How to Become a Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic in New Brunswick
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Refrigeration and air conditioning mechanic is a compulsory trade in New Brunswick. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technician — Red Seal — Compulsory Occupation”
From gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $125
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $350
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Your roadmap
The New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour has no page of its own for this trade. These are the steps it gives for every designated trade in New Brunswick.
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $125
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Get a job in the trade and register as an apprentice.
- Apprentice registration: $25
Source
“| Apprentice registration | $25 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“obtain employment and register as an apprentice”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... - Apprentice registration: $25
-
Successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements, including on-the-job and technical training requirements and examinations, to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
After signing the apprenticeship agreement, an apprentice with previous technical training may apply to receive theory credits by submitting transcripts, curriculum content and training institution contact information to the regional apprenticeship office.
- Assessment for prior learning: $100
Source
“| Assessment for prior learning | $100 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Upon entering in an apprenticeship program in the province, an apprentice with previous technical training may be eligible to receive theory credits.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Assessment for prior learning: $100
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $125
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $25 | 20% |
| Assessment | $100 | 80% |
| One-time total | $125 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Provide proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick along with an application to challenge the certification examination or to have the certification recognized based on equivalent standards.
Source
“supply proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick and application to challenge the certification examination or to recognize the certification based on equivalent standards”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $350
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Get a job in your trade and gain local experience.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Contact Skilled Trades NB to find out whether you can challenge the certification exam or whether the apprenticeship program is the better path.
Source
“contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward New Brunswick certification.
- Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
Source
“| Foreign credential assessment fee | $100 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
-
Develop and complete a personalized learning plan created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology, safety, and trade practices and standards.
Source
“Develop and complete a plan is created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology and safety and trade practices and standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Attend training or challenge the certification exam when you are ready.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“| Certificate of qualification examination | $250 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $350
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Assessment | $100 | 29% |
| Exams | $250 | 71% |
| One-time total | $350 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Certificate of qualification challenger assessment: $100
Source
“| Certificate of qualification challenger assessment | $100 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Certificate of qualification re-examination: $120
Source
“| Certificate of qualification re-examination | $120 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Practical examination: $350
Source
“| Practical examination | $350 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination: $200
Source
“| Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination | $200 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Letter of authenticity: $200
Source
“| Letter of authenticity | $200 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Replacement certificate: $20
Source
“| Replacement certificate | $20 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Work permit in a compulsory occupation: $200
Source
“| Work permit in a compulsory occupation | $200 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Photo identification card replacement: $20
Source
“| Photo identification card replacement | $20 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Progress record book replacement: $25
Source
“| Progress record book replacement | $25 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Requirements
Experience
Trade qualifiers must work the required number of hours in the trade, supply proof of those hours and scope coverage before challenging the Certification Exam.
Source
“- Trade Qualification — work the required number of hours in a particular skilled trade, supply proof of those hours, scope coverage and challenge the Certification Exam.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice...The Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technician designation lists 7,200 apprenticeship hours and 10,800 Certificate of Qualification hours.
Source
“Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technician | △◯♦AN | 7,200 | 10,800”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fast-facts...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Certified tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification. Source
“This means certified tradespeople can move to New Brunswick and work in their trade without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification (C of Q).”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Exams
-
Certification Exam
Source
“supply proof of those hours, scope coverage and challenge the Certification Exam”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
Certificate of qualification examination
Source
“| Certificate of qualification examination | $250 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... -
Certificate of qualification challenger assessment
Source
“| Certificate of qualification challenger assessment | $100 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... -
Practical examination
Source
“| Practical examination | $350 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... -
Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination
Source
“| Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination | $200 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...Which provinces ask for the Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $20.50 | $29.76 | $45.63 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.00 | $37.50 | $56.00 | — |
Refrigerations and air conditioning mechanics in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Certification required
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Certification required
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Certification required
- Nova Scotia Certification required
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Compare refrigeration and air conditioning mechanic licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- List of designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 11, 2026
- The apprenticeship and occupational certification program - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Fees and forms - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Internationally and nationally trained or certified trades people - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Fast facts about Skilled Trades NB - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fast-facts... · fetched October 11, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a refrigeration and air conditioning mechanic in New Brunswick?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in New Brunswick. Certification is managed by the New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.
Which exams are required?
Certification Exam, Certificate of qualification examination, Certificate of qualification challenger assessment, Practical examination, Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.