At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship, Trade and Occupations Certification

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. Complete the designated apprenticeship training program, which totals 7200 hours of on-the-job and technical training.

    Source
    “Total Training Hours (On-The-Job plus Technical Training) Indicates the sum of on-the-job training hours plus technical training hours. Note not all apprenticeship programs are hours-based | 7200 | 7200 | 7200 | 7200 | Not applicable | 7220 | 7200 | 7200 | 7200 | 7200 | 7200 | 7200 | 7200”
    ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-serv-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
  2. Pass the written examinations required to successfully complete and advance past each level of training.

    Source
    “Written Level Examinations Indicates if written examinations are required to successfully complete and advance past each level of training | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not applicable | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes”
    ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-serv-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
  3. Pass the written certification examination required for certification.

    Source
    “Written Certification Examination Indicates if there is a written examination required for certification. In many provinces and territories, the Red Seal examination is used for both certification and Red Seal endorsement.”
    ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-serv-tech/ellis-chart.shtml

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Apprenticeship, Trade and Occupations Certification

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

No separate route for this group.

Source
“Red Seal Endorsement Offered (Yes/No) Indicates whether or not the province or territory can offer a Red Seal endorsement for this trade | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-serv-tech/ellis-chart.shtml

Trained outside Canada

  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  1. Demonstrate proof of at least 9000 hours of eligible trade experience working in the trade.

    Source
    “Required Hours for Trade Qualifier Provinces and Territories dictate a minimum number of required hours working in a trade for a trade qualifier to be eligible to challenge any certification examination; candidates must also demonstrate experience that covers the trade’s practices | 10800 | 10800 | 10800 | 10800 | Not applicable | 7220 | 10800 | 10800 | 9360 | 9540 | 10800 | 9000 | 9000”
    ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-serv-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
  2. Challenge the written certification examination once eligible trade experience has been demonstrated.

    Source
    “Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada. This indicates if the province or territory allows these experienced but uncertified workers to challenge certification examinations once they have demonstrated proof of eligible trade experience”
    ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-serv-tech/ellis-chart.shtml

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Apprenticeship, Trade and Occupations Certification

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Experience

  • Trade qualifiers must have at least 9000 hours of work experience in the trade to be eligible to challenge the certification examination.

    Source
    “Required Hours for Trade Qualifier Provinces and Territories dictate a minimum number of required hours working in a trade for a trade qualifier to be eligible to challenge any certification examination; candidates must also demonstrate experience that covers the trade’s practices | 10800 | 10800 | 10800 | 10800 | Not applicable | 7220 | 10800 | 10800 | 9360 | 9540 | 10800 | 9000 | 9000”
    ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-serv-tech/ellis-chart.shtml

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Nunavut.

Source
“Other Certification/Licensing Requirements (Yes/No – if Yes, see P/T website for details) In some cases, there are external bodies that require certification/licensing to practice a trade, besides the apprenticeship authority. If this is the case, individual provinces or territories can provide further details | No | No | No | No | Not applicable | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-serv-tech/ellis-chart.shtml

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship, Trade and Occupations Certification

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship, Trade and Occupations Certification

Exams

  • Written Level Examinations

    Source
    “Written Level Examinations Indicates if written examinations are required to successfully complete and advance past each level of training | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not applicable | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes”
    ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-serv-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
  • Written Certification Examination

    Source
    “Written Certification Examination Indicates if there is a written examination required for certification. In many provinces and territories, the Red Seal examination is used for both certification and Red Seal endorsement.”
    ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-serv-tech/ellis-chart.shtml

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship, Trade and Occupations Certification

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship, Trade and Occupations Certification

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship, Trade and Occupations Certification

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Nunavut and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Nunavut $21.69 $35.58 $51.87 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $19.00 $29.89 $43.27 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Nunavut

Wages in every province and territory

Automotive service technicians in other provinces and territories

Compare automotive service technician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Automotive Service Technician - Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-serv-tech/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an automotive service technician in Nunavut?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Nunavut. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship, Trade and Occupations Certification.

Which exams are required?

Written Level Examinations, Written Certification Examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.