How to Become a Professional Planner in Nova Scotia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Licensed Professional Planners Association of Nova Scotia to work as a professional planner in Nova Scotia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Licensed Professional Planner, LPP
Show the source
“The act controls the use of the term “Licensed Professional Planner” (or LPP) in Nova Scotia. The act also established LPPANS to regulate the practice of professional planning in Nova Scotia.”
From lppans.ca/about, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 7 steps, listed one-time fees $1,325
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 7 steps, listed one-time fees $1,325
- Annual fees
-
- LPPANS fee: $448.67
- CIP fee: $268.74
- Professional Liability Insurance: $47
- LPPANS fee: $75
- CIP fee: $75
- LPPANS fee: $35
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 7 done
- Listed one-time fees: $1,325
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $949.41
- Listed time: 12 months (only 1 of 7 steps state a time)
-
You apply online for an assessment of your qualifications and pay the applicable fees to the Professional Standards Board.
- Application fee: $375
Source
“Apply online for an assessment of your qualifications and pay the applicable fees.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process -
Following successful assessment by the PSB, your application is reviewed by the LPPANS board and you are notified of your acceptance as a Candidate member.
Source
“Following successful assessment by the PSB, Your application will be reviewed by the LPPANS board and you will be notified of your acceptance.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process -
You complete a mentorship period lasting a minimum of one year that supports your professional growth and development of specific competencies.
Time: 1 yearTime source
“Your mentorship period will last a minimum of one year”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-processSource
“Your mentorship period will last a minimum of one year and is designed to help you with your professional growth and your development of specific competencies.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process -
You log your work experience while being monitored by the Sponsor you identified on your application form.
Source
“The Sponsor, which you will have identified on your application form to be a Candidate member, will monitor you during this stage of logging your work experience.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process -
You complete the Ethics and Professionalism Course and Test administered through the Professional Standards Board and pay the applicable fee.
- Ethics & Professionalism Course: $450
Source
“| Ethics & Professionalism Course | 450.00 | 450.00 | 450.00 |”
lppans.ca/applicants/applicants-fees
Source
“All candidates are required to complete the Ethics and Professionalism Course and Test administered through the Professional Standards Board and pay the PSB the applicable fee.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process - Ethics & Professionalism Course: $450
-
You take the Professional Examination administered through the Professional Standards Board, which is the final step toward the LPP designation, and pay the fee for it.
- Professional Exam: $500
Source
“The Professional Examination, administered through the Professional Standards Board, is the final step towards achieving your LPP designation. There is also a fee for the professional examination.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process -
Once you have successfully completed the steps with the Professional Standards Board, the LPPANS Board reviews your file and notifies you of the final decision.
Source
“Once you have successfully completed steps 2 to 6 with the Professional Standards Board, the LPPANS Board will review your file and notify you of the final decision.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $1,325
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $375 | 28% |
| Exams | $950 | 72% |
| One-time total | $1,325 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $949.41 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- LPPANS fee: $448.67
- CIP fee: $268.74
- Professional Liability Insurance: $47
- LPPANS fee: $75
- CIP fee: $75
- LPPANS fee: $35
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $949.41
-
You contact your current provincial regulatory body, which must initiate the membership transfer by providing a form for you to fill out and sending it to LPPANS for processing.
Source
“Contact your current provincial regulatory body. The membership transfer must be initiated by your current affiliate. They will provide a form for you to fill out, which they will send to us for processing.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process -
After your application has been received and reviewed, you are contacted to fill out and submit the LPPANS application form.
Source
“Once your application has been received and reviewed, we will contact you to fill out and submit the LPPANS application form.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process -
Your application is reviewed for approval by the LPPANS board, and there are no additional fees for transfer if you have already paid your membership fees for the year.
Source
“Your application will be reviewed for approval by the LPPANS board. There are no additional fees for transfer from another province if you have already paid your membership fees for the year.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Licensed Professional Planners Association of Nova Scotia
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $949.41 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- LPPANS fee: $448.67
- CIP fee: $268.74
- Professional Liability Insurance: $47
- LPPANS fee: $75
- CIP fee: $75
- LPPANS fee: $35
Trained outside Canada
0 of 7 done
- Listed one-time fees: $1,325
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $949.41
- Listed time: 12 months (only 1 of 7 steps state a time)
-
You apply online for an assessment of your qualifications and pay the applicable fees to the Professional Standards Board.
- Application fee: $375
Source
“Apply online for an assessment of your qualifications and pay the applicable fees.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process -
Following successful assessment by the PSB, your application is reviewed by the LPPANS board and you are notified of your acceptance as a Candidate member.
Source
“Following successful assessment by the PSB, Your application will be reviewed by the LPPANS board and you will be notified of your acceptance.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process -
You complete a mentorship period lasting a minimum of one year that supports your professional growth and development of specific competencies.
Time: 1 yearTime source
“Your mentorship period will last a minimum of one year”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-processSource
“Your mentorship period will last a minimum of one year and is designed to help you with your professional growth and your development of specific competencies.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process -
You log your work experience while being monitored by the Sponsor you identified on your application form.
Source
“The Sponsor, which you will have identified on your application form to be a Candidate member, will monitor you during this stage of logging your work experience.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process -
You complete the Ethics and Professionalism Course and Test administered through the Professional Standards Board and pay the applicable fee.
- Ethics & Professionalism Course: $450
Source
“| Ethics & Professionalism Course | 450.00 | 450.00 | 450.00 |”
lppans.ca/applicants/applicants-fees
Source
“All candidates are required to complete the Ethics and Professionalism Course and Test administered through the Professional Standards Board and pay the PSB the applicable fee.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process - Ethics & Professionalism Course: $450
-
You take the Professional Examination administered through the Professional Standards Board, which is the final step toward the LPP designation, and pay the fee for it.
- Professional Exam: $500
Source
“The Professional Examination, administered through the Professional Standards Board, is the final step towards achieving your LPP designation. There is also a fee for the professional examination.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process -
Once you have successfully completed the steps with the Professional Standards Board, the LPPANS Board reviews your file and notifies you of the final decision.
Source
“Once you have successfully completed steps 2 to 6 with the Professional Standards Board, the LPPANS Board will review your file and notify you of the final decision.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $1,325
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $375 | 28% |
| Exams | $950 | 72% |
| One-time total | $1,325 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $949.41 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- LPPANS fee: $448.67
- CIP fee: $268.74
- Professional Liability Insurance: $47
- LPPANS fee: $75
- CIP fee: $75
- LPPANS fee: $35
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application fee: $650
Requirements
Education
For the Accredited Degree route, you must have successfully completed a university degree in planning from a program formally accredited by the planning profession.
Source
“This route to membership is through successful completion of a university degree in planning from a program formally accredited by the planning profession.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-processFor the PLAR route, you must hold a four-year academic degree other than an accredited university degree in planning.
Source
“This alternate route is available for planners who hold any four-year academic degree*other than* a university degree in planning from a program formally accredited by the planning profession.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process
Experience
For the PLAR route, you must be employed in planning with the equivalence of five years experience.
Source
“You must be employed in planning with the equivalence of five years experience.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process
Good character
As a Candidate member you must adhere to the Code of Ethics and Code of Professional Conduct.
Source
“You must adhere to the Code of Ethics and Code of Professional Conduct.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process
Other
You must be employed in planning.
For the Reciprocal / Advanced Standing route, you must hold professional membership in and be fully professionally certified by a foreign professional planning organization.
Source
“This specific route is available for certain planners who hold professional membership in and are already fully professionally certified by a foreign professional planning organization.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-processCandidates must be members in good standing in order to complete the requirements as a Candidate and become an LPP.
Source
“Candidates must be members in good standing in order to complete the requirements as a Candidate and become an LPP.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-processAs a Candidate member you must complete annual Continuous Professional Learning requirements.
Source
“You must complete annual Continuous Professional Learning requirements.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-processAs a Candidate member you must pay all assessed membership fees.
To be eligible for transfer into LPPANS from another province, you must be a member in good standing with your current regulatory body.
Source
“NOTE: To be eligible for transfer into LPPANS, you must be a member in good standing with your current regulatory body.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
A Candidate or Full Member (RPP/MCIP) with another province can transfer their membership to LPPANS and maintain their Candidate or Full Member status. Source
“If you are a Candidate or Full Member (RPP/MCIP) with another province and are moving to Nova Scotia, you can transfer your membership to LPPANS and maintain your Candidate or Full Member status.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process
Contact current provincial regulator
Source
“Contact your current provincial regulatory body. The membership transfer must be initiated by your current affiliate.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-processSubmit LPPANS application form
Source
“Once your application has been received and reviewed, we will contact you to fill out and submit the LPPANS application form.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-processAwait LPPANS board approval
Source
“Your application will be reviewed for approval by the LPPANS board.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Licensed Professional Planners Association of Nova Scotia
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Licensed Professional Planners Association of Nova Scotia
Exams
-
Ethics and Professionalism Course and Test
Source
“All candidates are required to complete the Ethics and Professionalism Course and Test administered through the Professional Standards Board”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process -
Professional Examination
Source
“The Professional Examination, administered through the Professional Standards Board, is the final step towards achieving your LPP designation.”
lppans.ca/applicants/application-process
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Licensed Professional Planners Association of Nova Scotia
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Licensed Professional Planners Association of Nova Scotia
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Licensed Professional Planners Association of Nova Scotia
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nova Scotia | $28.54 | $42.19 | $63.49 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $28.21 | $46.15 | $65.00 | — |
Professional planners in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- About – LPPANS lppans.ca/about · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application Process – LPPANS lppans.ca/applicants/application-process · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees – LPPANS lppans.ca/applicants/applicants-fees · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a professional planner in Nova Scotia?
Yes. Registration with the Licensed Professional Planners Association of Nova Scotia is required to practise in Nova Scotia, and to use the title Licensed Professional Planner or LPP.
Which exams are required?
Ethics and Professionalism Course and Test, Professional Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.