How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in New Brunswick
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the New Brunswick College of Pharmacists to work as a pharmacy technician in New Brunswick or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Pharmacy Technician, Pharmacy Technician Student
Show the source
“Only those individuals registered with the New Brunswick College of Pharmacists may use the titles Pharmacy Technician Student or Pharmacy Technician.”
From nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registration, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $2,325
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick College of Pharmacists
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
Before completing any required practical training in the province, the applicant must first be registered with the College as a pharmacy technician student.
Source
“No time service shall be completed in the province of New Brunswick without being registered with the College.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registration -
After graduation the applicant must serve at least six weeks of practice experience in New Brunswick, which includes the Structured Practical Evaluation.
Source
“a minimum of 6 weeks practice experience to be served in New Brunswick following graduation, which shall include the Structured Practical Evaluation (SPE).”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registration -
The applicant must provide proof of successfully completing the PEBC qualifying exams, both the OSPE and the MCQ.
Source
“Proof of successful completion of qualifying exams (OSPE and MCQ) is required for Pharmacy Technicians.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registration -
The applicant must successfully pass the Jurisprudence Exam, which tests knowledge of New Brunswick pharmacy legislation.
Source
“All candidates for registration/licensure as a pharmacy technician in New Brunswick are required to successfully pass the Jurisprudence Exam.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registration -
The applicant must send the original required documents to the College, and the application is processed only once all documents are received in the correct format.
Source
“The original documents listed above must be sent to the College.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registration
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick College of Pharmacists
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant must ask every pharmacy regulatory authority they are or have been licensed with to send a Letter of Standing directly to the College.
Source
“Also any applicant wishing to license with the New Brunswick College of Pharmacist must request a Letter of Standing be sent directly to NBCP from any Pharmacy Regulatory Authority they are currently or have previously been licensed with.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/forms-fees -
The applicant must successfully pass the Jurisprudence Exam on New Brunswick pharmacy legislation.
Source
“All candidates for registration/licensure as a pharmacist or pharmacy technician in New Brunswick are required to successfully pass the Jurisprudence Exam.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/registration -
The applicant must give the College an original notarized photocopy of Canadian government photo identification by mail or in person.
Source
“The applicant must provide the College with an original, notarized photocopy of a Canadian government issued photo ID (driver’s license or passport) by mail or in person.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registration
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick College of Pharmacists
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $2,325
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
The applicant undergoes PEBC's document-based evaluation to determine whether they completed an eligible program of study outside Canada and have the necessary foundational pharmacy knowledge and skills.
- Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation: $500
Source
“Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation $500”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees
Source
“The objective of the International Evaluation is to determine whether you, as a potential candidate for the PEBC Pharmacy Technician Qualifying Examination, have completed an eligible program of study outside of Canada and have acquired the necessary foundational pharmacy knowledge and skills.”
pebc.ca/pharmacy-technicians/pharmacy-technician-international-eval... - Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation: $500
-
The applicant must pass both parts of the PEBC Qualifying Examination, the MCQ part and the OSPE part.
- Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ): $585
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ) $585 (2027 fee)”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE): $1,240
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE) $1,240 (2027 fee)”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ) $585 (2027 fee)”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ): $585
-
The applicant must successfully pass the Jurisprudence Exam on New Brunswick pharmacy legislation.
Source
“All candidates for registration/licensure as a pharmacy technician in New Brunswick are required to successfully pass the Jurisprudence Exam.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registration
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $2,325
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $500 | 22% |
| Exams | $1,825 | 78% |
| One-time total | $2,325 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Examination Re-scoring (Hand scoring) - Qualifying Examination Part I (MCQ): $100
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ) $100”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Examination Re-scoring (Hand scoring) - Qualifying Examination Part II (OSPE): $200
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE) $200”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Examination Rescheduling / Cancellation - Qualifying Examination Part I (MCQ): $60 (Paid directly to Prometric when rescheduling or cancelling, if applicable)
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ) $60 +HST Paid directly to Prometric when rescheduling or cancelling, if applicable”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Certificate Replacement: $100
- Sending Licensing Statement/Good Standing Certificate to Provincial Regulatory Authority: $100
Source
“Sending Licensing Statement/Good Standing Certificate to Provincial Regulatory Authority $100”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - ECA Report Request: $100
- Shipping and handling fee: $30 (if your payment does not meet these requirements)
Source
“If your payment does not meet these requirements you will be charged a fee of $30 CAD to cover shipping and handling fees”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees
Requirements
Education
An applicant must already be licensed as a pharmacy technician in another Canadian jurisdiction or be a graduate of a CCAPP or ACPE accredited entry-level pharmacy technician education program in Canada or the United States.
Source
“An applicant for registration as a pharmacy technician must be already licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in another Canada jurisdiction or be a graduate of a CCAPP or ACPE accredited entry-level pharmacy technician education program in Canada or the United States.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registrationInternationally educated applicants must have graduated from a pharmacy technician diploma or related program outside Canada, as certificate courses or certification by exam are not accepted.
Source
“Graduation from a pharmacy technician diploma or related program outside of Canada. - Certificate courses or certification by exam are not accepted.”
pebc.ca/pharmacy-technicians/pharmacy-technician-international-eval...
Experience
The applicant must complete at least eight weeks of structured practice experience as part of the accredited education program, within a total of at least fourteen weeks of practical training in New Brunswick.
Source
“a minimum of 8 weeks of structured practice experience as part of the accredited education program.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registration
Police check
Applicants must provide a Canadian Criminal Record Check.
Other
Applicants must provide an original notarized photocopy of Canadian government issued photo identification.
Source
“The applicant must provide the College with an original, notarized photocopy of a Canadian government issued photo ID (driver’s license or passport) by mail or in person.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registrationFirst Aid and CPR certification remains a requirement of licensure for pharmacy professionals working in direct client-care settings.
Source
“First Aid/CPR remains a requirement of licensure for all pharmacy professionals working in direct client-care settings.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/registration/continuous-professional-developmentA minimum of 15 CPD units is required for licensure each year.
Source
“A minimum of 15 CPD units is the requirement for licensure and supports the College’s mandate of protecting and promoting the health and well-being of New Brunswickers by ensuring the competency of its registrants.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/registration/continuous-professional-development
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages state that an applicant must already be licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in another Canadian jurisdiction and must arrange a Letter of Standing from other regulatory authorities, but they do not state whether registration is granted directly on the existing licence or requires additional assessments or exams. Source
“An applicant for registration as a pharmacy technician must be already licensed as a Pharmacy Technician in another Canada jurisdiction or be a graduate of a CCAPP or ACPE accredited entry-level pharmacy technician education program in Canada or the United States.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registration
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick College of Pharmacists
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick College of Pharmacists
Exams
-
Jurisprudence Exam
Source
“All candidates for registration/licensure as a pharmacist or pharmacy technician in New Brunswick are required to successfully pass the Jurisprudence Exam.”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/jurisprudence-exam-2 -
Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ)
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ) $585 (2027 fee)”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees -
Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE)
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE) $1,240 (2027 fee)”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees -
Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation
Source
“PEBC’s pharmacy technician certification process for international candidates encompasses both the Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation and the Pharmacy Technician Qualifying Examination.”
pebc.ca/pharmacy-technicians/pharmacy-technician-international-eval... -
Structured Practical Evaluation (SPE)
Source
“a minimum of 6 weeks practice experience to be served in New Brunswick following graduation, which shall include the Structured Practical Evaluation (SPE).”
nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registration
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick College of Pharmacists
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick College of Pharmacists
Supervised practice
Required
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $18.00 | $26.94 | $31.85 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $17.50 | $24.83 | $34.20 | — |
Pharmacy technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Registration | New Brunswick College of Pharmacists nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/registration · fetched October 9, 2026
- Forms and Fees | New Brunswick College of Pharmacists nbpharmacists.ca/en/page_category/forms-fees · fetched October 9, 2026
- Registration | New Brunswick College of Pharmacists nbpharmacists.ca/en/registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- General Information - PEBC pebc.ca/pharmacy-technicians/pharmacy-technician-international-eval... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Examination Dates and Fees - PEBC pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees · fetched October 9, 2026
- Continuous Professional Development | New Brunswick College of Pharmacists nbpharmacists.ca/en/registration/continuous-professional-development · fetched October 10, 2026
- Jurisprudence Exam | New Brunswick College of Pharmacists nbpharmacists.ca/en/jurisprudence-exam-2 · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a pharmacy technician in New Brunswick?
Yes. Registration with the New Brunswick College of Pharmacists is required to practise in New Brunswick, and to use the title Pharmacy Technician or Pharmacy Technician Student.
Which exams are required?
Jurisprudence Exam, Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ), Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE), Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation, Structured Practical Evaluation (SPE).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.