At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Submit the Articling Program Application online with the application form, application fee, official transcripts, copies of degrees or diplomas, an up-to-date résumé, and, for those educated outside Canada, an international course-by-course evaluation.

    Source
    “STEP 1 Submit an Articling Program Application Complete the Articling Program Application, which includes: Articling program application form Application fee Official transcripts Copy of degree(s) or diploma(s) Up-to-date résumé”
    sia.sk.ca/become-an-agrologist
  2. The Admissions and Registration Committee reviews the application file and notifies the applicant by email of its decision.

    Source
    “When the application documents have been received for the Articling Program, the Admissions and Registration (A&R) Committee will review the file. The A&R Committee meets every six (6) to eight (8) weeks and the applicant will be notified via email of the decision.”
    sia.sk.ca/become-an-agrologist
  3. Once approved into the articling program, the applicant must pay the annual licence fee.

    Source
    “NOTE: When an individual is approved to complete the articling program, they must pay the annual licence fee.”
    sia.sk.ca/become-an-agrologist
  4. Complete the articling milestones, tracked with the Articling Program Checklist, including reporting two years of relevant work experience, within five years of the initial licence fee payment.

    Source
    “Once registered, articling agrologists (Articling Agrologists and Articling Technical Agrologists) must complete the articling milestones, using the Articling Program Checklist to track the milestones completed. This includes completing and reporting two (2) years of work experience relevant to their academic background and declared scope of practice. The articling program must be completed within five (5) years of the initial payment of licence fees.”
    sia.sk.ca/become-an-agrologist

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Obtain an original course-by-course WES assessment or a Specialized IQAS assessment of the international diploma or degree to submit with the application.

    • IQAS Educational Pre-assessment fee: $200 (for an IQAS Educational Pre-assessment of up to 3 programs of study)
      Source
      “The fee for an EPA is $200. The fee allows up to 3 programs of study per application and it is non-refundable.”
      alberta.ca/iqas-educational-pre-assessment
    Source
    “Original copy of Course-by-Course WES (World Education Services) assessment OR Specialized IQAS (International Qualifications Assessment Service) assessment of international diploma(s) or degree(s).”
    sia.sk.ca/international-applicants
  2. Submit the online application with official transcripts from all international and Canadian post-secondary institutions, translated into English if not originally in English, along with the credential assessment.

    Source
    “Official transcripts (if scanned, front and back, colour-preferred) from all international post-secondary educational institutions. If your transcripts are not in English, you need to provide a translated copy. Official transcripts (if scanned, front and back, colour-preferred) from all Canadian post-secondary educational institutions, if applicable.”
    sia.sk.ca/international-applicants
  3. The Admissions and Registration Committee reviews the application file and notifies the applicant by email of its decision.

    Source
    “When the application documents have been received for the Articling Program, the Admissions and Registration (A&R) Committee will review the file. The A&R Committee meets every six (6) to eight (8) weeks and the applicant will be notified via email of the decision.”
    sia.sk.ca/become-an-agrologist
  4. Once approved into the articling program, the applicant must pay the annual licence fee.

    Source
    “NOTE: When an individual is approved to complete the articling program, they must pay the annual licence fee.”
    sia.sk.ca/become-an-agrologist
  5. Complete the articling milestones, including reporting two years of relevant work experience, within five years of the initial licence fee payment.

    Source
    “Once registered, articling agrologists (Articling Agrologists and Articling Technical Agrologists) must complete the articling milestones, using the Articling Program Checklist to track the milestones completed. This includes completing and reporting two (2) years of work experience relevant to their academic background and declared scope of practice. The articling program must be completed within five (5) years of the initial payment of licence fees.”
    sia.sk.ca/become-an-agrologist

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Education

  • Articling Agrologist applicants need a four-year, 120 credit degree from a recognized university with 60 credits in agrology-type courses, or as approved by the Admissions and Registration Committee.

    Source
    “A four-year, 120 credit degree from a recognized university with a total of 60 credits (20 courses) in agrology-type (agriculture, food, agribusiness or environmental science) courses or as approved by the Admissions and Registration Committee”
    sia.sk.ca/become-an-agrologist
  • Articling Technical Agrologist applicants need a diploma or degree in agrology from a school or college with at least 40 credits in agrology-related courses, or as approved by the Admissions and Registration Committee.

    Source
    “Diploma or Degree in agrology from a school or college with at least 40 credits in agrology-related courses (agriculture, food, agribusiness, or environmental science) or as approved by the Admissions and Registration Committee”
    sia.sk.ca/become-an-agrologist

Experience

  • Applicants must complete and report two years of work experience relevant to their academic background and declared scope of practice during the articling program.

    Source
    “This includes completing and reporting two (2) years of work experience relevant to their academic background and declared scope of practice.”
    sia.sk.ca/become-an-agrologist

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan.

Source
“All individuals who wish to register with the Institute, whether domestically or internationally educated, must go through the same process with some minor differences.”
sia.sk.ca/become-an-agrologist

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

  • WES course-by-course assessment

    assessment of international diploma or degree for registration

    Source
    “Original copy of Course-by-Course WES (World Education Services) assessment OR Specialized IQAS (International Qualifications Assessment Service) assessment of international diploma(s) or degree(s).”
    sia.sk.ca/international-applicants
  • IQAS Specialized assessment

    assessment of international diploma or degree for registration

    Source
    “Original copy of Course-by-Course WES (World Education Services) assessment OR Specialized IQAS (International Qualifications Assessment Service) assessment of international diploma(s) or degree(s).”
    sia.sk.ca/international-applicants

Exams

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Saskatchewan and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Saskatchewan $25.38 $38.46 $63.97 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $25.72 $40.00 $55.29 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Saskatchewan

Wages in every province and territory

Agrologists in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Licence required
  • Alberta Licence required
  • Manitoba Licence required
  • Ontario Licence required
  • Quebec Licence required
  • New Brunswick Licence required
  • Nova Scotia Licence required
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare agrologist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Saskatchewan Regulatory Bodies | Regulated Occupations and Licensing Requirements | Government of Saskatchewan saskatchewan.ca/residents/moving-to-saskatchewan/live-in-saskatchew... · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Become an Agrologist - Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists sia.sk.ca/become-an-agrologist · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. International Applicants - Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists sia.sk.ca/international-applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. IQAS Educational Pre-assessment | Alberta.ca alberta.ca/iqas-educational-pre-assessment · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

1

Do you need a licence to work as an agrologist in Saskatchewan?

Yes. Registration with the Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists is required to practise in Saskatchewan.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.