How to Become an Optician in New Brunswick
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Opticians' Association of New Brunswick to work as an optician in New Brunswick or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“If a student is doing all, or part, of their practical component in the province of New Brunswick – whether in an optical dispensary or in a college setting, where members of the public are fitted for eyeglasses - the student must register as an apprentice with the Opticians Association of New Brunswick to legally practice optical dispensing while supervised.”
From opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps (4 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps (3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $950
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Opticians' Association of New Brunswick
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 4 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
Applicants must register for and successfully complete an optical dispensing program or online course offered by an accredited institution.
Source
“Applicants must register for and successfully complete an optical dispensing program, or online course offered by an accredited institution.”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician -
The student must obtain practical experience through a job in an optical dispensary and have the optician or optometrist there sponsor and register them as an apprentice through their school or directly through OANB.
- Apprenticeship registration fee: $263 (Fees will be refunded only in the event the application is refused by the OANB Council, or withdrawn prior to approval)
Source
“Apply and pay the apprenticeship registration fee: $263.00. Fees will be refunded only in the event the application is refused by the OANB Council, or withdrawn prior to approval”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician
Source
“Students must obtain practical experience through a job in an optical dispensary, working for an optician or optometrist as an apprentice. The optician (or optometrist) at your place of employment must agree to sponsor and register you as an apprentice through your school, or if you are completing an online course, directly through OANB.”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician - Apprenticeship registration fee: $263 (Fees will be refunded only in the event the application is refused by the OANB Council, or withdrawn prior to approval)
-
The applicant is approved by the OANB Council once all documents and payment of fees have been received.
Source
“Be approved by the OANB Council upon receipt of all documents and payment of fees”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician -
After successfully completing the two-year program or course, students must pass the National Optical Science practical exam administered by NACOR, with separate examinations for eyeglasses and contact lenses.
- NACOR exam fee EG or CL: $875 (payable to NACOR)
Source
“NACOR exam fees are: EG or CL: $875.00 each (payable to NACOR).”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician
Source
“After successfully completing the two-year program/course, students must pass the National Optical Science practical exam – administered by NACOR (National Alliance of Canadian Optician Regulators).”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician - NACOR exam fee EG or CL: $875 (payable to NACOR)
-
Upon completing the accredited course and relevant NACOR examinations, the student applies for registration with OANB as a licensed optician by submitting an application, confirmation of graduation, NACOR exam marks confirmation, a Criminal Record Check with Vulnerable Sector Screening, and the licensing fee.
- Licensing fee, eyeglasses only certification: $545 (for applicants with eyeglasses only certification)
Source
“Payment of the licensing fee for applicants with eyeglasses only certification: $545.00”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician - Licensing fee, eyeglasses and contact lens certification: $580 (for applicants with both eyeglasses and contact lens certification)
Source
“for applicants with both eyeglasses and contact lens certification: $580.00.”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician
Source
“Upon successful completion of both an accredited optical dispensing course and relevant NACOR examination(s), the student may apply for registration with OANB as a licensed optician by submitting the following:”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician - Licensing fee, eyeglasses only certification: $545 (for applicants with eyeglasses only certification)
Listed fees for this route
4 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant requests an application from OANB by email.
-
The applicant requests that a letter of good standing be sent by email from the Optician's Association in the province where they are currently licensed to OANB.
Source
“Request that a letter of good standing be sent by email, from the Optician’s Association, in the province in which you are currently licensed, to OANB at:[email protected]”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician -
The applicant submits a copy of their current licence, the payment form and fees, a Criminal Record Check with Vulnerable Sector Screening, and a head and shoulders photo for the mandatory Photo ID card.
- Practicing License, eyeglasses only: $545 (Eyeglasses only)
Source
“Submit payment form and fees: Eyeglasses only: $545.00, Eyeglasses with contact lenses certifications: $580.00 Practicing License, Non-Practicing: $136.00”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician - Practicing License, eyeglasses with contact lenses certifications: $580 (Eyeglasses with contact lenses certifications)
Source
“Eyeglasses with contact lenses certifications: $580.00”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician - Non-Practicing License: $136 (Non-Practicing)
Source
“Submit a copy of your current license with your application - Submit payment form and fees: Eyeglasses only: $545.00, Eyeglasses with contact lenses certifications: $580.00 Practicing License, Non-Practicing: $136.00 - Submit a Criminal Record Check with Vulnerable Sector Screening - Provide head & shoulders photo (PDF) for mandatory Photo ID card”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician - Practicing License, eyeglasses only: $545 (Eyeglasses only)
-
Once the application, documents, fee payment and photo are received, the application is presented to the OANB Council for approval, and upon approval the applicant is issued a licence number, NB licence certificate and photo ID.
Source
“Once your application, documents, fee payment and photo are received, your application will be presented to the OANB Council for approval. Upon approval you will be issued a license number, NB License certificate and a photo ID.”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician
Listed fees for this route
3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $950
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
The internationally trained applicant goes through the Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition process, paying document review and assessment fees.
- Document review fee: $250
- Eyeglasses Assessment: $350
- Contact Lens Assessment: $350
Source
“you may be eligible to become an optician through the Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR) process, and by passing the national examinations”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician -
The applicant must pass the national examinations.
Source
“you may be eligible to become an optician through the Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR) process, and by passing the national examinations”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician -
To register, the applicant contacts the National Alliance of Canadian Optician Regulators (NACOR).
Source
“To register contact: The National Alliance of Canadian Optician Regulators (NACOR) at: https://nacor.ca/how-to-become-an-optician/”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $950
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Assessment | $950 | 100% |
| One-time total | $950 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Pre-candidature fee: $140
Source
“Apply, fulfill all requirements, and pay for pre-candidature with the Opticians Association of New Brunswick, fee: $140.00.”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician - Competency Gap Assessment (CGA) fee: $350
Source
“members will be required to apply to NACOR, to take the Competency Gap Assessment (CGA) at their own expense – cost $350.00.”
opticiansnb.com/non-compliance
Requirements
Education
Applicants must have sufficient educational background to pass a program or course without extra tutoring in the basic principles of mathematics and physics.
Source
“3. Have sufficient educational background to pass a program/course, without extra tutoring in the basic principles of mathematics and physics upon which the course is founded”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-opticianApplicants must have a High School diploma and submit a transcript of marks.
Source
“4. Have a High School diploma and submit a transcript of marks (request original from school)”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician
Police check
Applicants must submit a Criminal Record Check with Vulnerable Sector Screening.
Source
“4. Submission of a Criminal Record Check with Vulnerable Sector Screening”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician
Good character
Applicants must be demonstrably of good character.
Other
Applicants must provide 3 letters of character reference.
NAIT students must be employed in an optical dispensary in New Brunswick and have a sponsorship agreement with a licensed dispensing optician or optometrist.
Source
“5. NAIT students must be employed in an optical dispensary in New Brunswick and have a sponsorship agreement, between themselves and a licensed dispensing optician or optometrist (usually their employer).”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-opticianWorking under the direct supervision of a licensed dispenser, the applicant must complete all practicum requirements of their optical course.
Source
“6. Working under the direct supervision of a licensed dispenser (sponsor or the sponsor’s delegate), must complete all practicum requirements of their optical course”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
An applicant currently licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction can be granted licensure in New Brunswick by submitting an application, a letter of good standing, a copy of their current licence, fees, a Criminal Record Check with Vulnerable Sector Screening and a photo, without retaking the entry-to-practice exam. Source
“2. Applicant is currently licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician
Request an application
Arrange a letter of good standing
Source
“Request that a letter of good standing be sent by email, from the Optician’s Association, in the province in which you are currently licensed, to OANB at:[email protected]”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-opticianSubmit documents and fees
Source
“Submit a copy of your current license with your application - Submit payment form and fees: Eyeglasses only: $545.00, Eyeglasses with contact lenses certifications: $580.00 Practicing License, Non-Practicing: $136.00 - Submit a Criminal Record Check with Vulnerable Sector Screening - Provide head & shoulders photo (PDF) for mandatory Photo ID card”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-opticianCouncil approval and licence issuance
Source
“Once your application, documents, fee payment and photo are received, your application will be presented to the OANB Council for approval. Upon approval you will be issued a license number, NB License certificate and a photo ID.”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Opticians' Association of New Brunswick
Credential assessment
Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR)
assessment
Source
“you may be eligible to become an optician through the Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR) process, and by passing the national examinations”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician
Exams
-
National Optical Science practical exam (eyeglasses)
Source
“There are separate examinations for eyeglasses (EG) and contact lenses (CL).”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician -
National Optical Science practical exam (contact lenses)
Source
“There are separate examinations for eyeglasses (EG) and contact lenses (CL).”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician -
Competency Gap Assessment (CGA)
Source
“members will be required to apply to NACOR, to take the Competency Gap Assessment (CGA) at their own expense – cost $350.00.”
opticiansnb.com/non-compliance
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Opticians' Association of New Brunswick
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Opticians' Association of New Brunswick
Supervised practice
Required
Students must obtain practical experience through a job in an optical dispensary, working for an optician or optometrist as an apprentice. Source
“Students must obtain practical experience through a job in an optical dispensary, working for an optician or optometrist as an apprentice.”
opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $20.73 | $28.50 | $34.30 | Undetermined |
| Canada | $17.80 | $28.50 | $39.40 | — |
Opticians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Registering As An Optician | Opticians Association Of New Brunswick opticiansnb.com/registering-as-an-optician · fetched October 10, 2026
- Consequences of Professional Development Non Compliance | Opticians Association Of New Brunswick opticiansnb.com/non-compliance · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an optician in New Brunswick?
Yes. Registration with the Opticians' Association of New Brunswick is required to practise in New Brunswick.
Which exams are required?
National Optical Science practical exam (eyeglasses), National Optical Science practical exam (contact lenses), Competency Gap Assessment (CGA).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.