At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario Professional Foresters Association

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 6 steps without a listed fee
  1. The applicant creates a profile through the registration link if they are not a current Student Member.

    Source
    “Create a profile through the Registration Link (if you are not a current Student Member)”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  2. After setting up the profile, the applicant completes the application form.

    Source
    “Complete the application form (after setting up your profile)”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  3. The applicant uploads a line numbered CV or resume with work experience in YYYY/MM/DD format.

    Source
    “Upload a line numbered CV or resume (work experience in YYYY/MM/DD format)”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  4. The applicant completes the online Professionalism and Ethics Evaluation.

    Source
    “Complete the online Professionalism and Ethics Evaluation*”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  5. The applicant pays the application fee.

    Source
    “Pay the Application Fee”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  6. The application material is considered by the Registration Committee at their next regularly scheduled meeting and the applicant receives formal written notification within 2 weeks of the meeting date.

    Source
    “When received, this application material will be considered by the Registration Committee at their next regularly scheduled meeting. You can find a list of upcoming Registration Committee meeting dates and the deadline to submit materials for them here. You will receive formal written notification within 2 weeks of the meeting date.”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Ontario Professional Foresters Association

6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. A practising R.P.F. in good standing from another Canadian province moving to work in Ontario must apply for Full Membership.

    Source
    “If you are a practising Registered Professional Forester (R.P.F.) in good standing from another Canadian province and are moving to work in Ontario you must apply for Full Membership”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  2. The applicant completes the application through the portal after registering a new account and confirming their email.

    Source
    “Complete your application by following the Registration Link and clicking on “Register for a new account”. After creating your profile, you will receive an email and after confirming your email, you will be able to complete your application through the portal.”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  3. Once the complete application is received, the OPFA makes a certification decision within 30 calendar days.

    Source
    “How it works: Once we receive your complete application, we will make a certification decision within 30 calendar days.”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  4. The applicant must successfully pass the Ontario Forest Policy & Administration examination within 6 months from the date of OPFA acceptance.

    Source
    “They will be required to successfully pass the Ontario Forest Policy & Administration examination within 6 months from the date of OPFA acceptance.”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/faqs/m...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Ontario Professional Foresters Association

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • 7 steps without a listed fee
  1. The applicant creates a profile through the registration link if they are not a current Student Member.

    Source
    “Create a profile through the Registration Link (if you are not a current Student Member)”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  2. After setting up the profile, the applicant completes the application form.

    Source
    “Complete the application form (after setting up your profile)”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  3. The applicant uploads a line numbered CV or resume with work experience in YYYY/MM/DD format.

    Source
    “Upload a line numbered CV or resume (work experience in YYYY/MM/DD format)”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  4. The applicant completes the online Professionalism and Ethics Evaluation.

    Source
    “Complete the online Professionalism and Ethics Evaluation*”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  5. The applicant pays the application fee.

    Source
    “Pay the Application Fee”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  6. The Registration Manager discusses with the applicant whether to aim for Associate Membership or Full Membership.

    Source
    “The Registration Manager will discuss with you whether you wish to aim for Associate Membership (Associate R.P.F.) or Full Membership (R.P.F.).”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...
  7. The application material is considered by the Registration Committee at their next regularly scheduled meeting and the applicant receives formal written notification within 2 weeks of the meeting date.

    Source
    “When received, this application material will be considered by the Registration Committee at their next regularly scheduled meeting. You can find a list of upcoming Registration Committee meeting dates and the deadline to submit materials for them here. You will receive formal written notification within 2 weeks of the meeting date.”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Ontario Professional Foresters Association

7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Education

  • Applicants must have graduated from a four-year, science-based baccalaureate degree, or equivalent, for Full Membership, or the minimum of a relevant diploma program to apply for Associate Membership.

    Source
    “Have graduated from a four-year, science-based baccalaureate degree, or equivalent for Full Membership, or the minimum of a relevant diploma program to apply for Associate Membership.”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/faqs/i...

Experience

Good character

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

A professional forester licensed in another Canadian province or territory can transfer their membership to Ontario if they are in good standing and meet the Local Knowledge requirement, but must pass the Ontario Forest Policy & Administration examination within 6 months of OPFA acceptance.

Source
“Under the Agreement of Internal Trade and the related Ontario Labour Mobility Act, a professional forester in one Canadian province or territory can transfer their Membership to Ontario provided they are in good standing with their original provincial association and meet OPFA’s Local Knowledge requirement. They will be required to successfully pass the Ontario Forest Policy & Administration examination within 6 months from the date of OPFA acceptance.”
opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/faqs/m...

  1. Transfer membership to Ontario

    Source
    “Under the Agreement of Internal Trade and the related Ontario Labour Mobility Act, a professional forester in one Canadian province or territory can transfer their Membership to Ontario provided they are in good standing with their original provincial association and meet OPFA’s Local Knowledge requirement.”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/faqs/m...
  2. Pass the local knowledge exam

    Source
    “They will be required to successfully pass the Ontario Forest Policy & Administration examination within 6 months from the date of OPFA acceptance.”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/faqs/m...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario Professional Foresters Association

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

  • Credential Assessment Process (CAP)

    Determines what competency gaps must be filled for Full membership.

    Source
    “Upon graduation, you must apply for Provisional membership, and when approved, you will undergo the “Credential Assessment Process” (CAP). This assessment determines what competency gaps must be filled for Full membership.”
    opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/faqs/f...

Exams

Language tests

No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with Ontario Professional Foresters Association

Exemptions: Applicants do not need to pass a language proficiency examination to qualify for OPFA membership, but will need advanced communication skills in English to complete the application process and meet the experience requirement.

Source
“You do not need to pass a language proficiency examination to qualify for OPFA membership or any other CFPFA member organization. However, to complete the application process and meet the experience requirement, you will need advanced communication skills in English.”
opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/faqs/i...

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario Professional Foresters Association

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario Professional Foresters Association

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $31.39 $40.00 $53.06 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $31.39 $47.00 $62.50 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Foresters in other provinces and territories

Compare forester licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Ontario Professional Foresters Association | Membership Applicants opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/faqs/m... · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Ontario Professional Foresters Association | Application Process & Forms opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic... · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Ontario Professional Foresters Association | How to Apply: Internationally Trained Individuals and Graduates of Programs in Canada That Are Not CFAB Accredited opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/applic... · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Ontario Professional Foresters Association | International Applicants opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/faqs/i... · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Ontario Professional Foresters Association | Forestry Students opfa.ca/practising-forestry/becoming-a-professional-forester/faqs/f... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a forester in Ontario?

Yes. Registration with the Ontario Professional Foresters Association is required to practise in Ontario.

Which exams are required?

Ontario Forest Policy & Administration examination, Professionalism and Ethics Evaluation.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.