At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 6 steps without a listed fee
  1. The applicant submits post-secondary transcripts showing a four-year, 120-credit baccalaureate degree in agriculture or environmental science with the required credits.

    Source
    “Post-secondary transcripts demonstrating that the applicant has obtained, at minimum, a four-year, 120-credit baccalaureate degree in agriculture or environmental science”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration
  2. The applicant provides evidence of being a Canadian citizen or lawfully entitled to work in Canada.

    Source
    “Evidence of being a Canadian citizen or lawfully entitled to work in Canada.”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration
  3. The applicant provides evidence satisfactory to the Registrar of having good character and reputation.

    Source
    “Evidence satisfactory to the Registrar of having good character and reputation.”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration
  4. A successful applicant signs an agreement to complete the training program.

    Source
    “To be registered as an Agrologist in Training, a successful applicant must sign an agreement to complete the training program.”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration
  5. The training member obtains any required educational upgrading, gains supervised work experience, and completes the AIA's online course in Professional Ethical Competency.

    Source
    “obtain educational upgrading required by the practice standard in the relevant practice area, obtain the work experience required by the Training Program Rules in the relevant practice area, under the supervision of a qualified professional who takes responsibility for the training member’s work, and complete the AIA’s online course in Professional Ethical Competency.”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/trainingprogram
  6. After completing the Training Program, the Agrologist in Training applies for the title of Professional Agrologist.

    Source
    “Agrologists in Training applying for the title of Professional Agrologist must submit the following:”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists

6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 0.7 months (only 1 of 3 steps state a time)
  1. Applicants for the PAg title identify their desired area of practice in Alberta and complete the online work history summary.

    Source
    “Applicants for the title of Professional Agrologist (PAg) or Registered Technologist in Agrology (RT [Ag]) must identify their desired area of practice in Alberta and complete the online work history summary.”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants
  2. Within 20 business days of receiving a complete application, the Registrar registers the applicant with or without conditions or refuses registration.

    Time: 20 days
    Time source
    “Within 20 business days after receiving a complete application, the Registrar will make one of the following decisions”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants
    Source
    “Within 20 business days after receiving a complete application, the Registrar will make one of the following decisions: Register the applicant without conditions Register the applicant with conditions Refuse to register the applicant”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants
  3. The member receives a practice permit, which may include a requirement to complete the AIA's online course about agrology practice in Alberta.

    Source
    “The member will receive a practice permit setting out the conditions under which to work... the member’s practice permit may include a requirement to complete the AIA’s online course concerning knowledge of matters applicable to the practice of agrology in Alberta.”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. The internationally educated applicant obtains a course-by-course or specialized assessment from WES or IQAS, which may take several months.

    Source
    “If you are internationally educated, you must provide a course-by-course or specialized assessment by either WES (World Education Services) or IQAS (International Qualifications Assessment Service). Please be aware these assessments may take several months.”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/internationallyeducatedappl...
  2. Applicants who are not Canadian citizens provide proof of ability to work in Canada, such as a permanent resident card, work permit, or visa.

    Source
    “If you are not a Canadian citizen, proof of ability to work in Canada is required, such as a permanent resident card, work permit, or visa.”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/internationallyeducatedappl...
  3. The applicant then applies to the AIA following the registration requirements, including submitting transcripts.

    Source
    “Applicants must provide all post-secondary education transcripts with the Registrar’s signature and the post-secondary seal on the transcript.”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/membership/apply/application

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • Applicants for Agrologist in Training must have at minimum a four-year, 120-credit baccalaureate degree in agriculture or environmental science with specified credits in natural science, agrology, English, math, and economics.

    Source
    “Post-secondary transcripts demonstrating that the applicant has obtained, at minimum, a four-year, 120-credit baccalaureate degree in agriculture or environmental science”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration
  • Each applicant for registration as a professional agrologist must have successfully completed the Training Program.

    Source
    “Each applicant for registration as a professional agrologist (PAg) or registered technologist in agrology (RTAg) must have successfully completed the Training Program, be qualified to work in Canada, and be of good character and reputation.”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/trainingprogram

Experience

  • To register as a Professional Agrologist, an applicant needs work experience in at least one practice area, with the number of years required varying by practice area.

    Source
    “Work experience in at least 1 practice area (the number of years required varies by practice area)”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/agrologist

Good character

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Individuals registered with another agrology institute in Canada can register with the AIA based on their file from the current registering bodies, with no additional exam or competence assessment described.

Source
“An individual who is registered with another agrology institute in Canada and intends to practice agrology in Alberta must register with the AIA.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants

  1. Request file transfer

    Source
    “Labour mobility applicants are required to request that all current registering bodies provide the applicant’s file directly to the AIA”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants
  2. Registrar decision

    Source
    “Within 20 business days after receiving a complete application, the Registrar will make one of the following decisions”
    albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Exams

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists

Supervised practice

Required

Agrologists in Training practice under supervision while completing the Training Program.

Source
“An Agrologist In-Training (AIT) can practice under the direct supervision of a PAg.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/agrologist

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $26.90 $40.01 $62.67 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $25.72 $40.00 $55.29 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Agrologists in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Licence required
  • Saskatchewan Licence required
  • Manitoba Licence required
  • Ontario Licence required
  • Quebec Licence required
  • New Brunswick Licence required
  • Nova Scotia Licence required
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare agrologist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Agrologist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/agrologist · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Categories of registration - AIA albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Training Program - AIA albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/trainingprogram · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Labour Mobility Applicants - AIA albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Internationally-educated Applicants - AIA albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/internationallyeducatedappl... · fetched October 10, 2026
  6. Application - AIA albertaagrologists.ca/site/membership/apply/application · fetched October 10, 2026
  7. IQAS – Order duplicate certificates | Alberta.ca alberta.ca/iqas-employment-certificate · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

1

Do you need a licence to work as an agrologist in Alberta?

Yes. Registration with the Alberta Institute of Agrologists is required to practise in Alberta, and to use the title Professional Agrologist (PAg) or Agrologist In-Training (AIT).

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.