ Contact Lens Optician): $300
Source
“Reinstatement Fee (Optician/ Contact Lens Optician) | $300.00 | $300.00”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/registrants/fees - Late License Application fee ( after Nov. 1st): $200 (after Nov. 1st)
Source
“Late License Application fee ( after Nov. 1st) | $200.00 | $200.00”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/registrants/fees - Duplicate Tax Receipt: $15
- Letter of Good Standing / Name Change / Incomplete Application Forms: $25
Source
“Letter of Good Standing / Name Change / Incomplete Application Forms | $25.00 | $25.00”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/registrants/fees - Declined NSF Cheque / Declined Credit Card: $100
Source
“Declined NSF Cheque / Declined Credit Card | $100.00 | $100.00”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/registrants/fees
Requirements
Education
Student optician applicants must be enrolled in an accredited opticianry program.
Source
“If you wish to register as a student optician with the OOM, you must be enrolled in an accredited opticianry program.”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/becoming-an-optician/student-registration
Police check
First-time student registration applicants must submit an original criminal record search report including a vulnerable sector search completed within the previous three years.
Source
“the original version of a criminal record search report from your local jurisdiction, which includes a vulnerable sector search, completed within the previous three years”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/becoming-an-optician/student-registrationOut-of-province applicants must submit a Criminal Record Check.
Insurance
Out-of-province applicants must provide proof of liability insurance with a minimum of $1 million in coverage.
Source
“Proof of Liability Insurance with a minimum of $1 million in coverage”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/becoming-an-optician/out-of-province
Other
Out-of-province applicants must be in good standing with their current provincial regulatory college and submit a Letter of Good Standing.
Source
“Applicants licensed in another province or territory in Canada who are in good standing with their current provincial regulatory college can apply for registration with the OOM under the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA).”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/becoming-an-optician/out-of-provinceAll members, including inactive members, must earn a minimum number of Maintenance of Competency credits in a 3-year cycle.
Source
“To ensure current knowledge, all members, including inactive members, must earn a minimum number of Maintenance of Competency (MOC) credits in a 3-year cycle.”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/registrants/continuing-education-maintenance...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Applicants licensed in another Canadian province or territory who are in good standing can apply for registration with the OOM under the Mutual Recognition Agreement by submitting the listed documents, with no additional exam or assessment stated. Source
“Applicants licensed in another province or territory in Canada who are in good standing with their current provincial regulatory college can apply for registration with the OOM under the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA).”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/becoming-an-optician/out-of-province
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with OOM
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with OOM
Exams
-
exam(s) related to the dispensing of eyeglasses and/or the fitting of contact lenses
Source
“They must meet basic educational requirements and pass the exam(s) related to the dispensing of eyeglasses and/or the fitting of contact lenses.”
opticiansofmanitoba.ca/registrants/application-licensure
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with OOM
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with OOM
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with OOM
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manitoba | $21.16 | $29.69 | $37.86 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $17.80 | $28.50 | $39.40 | — |
Opticians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Application & Licensure - Opticians of Manitoba opticiansofmanitoba.ca/registrants/application-licensure · fetched October 10, 2026
- Student Registration - Opticians of Manitoba opticiansofmanitoba.ca/becoming-an-optician/student-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Out of Province - Opticians of Manitoba opticiansofmanitoba.ca/becoming-an-optician/out-of-province · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees - Opticians of Manitoba opticiansofmanitoba.ca/registrants/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Continuing Education/ Maintenance of Competency - Opticians of Manitoba opticiansofmanitoba.ca/registrants/continuing-education-maintenance... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an optician in Manitoba?
Yes. Registration with Opticians of Manitoba is required to practise in Manitoba.
Which exams are required?
exam(s) related to the dispensing of eyeglasses and/or the fitting of contact lenses.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.