How to Become a Teacher in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Ontario College of Teachers to work as a teacher in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“To teach in Ontario’s publicly funded schools, you must be certified by the Ontario College of Teachers and pay an annual membership fee to keep your membership in good standing.”
From oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 6 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Teachers
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
Source
“have completed a minimum three-year postsecondary degree from an acceptable postsecondary institution”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements -
Apply to the College for certification and pay the annual membership and registration fees.
- Registration Fee: $140 (All teachers educated in Ontario and outside of Ontario must pay the registration fee when applying to the College.)
Source
“Registration Fee<br>All teachers educated in Ontario and outside of Ontario must pay the registration fee when applying to the College. | $140”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/fees-and-payments
Source
“apply to the College for certification and pay the annual membership and registration fees”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements - Registration Fee: $140 (All teachers educated in Ontario and outside of Ontario must pay the registration fee when applying to the College.)
-
Ontario applicants who completed their application on or after January 1, 2022 must complete the Sexual Abuse Prevention Program to qualify for certification.
Source
“Ontario applicants who completed their application on or after January 1, 2022, must complete the Program to qualify for certification.”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements/sexual-abuse-preventio...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Apply to the College under the Ontario Labour Mobility Act to transfer your teaching certification to Ontario.
Source
“Learn how to transfer your teaching certification to Ontario by applying under the *Ontario Labour Mobility Act*.”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/applying/applicant-eligibility-asse...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Ontario College of Teachers
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 6 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 1 month (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
-
Time: 30 days
Time source
“Estimated time to complete the questionnaire is 30 minutes.”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/applying/applicant-eligibility-asse...Source
“Before beginning your application to the Ontario College of Teachers, we recommend taking our free online assessment to determine if you meet the requirements for certification.”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/applying/applicant-eligibility-asse... -
Arrange for your university to send the College the academic records for all degrees and programs listed on your application form.
Source
“You must arrange for your university to send to the College the academic records for all the degrees and programs you listed on your application form.”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements/internationally-educat... -
Obtain a Statement of Professional Standing from the country where you completed your teacher education program and from any other country where you are or have been certified to teach.
Source
“A Statement of Professional Standing is required from the country, province or state where you completed your teacher education program, and from any other country, province or state where you are or have been certified to teach.”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements/internationally-educat... -
Send a photocopy of your teaching certificate from all jurisdictions where you are or have been authorized to teach.
Source
“You must send a photocopy of your teaching certificate from all jurisdictions where you are or have been authorized to teach. This applies even if you have never taught there.”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements/internationally-educat... -
Apply to the College for certification and pay the annual membership and registration fees.
- Registration Fee: $140 (All teachers educated in Ontario and outside of Ontario must pay the registration fee when applying to the College.)
Source
“Registration Fee<br>All teachers educated in Ontario and outside of Ontario must pay the registration fee when applying to the College. | $140”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/fees-and-payments
Source
“apply to the College for certification and pay the annual membership and registration fees”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements - Registration Fee: $140 (All teachers educated in Ontario and outside of Ontario must pay the registration fee when applying to the College.)
-
Internationally educated teachers who applied on or after January 1, 2022 must complete the Sexual Abuse Prevention Program to be certified.
Source
“Internationally educated teachers who applied to teach in Ontario on or after January 1, 2022 must complete the Sexual Abuse Prevention Program to be certified to teach in Ontario.”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements/sexual-abuse-preventio...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
You must have completed a minimum three-year postsecondary degree from an acceptable postsecondary institution.
Source
“have completed a minimum three-year postsecondary degree from an acceptable postsecondary institution”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirementsYou must have successfully completed a four-semester teacher education program.
Source
“have successfully completed a four-semester teacher education program”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements
Other
Applicants must meet professional suitability, which consists of an application declaration, a Canadian criminal record report and a statement of professional standing.
Source
“professional suitability, which consists of: - an application declaration - a Canadian criminal record report - a statement of professional standing.”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements/canadian-certified-tea...Applicants must meet proficiency in English or French.
Source
“proficiency in English or French”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements/canadian-certified-tea...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Teachers certified in any Canadian province or territory can get certified in Ontario under the Ontario Labour Mobility Act, with exceptions only for language proficiency and professional suitability requirements. Source
“Under the *Ontario Labour Mobility Act, 2009*, teachers certified in any Canadian province or territory can also get certified in Ontario.”
oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements/canadian-certified-tea...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Teachers
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Teachers
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Teachers
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Teachers
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Teachers
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Teachers
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $27.50 | $46.15 | $58.79 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $26.67 | $43.27 | $56.59 | — |
Teachers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Requirements | Ontario College of Teachers oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees and Payments | Ontario College of Teachers oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/fees-and-payments · fetched October 10, 2026
- Sexual Abuse Prevention Program | Ontario College of Teachers oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements/sexual-abuse-preventio... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Canadian Certified Teachers | Ontario College of Teachers oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements/canadian-certified-tea... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applicant Eligibility Assessment | Ontario College of Teachers oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/applying/applicant-eligibility-asse... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Country-Specific Information | Ontario College of Teachers oct.ca/en-ca/becoming-a-teacher/requirements/internationally-educat... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a teacher in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the Ontario College of Teachers is required to practise in Ontario.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.