Province comparison
Automotive Service Technician Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Certification required
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Voluntary certification
- Ontario: Certification required
- Quebec: Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick: Certification required
- Nova Scotia: Certification required
- Prince Edward Island: Certification required
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Voluntary certification
- Yukon: Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories: Voluntary certification
- Nunavut: Voluntary certification
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $120 | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 4 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 3 |
| New Brunswick | $100 | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | — | — |
| Yukon | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 5 |
| Northwest Territories | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 1 |
| Nunavut | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification exam, Practical assessment, Red Seal exam | — | $120 (Trained outside Canada) | 25.8 to 26.3 months (partial) | $35.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Theory exam, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $30.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, Level One Examination, Level Two Examination | — | Not listed | — | $30.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Level Placement Exam | — | Not listed | — | $27.50 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | certifying exam, in-school exemption test | — | Not listed | — | $30.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification Exam, certification examination, final examination | — | $100 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $24.75 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | trade qualifier exam, certification exam, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $25.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | — | certification exam, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $27.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Trained in Canada | Apprenticeship level 1 exam, Journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam | — | Not listed | 0.9 to 2.3 months (partial) | $35.02 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Northwest Territories | Trained in Canada | entrance examination, Written Level Examinations, Written Certification Examination, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $42.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nunavut | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | Written Level Examinations, Written Certification Examination | — | Not listed | — | $35.58 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (60)
- Extra steps (24)
- Not stated (72)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $19.00 | $29.89 | $43.27 |
| British Columbia | $20.00 | $35.00 | $49.00 |
| Alberta | $19.84 | $30.00 | $47.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $18.00 | $30.00 | $43.50 |
| Manitoba | $17.00 | $27.50 | $40.00 |
| Ontario | $18.75 | $30.00 | $43.27 |
| Quebec | $20.00 | $28.00 | $40.00 |
| New Brunswick | $16.00 | $24.75 | $33.00 |
| Nova Scotia | $17.00 | $25.00 | $36.32 |
| Prince Edward Island | $16.65 | $25.50 | $32.00 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $17.50 | $27.00 | $41.00 |
| Yukon | $22.46 | $35.02 | $45.17 |
| Northwest Territories | $23.00 | $42.00 | $58.00 |
| Nunavut | $21.69 | $35.58 | $51.87 |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Northwest Territories | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nunavut | Good (4 of 5) |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.