How to Become a Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic in Quebec
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Refrigeration and air conditioning mechanic is a compulsory trade in Quebec. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“If they do not register, their work permit will be suspended.”
From ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Journeyperson competency certificate renewal fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
- Journeyperson competency certificate renewal fee: $100
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $100
-
The CCQ informs apprentices that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination once they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.
Source
“Apprentices are informed by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... -
The apprentice contacts Customer Services to set the exam date and location and pays the $100 registration fee, or sends a letter with a $100 cheque or money order to a regional office.
- Exam registration fee: $100
Source
“They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Source
“Contact Customer Services at 1 888 842-8282 to determine the date and location of their examination. They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... - Exam registration fee: $100
-
The apprentice takes and passes the provincial qualification examination in the trade.
Source
“Apprentice candidates who have passed their provincial qualification examination automatically obtain their competency certificate free of charge.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp... -
Apprentices who passed the exam automatically receive their journeyman competency certificate at no cost.
Source
“Apprentice candidates who have passed their provincial qualification examination automatically obtain their competency certificate free of charge.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Journeyperson competency certificate renewal fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $100
-
The worker obtains a Red Seal endorsement in the trade through the Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program.
Source
“The Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program has designated a list of trades and occupations for which workers may obtain Red Seal endorsement.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge -
The worker applies to the CCQ by mail or at a regional office with the registration form, the recognition of professional qualifications form, an official identity document, proof of the safety course, and the $100 fee.
- Competency certificate fee: $100
Source
“Payment of the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge
Source
“Payment of the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge - Competency certificate fee: $100
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Journeyperson competency certificate renewal fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $100
-
The CCQ emails its decision about 20 working days after receiving the completed form and all required documents.
Source
“The CCQ will send its decision to you by email about 20 working days after it receives the form, duly completed, and all the documents required.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
Once the preliminary analysis is accepted and the candidate has arrived in Québec, they may apply to the CCQ for an apprentice competency certificate.
Source
“After the preliminary analysis is accepted, you may apply to obtain an ACC from the CCQ. IMPORTANT: This application can be made only once you arrive in Québec, even if some steps have been initiated before you immigrate to Canada.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Journeyperson competency certificate renewal fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Health and safety equivalence attestation fee: $10
Source
“Pay the $10 fee required for attestation of recognition of a health and safety equivalence (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... - Exemption from competency certificate fee: $100
Source
“Pay the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Requirements
Experience
Non-apprentice candidates must show, with supporting documents, work experience in hours worked and, if applicable, training credits at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade.
Source
“Candidates must demonstrate, with supporting documents, that they have practised a trade or specialty and acquired experience in hours worked and, if applicable, in training credits, at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade or specialty covered.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Other
Candidates must be at least 16 years old.
Source
“Be at least 16 years old”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...Candidates must have a social insurance number.
Source
“Have a social insurance number”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...Candidates must provide their home address and a photocopy of an official document.
Source
“Provide their home address - Provide a photocopy of an official document from among the following list”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Workers who hold a Red Seal endorsement in the trade may apply for a CCQ competency certificate based on that endorsement without retaking an examination. Source
“Workers who have obtained the Red Seal endorsement have their skills in this trade recognized and may apply for a competency certificate from the CCQ’s Customer Services by mail or by going to one of the regional offices.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Exams
-
Provincial qualification examination
Source
“Apprentices are informed by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quebec | $22.40 | $38.00 | $46.08 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.00 | $37.50 | $56.00 | — |
Refrigerations and air conditioning mechanics in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Certification required
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Certification required
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Certification required
- New Brunswick Certification required
- Nova Scotia Certification required
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Compare refrigeration and air conditioning mechanic licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Eligibility ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Journeyperson ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Red Seal ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprentice ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Intergovernmental Agreements (ON, NB, NL) ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a refrigeration and air conditioning mechanic in Quebec?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Quebec. Certification is managed by the Commission de la construction du Québec.
Which exams are required?
Provincial qualification examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.