Province comparison
Professional Planner Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Not confirmed yet
- Alberta: Licence required
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Not confirmed yet
- Quebec: Licence required
- New Brunswick: Licence required
- Nova Scotia: Licence required
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Licence required
- Nunavut: Licence required
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Alberta | Licence required | Alberta Professional Planners Institute | Read the guide for Alberta |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Ontario | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Quebec | Licence required | Ordre des Urbanistes du Québec | Read the guide for Quebec |
| New Brunswick | Licence required | New Brunswick Association of Planners / L'Association des urbanistes du Nouveau-Brunswick | Read the guide for New Brunswick |
| Nova Scotia | Licence required | Licensed Professional Planners Association of Nova Scotia | Read the guide for Nova Scotia |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Licence required | — | Read the guide for Northwest Territories |
| Nunavut | Licence required | — | Read the guide for Nunavut |
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Quebec | Not listed | — | — |
| New Brunswick | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Nova Scotia | $1,325 | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: Alberta, Quebec, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | oral examination | — | Not listed | — | $52.50 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Quebec | — | Examen d’admission (examen professionnel) | — | Not listed | — | $43.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | national professional and ethics examinations | — | Not listed | — | $40.89 an hour | Undetermined |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Ethics and Professionalism Course and Test, Professional Examination | — | $1,325 (Trained outside Canada) | 12 months (partial) | $42.19 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (10)
- Not stated (20)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $28.21 | $46.15 | $65.00 |
| British Columbia | $35.29 | $46.04 | $59.34 |
| Alberta | $24.04 | $52.50 | $65.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $21.50 | $40.10 | $53.00 |
| Manitoba | $26.15 | $44.71 | $60.44 |
| Ontario | $27.56 | $47.38 | $76.00 |
| Quebec | $30.00 | $43.00 | $62.64 |
| New Brunswick | $28.42 | $40.89 | $63.58 |
| Nova Scotia | $28.54 | $42.19 | $63.49 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $33.26 | $48.86 | $73.68 |
| Yukon | $34.01 | $45.02 | $65.30 |
| Northwest Territories | $35.97 | $51.58 | $69.02 |
| Nunavut | $35.40 | $56.94 | $85.38 |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.