How to Become a Midwife in Saskatchewan
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Saskatchewan College of Midwives to work as a midwife in Saskatchewan or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“You must establish membership and licensure with the Saskatchewan College of Midwives (SCM) to practice midwifery in Saskatchewan.”
From skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/membership-and-license, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 11 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 9 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 11 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Midwives
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 11 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 10 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant completes all SCM application forms, which request personal information, education, experience, insurance, examination and good character details.
Source
“Application forms request information such as: name(s), date of birth, primary language, Saskatchewan employer, professional affiliations, midwifery education, completed assessment process, membership and licensure in other Canadian jurisdictions, midwifery/clinical experience, liability insurance, registration examination, mandatory certifications and good character questions.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant submits the one-time non-refundable application fee with the application form.
- Application fee: $325 (one-time non-refundable fee submitted with the Application for Initial Membership and Licensure)
Source
“An application fee of $325, a one-time non-refundable fee, must be submitted with the Application for Initial Membership and Licensure application form.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process
Source
“An application fee of $325, a one-time non-refundable fee, must be submitted with the Application for Initial Membership and Licensure application form.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process - Application fee: $325 (one-time non-refundable fee submitted with the Application for Initial Membership and Licensure)
-
If English is not the applicant's primary language, they must successfully complete an English language examination such as TOEFL and TSE, MELAB, IELTS or an equivalent.
Source
“Applicants must meet English language requirements – if English is not the applicant’s primary language, English language requirements must be met by successfully completing an English language examination.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant arranges for the midwifery education program to send a final transcript marked Degree Confirmed directly to the SCM.
Source
“Applicant must arrange for a copy of the final transcript to be sent from the midwifery education program, directly to the SCM. The designation “Degree Confirmed” must be stated on the transcript.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant must pass the Canadian Midwifery Registration Examination.
Source
“Applicants must pass the Canadian Midwifery Registration Examination (CMRE).”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant provides information showing they meet the minimum clinical practice experience requirements, including attendance at a minimum of 60 births.
Source
“Applicants must provide information about midwifery/clinical experience that indicates the applicant meets the minimum clinical practice experience requirements: Attendance at a minimum of 60 births, at least 30 of them as primary midwife”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant provides evidence of successful completion of a council-approved course in Controlled Drugs and Substances.
Source
“In accordance with bylaw 21 of The Midwifery Regulatory Bylaws, 2023, all applicants must complete a training course approved by the council in order to prescribe, administer and/or possess controlled drugs or substances for the purposes of practising midwifery”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant provides evidence of professional liability insurance coverage, typically provided by the Saskatchewan employer.
Source
“All applicants must provide evidence of professional liability insurance coverage. This coverage is typically provided by the Saskatchewan employer.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant provides three references using the reference forms, which must be sent directly from the referee to the SCM.
Source
“Applicants must provide three (3) references – reference forms included in the application package. Follow the instructions on the Reference Form. Completed reference forms must be sent direct from referee to SCM.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
Source
“Criminal Record Check – completed within the past 12 months and conducted by the law enforcement agency in the location where the applicant resides and/or is employed.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant submits the licence fee as one of the last steps of the membership and licensure process.
Source
“One of the last steps to completing the membership and licensure process is submission of the licence fee.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
10 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 9 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 8 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant completes all SCM application forms, which request personal information, education, experience, insurance, examination and good character details.
Source
“Application forms request information such as: name(s), date of birth, primary language, Saskatchewan employer, professional affiliations, midwifery education, completed assessment process, membership and licensure in other Canadian jurisdictions, midwifery/clinical experience, liability insurance, registration examination, mandatory certifications and good character questions.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant submits the one-time non-refundable application fee with the application form.
- Application fee: $325 (one-time non-refundable fee submitted with the Application for Initial Membership and Licensure)
Source
“An application fee of $325, a one-time non-refundable fee, must be submitted with the Application for Initial Membership and Licensure application form.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process
Source
“An application fee of $325, a one-time non-refundable fee, must be submitted with the Application for Initial Membership and Licensure application form.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process - Application fee: $325 (one-time non-refundable fee submitted with the Application for Initial Membership and Licensure)
-
If English is not the applicant's primary language, they must successfully complete an English language examination such as TOEFL and TSE, MELAB, IELTS or an equivalent.
Source
“Applicants must meet English language requirements – if English is not the applicant’s primary language, English language requirements must be met by successfully completing an English language examination.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant arranges for a Letter of Standing and Professional Conduct to be sent from the midwifery regulator where they are currently licensed.
Source
“Applicant must arrange for a Letter of Standing and Professional Conduct to be sent from the midwifery regulator in the jurisdiction where they are currently licensed as a midwife.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant provides evidence of successful completion of a council-approved course in Controlled Drugs and Substances.
Source
“In accordance with bylaw 21 of The Midwifery Regulatory Bylaws, 2023, all applicants must complete a training course approved by the council in order to prescribe, administer and/or possess controlled drugs or substances for the purposes of practising midwifery”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant provides evidence of professional liability insurance coverage, typically provided by the Saskatchewan employer.
Source
“All applicants must provide evidence of professional liability insurance coverage. This coverage is typically provided by the Saskatchewan employer.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant provides three references using the reference forms, which must be sent directly from the referee to the SCM.
Source
“Applicants must provide three (3) references – reference forms included in the application package. Follow the instructions on the Reference Form. Completed reference forms must be sent direct from referee to SCM.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
Source
“Criminal Record Check – completed within the past 12 months and conducted by the law enforcement agency in the location where the applicant resides and/or is employed.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant submits the licence fee as one of the last steps of the membership and licensure process.
Source
“One of the last steps to completing the membership and licensure process is submission of the licence fee.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
8 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 11 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 10 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant completes all SCM application forms, which request personal information, education, experience, insurance, examination and good character details.
Source
“Application forms request information such as: name(s), date of birth, primary language, Saskatchewan employer, professional affiliations, midwifery education, completed assessment process, membership and licensure in other Canadian jurisdictions, midwifery/clinical experience, liability insurance, registration examination, mandatory certifications and good character questions.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant submits the one-time non-refundable application fee with the application form.
- Application fee: $325 (one-time non-refundable fee submitted with the Application for Initial Membership and Licensure)
Source
“An application fee of $325, a one-time non-refundable fee, must be submitted with the Application for Initial Membership and Licensure application form.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process
Source
“An application fee of $325, a one-time non-refundable fee, must be submitted with the Application for Initial Membership and Licensure application form.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process - Application fee: $325 (one-time non-refundable fee submitted with the Application for Initial Membership and Licensure)
-
If English is not the applicant's primary language, they must successfully complete an English language examination such as TOEFL and TSE, MELAB, IELTS or an equivalent.
Source
“Applicants must meet English language requirements – if English is not the applicant’s primary language, English language requirements must be met by successfully completing an English language examination.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant arranges for copies of relevant evaluations and documentation of successful completion of the assessment process to be sent directly from the assessment processing agency to the SCM.
Source
“Applicant must arrange for copies of relevant evaluations and documentation indicating successful completion of the assessment process to be sent directly from the assessment processing agency to the SCM.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant must pass the Canadian Midwifery Registration Examination.
Source
“Applicants must pass the Canadian Midwifery Registration Examination (CMRE).”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant provides information showing they meet the minimum clinical practice experience requirements, including attendance at a minimum of 60 births.
Source
“Applicants must provide information about midwifery/clinical experience that indicates the applicant meets the minimum clinical practice experience requirements: Attendance at a minimum of 60 births, at least 30 of them as primary midwife”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant provides evidence of successful completion of a council-approved course in Controlled Drugs and Substances.
Source
“In accordance with bylaw 21 of The Midwifery Regulatory Bylaws, 2023, all applicants must complete a training course approved by the council in order to prescribe, administer and/or possess controlled drugs or substances for the purposes of practising midwifery”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant provides evidence of professional liability insurance coverage, typically provided by the Saskatchewan employer.
Source
“All applicants must provide evidence of professional liability insurance coverage. This coverage is typically provided by the Saskatchewan employer.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant provides three references using the reference forms, which must be sent directly from the referee to the SCM.
Source
“Applicants must provide three (3) references – reference forms included in the application package. Follow the instructions on the Reference Form. Completed reference forms must be sent direct from referee to SCM.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
Source
“Criminal Record Check – completed within the past 12 months and conducted by the law enforcement agency in the location where the applicant resides and/or is employed.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
The applicant submits the licence fee as one of the last steps of the membership and licensure process.
Source
“One of the last steps to completing the membership and licensure process is submission of the licence fee.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
10 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
Applicants must have successfully completed a midwifery education program recognized by the SCM, an approved assessment process, or be licensed in another Canadian province or territory.
Source
“To be eligible for membership and licensure in SK, applicants must meet one of the following three requirements”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/membership-and-license
Experience
Applicants must meet minimum clinical practice experience requirements including attendance at a minimum of 60 births, at least 30 as primary midwife.
Source
“Attendance at a minimum of 60 births, at least 30 of them as primary midwife”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process
Police check
Applicants must provide a criminal record check completed within the past 12 months by the law enforcement agency where they reside and/or are employed.
Source
“Criminal Record Check – completed within the past 12 months and conducted by the law enforcement agency in the location where the applicant resides and/or is employed.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process
Insurance
All applicants must provide evidence of professional liability insurance coverage.
Source
“All applicants must provide evidence of professional liability insurance coverage.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process
Other
All applicants must complete a council-approved training course in Controlled Drugs and Substances.
Source
“all applicants must complete a training course approved by the council in order to prescribe, administer and/or possess controlled drugs or substances for the purposes of practising midwifery”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-processApplicants must provide three references.
Source
“Applicants must provide three (3) references – reference forms included in the application package.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
An applicant licensed in good standing in another Canadian province or territory may be eligible for membership and licensure in Saskatchewan without completing any further training or testing. Source
“An applicant who is licensed to practice as a midwife, in good standing, in another Canadian province or territory and holds the equivalent of an unrestricted licence in Saskatchewan, may be eligible for membership and licensure in Saskatchewan without completing any further training or testing.”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/membership-and-license/current-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Midwives
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Midwives
Exams
-
Canadian Midwifery Registration Examination (CMRE)
Source
“Applicants must pass the Canadian Midwifery Registration Examination (CMRE).”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process -
English language examination
Source
“if English is not the applicant’s primary language, English language requirements must be met by successfully completing an English language examination”
skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Midwives
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Midwives
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Midwives
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $34.54 | $43.15 | $49.78 | Undetermined |
| Canada | $24.09 | $46.81 | $60.26 | — |
Midwives in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Membership and Licensure - Saskatchewan College of Midwives skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/membership-and-license · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application Process - Saskatchewan College of Midwives skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/application-process · fetched October 10, 2026
- Current status as a fully licenced Registered Midwife in another Canadian province or territory - Saskatchewan College of Midwives skcollegeofmidwives.ca/registration/membership-and-license/current-... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a midwife in Saskatchewan?
Yes. Registration with the Saskatchewan College of Midwives is required to practise in Saskatchewan.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Midwifery Registration Examination (CMRE), English language examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.