How to Become an Agrologist in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the BC Institute of Agrologists to work as an agrologist in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“How will BCIA bring individuals engaged in the regulated practice of agrology into compliance with the Professional Governance Act?”
From bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/new-registrant-requirem..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 7 steps (2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $520
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Full Status (PAg/TAg) Annual Fee: $720
Source
“| Full Status (PAg/TAg) | $720.00 | $TBA | 30+ PDH/year; 125+ PDH over 3 yrs |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Limited License (LLAg) Annual Fee: $720
Source
“| Limited License (LLAg) | $720.00 | $TBA | 30+ PDH/ year; 125+ PDH over 3 yrs |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Articling Status (AAg/ATAg) Annual Fee: $660
Source
“| Articling Status (AAg/ATAg) | $660.00 | $TBA | 30+ PDH/ year; 125+ PDH over 3 yrs |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - On Leave Annual Fee: $130
Source
“| On Leave | $130.00 | $TBA | 15+ PDH/year |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Retired Annual Fee: $55
Source
“| Retired | $55.00 | $TBA | PDH not required |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule
- Full Status (PAg/TAg) Annual Fee: $720
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 7 done
- 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $2,285
-
You create a BCIA account providing your contact information and education details.
Source
“1. Set up a BCIA account. Include your contact information, education, and information.”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap... -
Once your account is authorized, you get an email telling you to start the application process.
Source
“2. Once your account is authorized, you will receive an email to start the application process.”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap... -
You sign in to your BCIA account and complete your application, uploading your resume and any other required documentation.
Source
“3. Sign in to your BCIA account to complete your application (upload resume and any other required documentation).”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap... -
You pay the application fee.
- Application Fee: $335 (non-refundable)
Source
“Application Fee: $335.00 - non-refundable”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap... - Application Fee (reduced): $167.50 (if a new graduate applies for registration within 180 days (6 months) after official graduation)
Source
“BCIA will waive half of the application fee if a new graduate applies for registration within 180 days (6 months) after official graduation: $167.50”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule
Source
“4. Pay the application fee.”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap... - Application Fee: $335 (non-refundable)
-
You receive an email once your payment has been received.
Source
“5. You will receive an email once your payment has been received.”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap... -
You can sign in to your BCIA account to review the progress of your application.
Source
“6. You can sign in to your BCIA account to review the progress of your application.”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap... -
You are contacted by email once a decision has been made on your application.
Source
“7. You will be contacted by email once a decision has been made.”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap...
Listed fees for this route
2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $2,285 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Full Status (PAg/TAg) Annual Fee: $720
Source
“| Full Status (PAg/TAg) | $720.00 | $TBA | 30+ PDH/year; 125+ PDH over 3 yrs |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Limited License (LLAg) Annual Fee: $720
Source
“| Limited License (LLAg) | $720.00 | $TBA | 30+ PDH/ year; 125+ PDH over 3 yrs |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Articling Status (AAg/ATAg) Annual Fee: $660
Source
“| Articling Status (AAg/ATAg) | $660.00 | $TBA | 30+ PDH/ year; 125+ PDH over 3 yrs |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - On Leave Annual Fee: $130
Source
“| On Leave | $130.00 | $TBA | 15+ PDH/year |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Retired Annual Fee: $55
Source
“| Retired | $55.00 | $TBA | PDH not required |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $520
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $2,285
-
You ask your originating provincial institute to email your documents, including confirmation of registration, transcripts, professional development report, ethics training confirmation and good standing confirmation, to BCIA.
Source
“1\. Applicant to request the originating provincial institute to send documents by email to BCIA.”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/labour-mobility-transfe... -
You create an online application account with BCIA.
- Dual/Transfer-In Application Fee: $260
Source
“Dual/Transfer-In Application Fee: $260.00”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule
Source
“2\. Create an online application account”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/labour-mobility-transfe... - Dual/Transfer-In Application Fee: $260
-
After acceptance into BCIA with approval by the Registrar, you receive an acceptance email and, if applicable, pay a registration fee.
- Processing Fee: $260
Source
“Processing Fee: $260.00”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/labour-mobility-transfe...
Source
“3\. Upon acceptance into BCIA, with approval by the Registrar, an acceptance email will be sent. If applicable, a registration fee will be required.”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/labour-mobility-transfe... - Processing Fee: $260
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $520
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $260 | 50% |
| Registration | $260 | 50% |
| One-time total | $520 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $2,285 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Full Status (PAg/TAg) Annual Fee: $720
Source
“| Full Status (PAg/TAg) | $720.00 | $TBA | 30+ PDH/year; 125+ PDH over 3 yrs |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Limited License (LLAg) Annual Fee: $720
Source
“| Limited License (LLAg) | $720.00 | $TBA | 30+ PDH/ year; 125+ PDH over 3 yrs |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Articling Status (AAg/ATAg) Annual Fee: $660
Source
“| Articling Status (AAg/ATAg) | $660.00 | $TBA | 30+ PDH/ year; 125+ PDH over 3 yrs |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - On Leave Annual Fee: $130
Source
“| On Leave | $130.00 | $TBA | 15+ PDH/year |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Retired Annual Fee: $55
Source
“| Retired | $55.00 | $TBA | PDH not required |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $2,285
-
You obtain a course-by-course comprehensive education credential assessment from a recognized credentialing service such as WES, ICES or IQAS, with official transcripts sent directly by your issuing institution and the report delivered directly to the Institute.
Source
“1. A course by course education/training credential (comprehensive) assessment:”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/internationally-educate... -
You provide course descriptions in English, which many credential evaluation centres provide along with the assessment of your credential.
Source
“2. Course descriptions in English. Many credential evaluation centres provide this service along with the assessment of credential.”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/internationally-educate... -
You open a BCIA account first and then follow the application steps for new applicants.
Source
“*READY TO APPLY? OPEN AN ACCOUNT FIRST*”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/internationally-educate...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with BC Institute of Agrologists
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $2,285 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Full Status (PAg/TAg) Annual Fee: $720
Source
“| Full Status (PAg/TAg) | $720.00 | $TBA | 30+ PDH/year; 125+ PDH over 3 yrs |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Limited License (LLAg) Annual Fee: $720
Source
“| Limited License (LLAg) | $720.00 | $TBA | 30+ PDH/ year; 125+ PDH over 3 yrs |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Articling Status (AAg/ATAg) Annual Fee: $660
Source
“| Articling Status (AAg/ATAg) | $660.00 | $TBA | 30+ PDH/ year; 125+ PDH over 3 yrs |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - On Leave Annual Fee: $130
Source
“| On Leave | $130.00 | $TBA | 15+ PDH/year |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Retired Annual Fee: $55
Source
“| Retired | $55.00 | $TBA | PDH not required |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Articling Registration Fee: $660
Source
“Articling Registration Fee: $660.00”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap... - Full Professional Registration Fee: $720
Source
“Full Professional Registration Fee: $720.00”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap... - Late Payment Fee (practicing status): $155 (applied after January 15 for practicing status)
Source
“Late *Payment* Fee (applied after January 15):$155.00 for practicing status; $55.00 for on-leave status”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Late Payment Fee (on-leave status): $55 (applied after January 15 for on-leave status)
Source
“Late *Payment* Fee (applied after January 15):$155.00 for practicing status; $55.00 for on-leave status”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Late PD Filing Fee: $80 (applied after January 15 to those without a PD Report for the reporting year)
Source
“Late *PD Filing* Fee (applied after January 15): $80.00”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Reinstatement Fee (with notice): $155 (with notice (Resigned in Good Standing))
Source
“Reinstatement Fee: $155.00 with notice (Resigned in Good Standing); $260.00 without notice (Discontinued)”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Reinstatement Fee (without notice): $260 (without notice (Discontinued))
Source
“Reinstatement Fee: $155.00 with notice (Resigned in Good Standing); $260.00 without notice (Discontinued)”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Articling Extension Fee: $60
- IQAS Educational Pre-assessment Fee: $200
- Prorated Annual Fee: Full Status, January 1 - March 31: $720
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | $660.00 | $720.00 |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Prorated Annual Fee: Full Status, April 1 - June 30: $540
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | $495.00 | $540.00 |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Prorated Annual Fee: Full Status, July 1 - September 30: $360
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | $330.00 | $360.00 |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Prorated Annual Fee: Full Status, October 1 - December 31: $180
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | $165.00 | $180.00 |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule - Articling to Full Status Registration Fee Differential: January 1 - March 31: $60
- Articling to Full Status Registration Fee Differential: April 1 - June 30: $45
- Articling to Full Status Registration Fee Differential: July 1 - September 30: $30
- Articling to Full Status Registration Fee Differential: October 1 - December 31: $15
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | $15.00 |”
bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule
Requirements
Education
To register as an Articling Agrologist (AAg) you need a minimum of a four-year (120 credit) Bachelor degree from an accredited university with a science focus, including a specific minimum number of courses set by BCIA's Board.
Source
“Eligibility for registration as an Articling Agrologist (AAg) requires a minimum of a four-year (120 credit) Bachelor degree from an accredited university, with a science focus. As part of this degree, a specific minimum number of courses are required, as set by BCIA's Board.”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/new-registrant-requirem...To register as an Articling Technical Agrologist (ATAg) you need a minimum of a two-year diploma, applied degree, or degree program equivalent to a minimum of 60 credits, including a specified minimum number of courses set by BCIA's Board.
Source
“Eligibility for registration as anArticling Technical Agrologist (ATAg)requires a minimum of a two-year diploma, applied degree, or degree program, equivalent to a minimum of 60 credits, of which a specified minimum number of courses are required, as set by BCIA's Board.”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/new-registrant-requirem...
Experience
For expedited PAg or TAg admission you must have 15 or more years of agrology work experience after graduation, not including time spent as a student in a bachelor's, master's or Ph.D. program.
Source
“Expedited PAg or TAg Admission Requirements --> must have 15+ years of work experience in agrology *post-graduation* (effective at diploma graduation, at a minimum; not including time spent as a student in a bachelor's, master's or Ph.D. program)”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/new-registrant-requirem...
Residency
For LLAg registration, the five years of work experience must be from an existing position in British Columbia, with previous work experience outside BC considered on a case-by-case basis.
Source
“The five (5) years of work experience must be from an existing position(s) in the province of British Columbia. Previous work experience outside of BC will be considered on a case-by-case basis.”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/new-registrant-requirem...
Other
Expedited admission applicants are expected to be currently employed or have an offer of employment in an agrology-related field at the time of application.
Source
“It is expected that an eligible applicant is currently employed or has an offer of employment in an agrology-related field at the time of application.”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/new-registrant-requirem...Applicants with 6 to 14 years of accumulative agrology work experience after graduation may request the articling term be reduced from two years to one year, with a cover letter and letters of employment for verification.
Source
“Applicants with extensive accumulative work experience (6 to 14 years) in agrology after graduation\* (not including a Master's or Ph.D. program) may request the articling term reduced from two years to one year, that includes a cover letter with reasons to support the request”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap...If a TAg applicant's declared Practice Areas differ from their education, two letters of recommendation are required to confirm competency in those Practice Areas.
Source
“If the Practice Area(s) differ from the education, two letters of recommendation are required to confirm competency in that Practice Area(s).”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Workers certified in another province or territory must be recognized as qualified without significant additional training, work experience, examination, or assessment, unless an exception has been made by the Registrar. Source
“Labour Mobility provisions of the CFTA state that certified workers have to be recognized as qualified to work by a regulatory body in another province or territory which regulates that occupation without having to go through significant additional training, work experience, examination, or assessment unless an exception has been made by the Registrar.”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/labour-mobility-transfe...
Request home institute documents
Source
“1\. Applicant to request the originating provincial institute to send documents by email to BCIA.”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/labour-mobility-transfe...Create online application account
Source
“2\. Create an online application account”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/labour-mobility-transfe...Receive acceptance email
Source
“3\. Upon acceptance into BCIA, with approval by the Registrar, an acceptance email will be sent. If applicable, a registration fee will be required.”
bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/labour-mobility-transfe...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with BC Institute of Agrologists
Credential assessment
WES
comprehensive international credential evaluation accepted by BCIA
Source
“Note that World Evaluation Service (WES) and International Qualifications Assessment Service (IQAS) reports are also accepted.”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap...ICES
comprehensive international credential evaluation accepted by BCIA
Source
“Transcripts must be evaluated by a third party company such as International Credential Evaluation Services (ICES) in Burnaby.”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap...IQAS
comprehensive international credential evaluation accepted by BCIA
Source
“Note that World Evaluation Service (WES) and International Qualifications Assessment Service (IQAS) reports are also accepted.”
bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap...
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with BC Institute of Agrologists
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with BC Institute of Agrologists
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with BC Institute of Agrologists
Supervised practice
Required
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $26.09 | $42.34 | $59.74 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $25.72 | $40.00 | $55.29 | — |
Agrologists in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- New Registrant Requirements | BC Institute of Agrologists bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/new-registrant-requirem... · fetched October 10, 2026
- New Applicants Application | BC Institute of Agrologists bcia.com/how-apply/registrant-application-process/new-applicants-ap... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees Schedule | BC Institute of Agrologists bcia.com/registrants/registrant-information/fees-schedule · fetched October 10, 2026
- Labour Mobility: Transfer-in, Dual Registration | BC Institute of Agrologists bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/labour-mobility-transfe... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Internationally Educated/Trained Applicants | BC Institute of Agrologists bcia.com/how-apply/application-requirements/internationally-educate... · fetched October 10, 2026
- IQAS Educational Pre-assessment | Alberta.ca alberta.ca/iqas-educational-pre-assessment · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as an agrologist in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the BC Institute of Agrologists is required to practise in British Columbia.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.