At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
  • Annual renewal fee for pharmacy technicians: $581.65
    Source
    “The annual fee to renew an individual certificate of registration for pharmacy technicians for 2024 is $581.65 (+HST).”
    ocpinfo.com/annual-fees-for-2024

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $581.65
  1. Complete a Canadian pharmacy technician program accredited by CCAPP before beginning the registration process.

    Source
    “All applicants must successfully complete the education requirement before they begin their registration process.”
    ocpinfo.com/applicants/register-as-a-pharmacy-technician

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Ontario College of Pharmacists

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Annual renewal fee for pharmacy technicians: $581.65
    Source
    “The annual fee to renew an individual certificate of registration for pharmacy technicians for 2024 is $581.65 (+HST).”
    ocpinfo.com/annual-fees-for-2024

Licensed in another province

  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $581.65
  1. Have your current pharmacy regulator send a current letter of good standing directly to the College.

    Source
    “If you are licensed as a pharmacist or pharmacy technician in Canada outside of Ontario, you must arrange to have a current letter of good standing sent to the College from your current pharmacy regulator.”
    ocpinfo.com/applicants/registration-requirements/supporting-documen...
  2. Under As of Right rules, you can practice in Ontario for up to six months while completing your registration requirements with the College.

    Source
    “As of January 1, 2026, pharmacists and pharmacy technicians already licensed in another Canadian province or territory who meet the eligibility criteria can practice for up to six months while completing their pharmacist registration requirements or pharmacy technician registration requirements with the College.”
    ocpinfo.com/applicants/as-of-right-legislation

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Ontario College of Pharmacists

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Annual renewal fee for pharmacy technicians: $581.65
    Source
    “The annual fee to renew an individual certificate of registration for pharmacy technicians for 2024 is $581.65 (+HST).”
    ocpinfo.com/annual-fees-for-2024

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $2,325
  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $581.65
  1. Complete the Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation, a document evaluation of your credentials and foundational pharmacy knowledge.

    Source
    “The international evaluation consists of an assessment of a candidate’s credentials and foundational level of pharmacy knowledge through a document evaluation process.”
    pebc.ca/pharmacy-technicians/pharmacy-technician-international-eval...
  2. Successfully complete the Canadian Health Care System, Culture and Context course and any program approved by the Registration Committee as your bridging education program.

    Source
    “Internationally educated pharmacy technician applicants must successfully complete the Canadian Health Care System, Culture and Context for Internationally Educated Healthcare Professionals course and any program approved by the Registration Committee as their bridging education program.”
    ocpinfo.com/applicants/registration-requirements/education
  3. Complete the PEBC process to become eligible to take and pass the PEBC Qualifying Examination.

    Source
    “Graduates from these programs must complete the PEBC process to become eligible to take the PEBC Qualifying Examination.”
    ocpinfo.com/applicants/registration-requirements/education
  4. Provide the original or a notarized copy of your degree so OCP can confirm with PEBC that you completed the evaluation process.

    Source
    “If you are an international pharmacy technician applicant, you must provide the original or a notarized copy of your degree. OCP staff will confirm with the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) that you have successfully completed the Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation process or the Document Evaluation and Evaluating Exam process.”
    ocpinfo.com/applicants/registration-requirements/supporting-documen...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $2,325

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $500 22%
Exams $1,825 78%
One-time total $2,325 100%

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Annual renewal fee for pharmacy technicians: $581.65
    Source
    “The annual fee to renew an individual certificate of registration for pharmacy technicians for 2024 is $581.65 (+HST).”
    ocpinfo.com/annual-fees-for-2024

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • Applicants must have graduated from an accredited pharmacy education program, or an international program recognized by PEBC plus an approved bridging education program.

    Source
    “To register as a pharmacist, pharmacy technician, intern or intern technician in Ontario, applicants must have graduated from an accredited pharmacy education program, or an international pharmacy education program recognized by PEBC and an approved bridging education program.”
    ocpinfo.com/applicants/registration-requirements/education
  • Educational requirements must have been met within the two years before applying, or the PEBC Qualifying Exam must have been successfully completed within two years before applying.

    Source
    “The educational requirements for registration as a pharmacist, pharmacy technician, intern or intern technician must have been met within the two years before applying to ensure that the practitioner has current knowledge and skills to practice safely.”
    ocpinfo.com/applicants/registration-requirements/education

Other

  • Internationally educated applicants must complete the relevant bridging education program, unless they pass the PEBC Qualifying Examination Parts I and II on their first attempt.

    Source
    “Successful completion of the relevant bridging education program is a non-exemptible registration requirement for IPGs or IEPTAs, except for those applicants who successfully complete the relevant PEBC Qualifying Examination, Parts I and II on their first attempt.”
    ocpinfo.com/applicants/registration-requirements/education
  • Applicants must meet the College's language proficiency requirements, demonstrated by graduation from an accredited program, current acceptable test scores, or licensure in another Canadian province.

    Source
    “An applicant will have met the College’s language proficiency requirements if: - The applicant is a graduate of a pharmacy degree program that was accredited by the CCAPP or ACPE while the applicant was attending the program; or - The pharmacy technician applicant is a graduate of a CCAPP-accredited pharmacy technician program whose language proficiency admission criteria meets the NAPRA requirements for pharmacy technicians; or - The applicant submits current language proficiency test scores that meet the minimum acceptable scores as determined by NAPRA; or”
    ocpinfo.com/applicants/resolution-policies/language-proficiency-req...
  • Applicants licensed elsewhere must be registered and in good standing in another Canadian province or territory to be eligible under As of Right rules.

    Source
    “- Pharmacy technician registered, in good standing, in another Canadian province/territory”
    ocpinfo.com/applicants/as-of-right-legislation

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages state that technicians licensed in another Canadian province or territory can practice for up to six months while completing registration requirements, but do not state whether the entry-to-practice exam or a competence assessment is waived.

Source
“As of January 1, 2026, pharmacists and pharmacy technicians already licensed in another Canadian province or territory who meet the eligibility criteria can practice for up to six months while completing their pharmacist registration requirements or pharmacy technician registration requirements with the College.”
ocpinfo.com/applicants/as-of-right-legislation

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Pharmacists

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Pharmacists

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Pharmacists

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Pharmacists

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Pharmacists

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $18.00 $26.45 $36.80 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $17.50 $24.83 $34.20 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Pharmacy technicians in other provinces and territories

Compare pharmacy technician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Register as a Pharmacy Technician - OCP website ocpinfo.com/applicants/register-as-a-pharmacy-technician · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Supporting Documentation for Registration - OCP website ocpinfo.com/applicants/registration-requirements/supporting-documen... · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. As of Right Legislation - OCP website ocpinfo.com/applicants/as-of-right-legislation · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. General Information - PEBC pebc.ca/pharmacy-technicians/pharmacy-technician-international-eval... · fetched October 9, 2026
  5. Examination Dates and Fees - PEBC pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees · fetched October 9, 2026
  6. Education - OCP website ocpinfo.com/applicants/registration-requirements/education · fetched October 10, 2026
  7. Language Proficiency Requirements at Registration for All Applicants - In effect until December 31, 2025 - OCP website ocpinfo.com/applicants/resolution-policies/language-proficiency-req... · fetched October 9, 2026
  8. Annual Fees for 2024 - OCP website ocpinfo.com/annual-fees-for-2024 · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a pharmacy technician in Ontario?

Yes. Registration with the Ontario College of Pharmacists is required to practise in Ontario.

Which exams are required?

PEBC Qualifying Examination, Pharmacy Technician Qualifying Exam Part I (MCQ), Pharmacy Technician Qualifying Exam Part II (OSPE).

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.