How to Become a Teacher in Manitoba
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with Professional Certification Unit to work as a teacher in Manitoba or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- school clinician
Show the source
“A valid Manitoba Teaching or School Clinician Certificate is required to be employed as professional school personnel in Manitoba.”
From edu.gov.mb.ca/k12/profcert/index.html, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with PCU
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Apply for a Credential Assessment Report completed by Pathways to Teach Canada and add Manitoba as the recipient of the report.
Source
“Step 1 Apply for a Credential Assessment Report completed by Pathways to Teach Canada”
edu.gov.mb.ca/k12/profcert/index.html -
When the Pathways report is received by the Professional Certification Unit, you will be emailed the teacher certification application form to complete.
Source
“When the Pathways report is received by the Professional Certification Unit (PCU) you will be emailed the teacher certification application form to complete.”
edu.gov.mb.ca/k12/profcert/index.html -
Submit the completed application form, fee and required documents to the Professional Certification Unit by mail, and once all documents are received you will be emailed that you are in the queue for evaluation.
Source
“Submit the completed application form, fee and required documents to PCU via mail.”
edu.gov.mb.ca/k12/profcert/index.html
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with PCU
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Other
All applicants for teaching and clinician certificates must complete an approved sexual abuse prevention program and attach the certificate of completion to the application package.
Source
“Effective November 12, 2024, all applicants for teaching and clinician certificates will be required to complete an approved sexual abuse prevention program in order to be eligible for certification.”
edu.gov.mb.ca/k12/profcert/index.htmlAll internationally educated applicants are required to complete the Pathways to Teach Canada credential assessment.
Source
“All internationally educated applicants are required to complete the Pathways to Teach Canada credential assessment.”
edu.gov.mb.ca/k12/profcert/index.htmlApplicants must complete the Pathways to Teach Canada language proficiency assessment, which is the only approved language proficiency test accepted by the department.
Source
“Pathways to Teach Canada’s language proficiency assessment is currently the only approved language proficiency test accepted by the department for teaching”
edu.gov.mb.ca/k12/profcert/index.html
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages list a process for teachers certified in another province in Canada but do not state whether they can register based on their current licence without retaking exams or assessments.
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with PCU
Credential assessment
Pathways to Teach Canada credential assessment
credential assessment
Source
“All internationally educated applicants are required to complete the Pathways to Teach Canada credential assessment.”
edu.gov.mb.ca/k12/profcert/index.html
Exams
-
Pathways to Teach Canada credential assessment
Source
“All internationally educated applicants are required to complete the Pathways to Teach Canada credential assessment.”
edu.gov.mb.ca/k12/profcert/index.html
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with PCU
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with PCU
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with PCU
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manitoba | $26.44 | $42.69 | $57.69 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $26.67 | $43.27 | $56.59 | — |
Teachers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Professional Certification | Manitoba Education and Early Childhood Learning edu.gov.mb.ca/k12/profcert/index.html · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a teacher in Manitoba?
Yes. Registration with Professional Certification Unit is required to practise in Manitoba, and to use the title school clinician.
Which exams are required?
Pathways to Teach Canada credential assessment.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.