At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Annual fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 6 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $50
  1. Complete the online application form and declarations.

    Source
    “Complete the online application form and declarations.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...
  2. Have your university send an official transcript confirming the date you received your Clinical Masters directly to ACSLPA.

    Source
    “To show evidence of competence to practice, have your university send an official transcript confirming the date(s) on which you received your Clinical Masters directly to ACSLPA.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...
  3. Email a current reference letter to ACSLPA using the Reference Request Form.

    Source
    “To show evidence of good character and reputation, email a current reference letter to ACSLPA . Please use ACSLPA’s Reference Request Form”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...
  4. Have an original Police Information Check shared with ACSLPA by your local police service or mailed to ACSLPA.

    Source
    “To show evidence of good character and reputation, have an original Police Information Check (PIC) digitally shared with ACSLPA by your local police service or, if your local police service is not setup to share digital PICs with ACSLPA, have your original PIC mailed to ACSLPA.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...
  5. When completing the online application form, provide information about your professional liability insurance that meets ACSLPA's requirements.

    Source
    “When completing the online application form, provide information about your Professional Liability Insurance that meets ACSLPA’s requirements.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...
  6. Pay the applicable application fee and the registration and practice permit fees in the application portal.

    Source
    “Applicable application and credential assessment fees must be paid before your application will be reviewed”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ACSLPA

6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Licensed in another province

  • Annual fees: $50

Steps not listed by the regulator Check with ACSLPA

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • You need a master's degree from an approved audiology program or an approved equivalent completed within the last 3 years.

    Source
    “A master’s degree from an approved audiology program or an approved equivalent completed within the last 3 years”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/audiologist

Experience

Police check

  • All applicants for registration must submit a current Police Information Check at the time of their initial and any subsequent registration application.

    Source
    “All applicants for registration must submit a current PIC at the time of their initial and any subsequent registration application.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered

Insurance

  • You cannot be registered, volunteer, or work as an audiologist in Alberta without having professional liability insurance in place.

    Source
    “You are not able to be registered, volunteer, or work as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist in Alberta without having PLI in place.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered

Good character

  • You must give evidence of having good character and reputation.

    Source
    “Under the Health Professions Act and the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists Profession Regulations, you must give evidence of having good character and reputation.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Applicants currently registered in good standing with another provincial SLP/Audiology regulatory body in Canada are not required to write the CETP or the Praxis Exams.

Source
“applicants to Alberta who are currently registered in good standing with another provincial SLP/Audiology regulatory body in Canada (BC, SK, MB, ON, QC, NB, NL, NS) will NOT be required to write the CETP or the Praxis Exams.”
acslpa.ca/entry-to-practice-exam-faqs

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA

Exams

Language tests

No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA

Exemptions: Proficiency is confirmed if the applicant has completed at least three years of full-time post-secondary education in English.

Source
“Proficiency is confirmed if the applicant has completed at least three years of full-time post-secondary education in English”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $32.05 $55.00 $64.66 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $33.33 $46.15 $59.52 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Audiologists in other provinces and territories

Compare audiologist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Audiologist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/audiologist · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Registration Stream: New Canadian Graduate - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi... · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Entry-To-Practice Exam FAQs - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleHigh ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineReadable FontReset acslpa.ca/entry-to-practice-exam-faqs · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Apply to Become Registered - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Registration Stream: Graduate of ASHA - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an audiologist in Alberta?

Yes. Registration with the Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists is required to practise in Alberta.

Which exams are required?

CETP Exam, Praxis Exam, Jurisprudence E-Course and test.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.