At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Annual fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $1,000
  1. You must provide proof that you successfully passed the Canadian Midwifery Registration Exam.

    Source
    “Provide proof of successful completion of Canadian Midwifery Registration Exam (CMRE)”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...
  2. You must provide original documentation of your graduation, including transcripts.

    Source
    “Provide original documentation of graduation, including transcripts”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...
  3. You must provide proof of successful completion of the approved UBC CPD course in Opioids and Benzodiazepines: Safe Prescribing for Midwives.

    Source
    “Provide proof of successful completion of approved UBC CPD course in Opioids and Benzodiazepines: Safe Prescribing for Midwives”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...
  4. You must provide proof of current certification in CPR, ESW, FHS and NRP within the stated validity periods.

    Source
    “Provide Proof of Current Certification in: - CPR (within 2 years) - ESW (within 2 years) - FHS (within 3 years) - NRP (valid within 1 year)”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...
  5. You must provide a current criminal record check with vulnerable sector search completed within the last six months.

    Source
    “Provide a current criminal record with vulnerable sector check (within 6 months)”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $1,000 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

Licensed in another province

  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $1,000
  1. You must request a Letter of Professional Standing from every Canadian jurisdiction where you are or have been registered.

    Source
    “Request a Letter of Professional Standing from all jurisdictions where the applicant is or has been registered in Canada”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...
  2. You must provide proof of successful completion of the approved UBC CPD course in Opioids and Benzodiazepines: Safe Prescribing for Midwives, or you will be issued a conditional licence and given eight weeks to complete and submit the certificate.

    Source
    “Provide proof of successful completion of approved UBC CPD course in Opioids and Benzodiazepines: Safe Prescribing for Midwives* * *If you do not have this certificate you will be issued a conditional license and granted eight (8) weeks to successfully complete and submit your certificate to the NSNMR Registrar.*”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...
  3. You must provide proof of current certification in CPR, ESW, FHS and NRP within the stated validity periods.

    Source
    “Provide Proof of Current Certification in: - CPR (within 2 years) - ESW (within 2 years) - FHS (within 3 years) - NRP (valid within 1 year)”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...
  4. You must provide a current criminal record check with vulnerable sector search completed within the last six months.

    Source
    “Provide a current criminal record with vulnerable sector check (within 6 months)”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...
  5. You must provide proof of individual practice insurance with HIROC.

    Source
    “Provide proof of individual practice insurance with HIROC”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $1,000 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

Trained outside Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $1,000
  1. You must complete an approved bridging program and a competency assessment (CMRE).

    Source
    “completing an approved bridging program and a competency assessment (CMRE),”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...
  2. You must provide proof of your credentials and midwifery experience.

    Source
    “providing proof of credentials and midwifery experience, and”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...
  3. You must be able to work legally in Canada.

    Source
    “are able to work legally in Canada.”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...
  4. At the time of registration you must meet all the registration requirements in the checklist.

    Source
    “At the time of registration you will need to meet all the registration requirements”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $1,000 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

Experience

  • Applicants seeking licensure for clinical midwifery practice must have 1125 hours or attendance at 40 births in the clinical practice of midwifery in the 5 years immediately before their application, or 450 hours or attendance at 12 births in the year before their application and meet approved competency requirements.

    Source
    “Applicants seeking licensure for clinical midwifery practice must have: 1125 hours or attendance at 40 births in the clinical practice of midwifery in the 5 years immediately before their application for registration; or 450 hours or attendance at 12 births in the clinical practice of midwifery in the year before their application for registration and meet competency requirements approved by the Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator (NSNMR).”
    nsnmr.ca/professional-practice/practice-support/practice-support-to...

Police check

Insurance

Good character

  • Applicants must consent to and submit forms requesting a Letter of Professional Conduct from each Canadian regulatory body where they are or have been registered.

    Source
    “Consent and forms submitted to request Letter of Professional Conduct from each Canadian regulatory body where you are or have been registered”
    nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...

Residency

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages list requirements for applicants from another Canadian jurisdiction but do not state whether they can register based on their current licence without retaking the entry-to-practice exam or a competence assessment.

Source
“Applicants from another Canadian Jurisdiction For Registration under this route, an applicant must:”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Nova Scotia and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Nova Scotia $34.24 $46.11 $58.81 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $24.09 $46.81 $60.26 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Nova Scotia

Wages in every province and territory

Midwives in other provinces and territories

Compare midwife licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Licence Nurses and Midwives | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/explore-nsnmr/who-we-are/what-we-do/licence-nurses-and-mid... · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Pathways to Midwifery Registration | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-midwives/pat... · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Midwifery Q&A Resource (September Information Webinar) | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/professional-practice/practice-support/practice-support-to... · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Fees and Payments | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a midwife in Nova Scotia?

Yes. Registration with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator is required to practise in Nova Scotia.

Which exams are required?

Canadian Midwifery Registration Exam (CMRE).

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.