How to Become a Forester in Saskatchewan
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Association of Saskatchewan Forestry Professionals to work as a forester in Saskatchewan or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“In order to practice forestry in the province of Saskatchewan, you must be a member of the Association of Saskatchewan Forestry Professionals.”
From asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-member, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 2 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Saskatchewan Forestry Professionals
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 2 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Applicants educated in Canada at an accredited forestry program submit an application package online or by email containing the application form, transcripts sent directly from their post-secondary institutions, a current resume, two completed sponsorship forms, and the application fee.
- Application Fee (non-refundable): $100 (non-refundable)
Source
“Your completed application package must consist of: - the application form, - transcripts sent directly from all post-secondary institutions to ASFP ([email protected]), - a current resume, - two completed sponsorship forms, and - the application fee.”
asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-member -
Once the complete package is received, the Admissions Committee reviews the application, and only complete packages are considered.
Source
“Once the complete package is received, the Admissions Committee will review your application. Only complete packages will be considered.”
asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-member
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 6 months (only 1 of 3 steps state a time)
-
Applicants registered with a professional regulatory organization in one of the seven other Canadian provinces that regulate the profession submit a complete application, and only complete applications are considered.
Source
“Applicants applying for registration in Saskatchewan must be registered with a professional regulatory organization in one of the seven other provinces in Canada that regulate the RPF and RPFT/RFT professions. Only complete applications will be considered.”
asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-member -
Once the application is approved, the registration fee is due before the membership becomes active.
Source
“Once an application is approved, the registration fee is due before the membership is active.”
asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-member -
Transferring professionals must write and pass the Saskatchewan jurisprudence registration exam within six months of becoming a member of ASFP.
Time: 6 monthsTime source
“Transferring professionals must write and pass the Saskatchewan jurisprudence registration exam within six months of becoming a member of ASFP.”
asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-memberSource
“Transferring professionals must write and pass the Saskatchewan jurisprudence registration exam within six months of becoming a member of ASFP.”
asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-member
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Association of Saskatchewan Forestry Professionals
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Applicants submit the pre-screening assessment at no cost.
-
Applicants provide original post-secondary transcripts sent directly from the institution, evidence of prior learning such as course syllabi, certificates of training, professional work products, or witness attestations for work experience, and a current resume and job description if currently working in forestry.
Source
“Original post-secondary transcripts* provided directly from the institution to ASFP Evidence to demonstrate prior learning including course syllabi or descriptions for academic assessments, and/or certificates of training, professional work products, and witness attestations for work experience Current resume and job description if currently working in the practice of forestry”
asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-member -
Applicants pay the assessment fee, with assessments split into academic and work experience, each costing $500 for foresters.
- Credential Assessments - Foresters: $500 (each for academic and work experience assessments, for foresters)
Source
“Credential Assessments Technologists: $250 each for academic and work experience (to determine eligibility for application) assessments Foresters: $500 each for academic and work experience assessments”
asfp.ca/registration/fees
Source
“Assessment fee (assessments are spilt into academic and work experience and each is $500 for foresters and”
asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-member - Credential Assessments - Foresters: $500 (each for academic and work experience assessments, for foresters)
-
Applicants submit the ASFP application form, and no application fee is due until the credential assessment is complete and the applicant is determined eligible for registration.
Source
“ASFP application form (no application fee is due until the credential assessment is complete and an applicant is determined to be eligible for registration)”
asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-member
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Professional Forester registration fee: $360
- Professional Forest Technologist registration fee: $360
- Restricted Member registration fee: $360
- Forester In Training registration fee: $180
- Forest Technologist in Training registration fee: $180
- Credential Assessments - Technologists: $250 (each for academic and work experience assessments, for technologists, to determine eligibility for application)
Source
“Credential Assessments Technologists: $250 each for academic and work experience (to determine eligibility for application) assessments”
asfp.ca/registration/fees - Reinstatement: $75
- Late Dues Payment Penalty: $50 (per month to a max of $150)
Requirements
Other
Applicants applying for registration in Saskatchewan through labour mobility must be registered with a professional regulatory organization in one of the seven other Canadian provinces that regulate the profession.
Source
“Applicants applying for registration in Saskatchewan must be registered with a professional regulatory organization in one of the seven other provinces in Canada that regulate the RPF and RPFT/RFT professions.”
asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-memberAll applicants must read the member in-training policy before they apply for registration.
Source
“All requirements for in-training registrants are detailed in the member in-training policy. All applicants must read the policy before they apply for registration.”
asfp.ca/registration/member-in-training
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Source
“Labour mobility applicants are NOT required to undergo a reassessment education, competency, training, or work experience where those qualifications have already been assessed by a professional regulatory organization in another province.”
asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-member
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Saskatchewan Forestry Professionals
Credential assessment
Credential assessment (academic and work experience)
to determine eligibility for application
Source
“Credential Assessments Technologists: $250 each for academic and work experience (to determine eligibility for application) assessments Foresters: $500 each for academic and work experience assessments”
asfp.ca/registration/fees
Exams
-
Registration exam
Source
“All candidates seeking to join the Association of Saskatchewan Forestry Professionals (ASFP) as a full professional member must successfully complete a registration exam on forestry legislation, policy, and ASFP governance of the profession.”
asfp.ca/registration/registration-exam -
Saskatchewan jurisprudence registration exam
Source
“Transferring professionals must write and pass the Saskatchewan jurisprudence registration exam within six months of becoming a member of ASFP.”
asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-member
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Saskatchewan Forestry Professionals
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Saskatchewan Forestry Professionals
Supervised practice
Required
Individuals who are not practicing members of the ASFP, including Foresters-in-Training and Forest Technologists-in-Training, may be able to practice forestry under the supervision of a Professional Forester, Professional Forest Technologist, or Restricted Member. Source
“Individuals who are not practicing members of the ASFP, including Foresters-in-Training and Forest Technologists-in-Training, may be able to practice forestry under the supervision of a Professional Forester, Professional Forest Technologist, or Restricted Member.”
asfp.ca/regulating-the-forestry-profession/practicing-forestry-in-sk
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | — | — | — | Undetermined |
| Canada | $31.39 | $47.00 | $62.50 | — |
Foresters in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Becoming a Member asfp.ca/registration/becoming-a-member · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees asfp.ca/registration/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Member In-training asfp.ca/registration/member-in-training · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Exam asfp.ca/registration/registration-exam · fetched October 10, 2026
- Practicing Forestry in SK asfp.ca/regulating-the-forestry-profession/practicing-forestry-in-sk · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a forester in Saskatchewan?
Yes. Registration with the Association of Saskatchewan Forestry Professionals is required to practise in Saskatchewan.
Which exams are required?
Registration exam, Saskatchewan jurisprudence registration exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.