How to Become an Audiologist in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario to work as an audiologist in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- audiologist, speech-language pathologist
Show the source
“Before starting to work as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist in Ontario, verify your registration status by searching for your name or registration number on the Public Register.”
From caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/canadian-accredited-prog..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You submit your application for registration using the College's online application process.
Source
“Applying for registration with the College is now an online process.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/canadian-accredited-prog... -
New graduates from an accredited Canadian program may enrol for the CETP Exam without first applying for registration, as long as they have fulfilled their program's academic and clinical requirements at least 20 days before the exam date.
Source
“If you're a new graduate from an accredited Canadian university program in audiology or speech-language pathology and if it is your first time attempting the CETP Exam, you don't need to apply for registration with CASLPO before enrolling for the CETP Exam. However, you must fulfill the academic and clinical requirements of your audiology or speech-language pathology master's education program at least 20 days before the CETP Exam date.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/canadian-accredited-prog... -
You apply for the type of certificate of registration that best fits your situation.
Source
“Applicants should apply for the type of certificate of registration (i.e., licenses) that best suits their situation.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/canadian-accredited-prog... -
Newly registered audiologists who do not yet meet the experience requirements practise under a mentor's guidance while completing the Mentorship Program.
Source
“The Initial Certificate is a temporary registration for newly registered audiologists or speech-language pathologists who do not yet meet the professional experience requirements for general registration. It allows them to practice in Ontario under a mentor’s guidance while completing CASLPO’s Mentorship Program.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categories
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
-
You submit your Labour Mobility application through the College's online application process.
Source
“Applying as a *Labour Mobility* applicant with the College is now an online process.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
You submit a completed Verification of Employment form from your employer or colleague outside Ontario verifying your practice outside Ontario.
Source
“To verify your currency of practice, a completed Verification of Employment (VOE) form from your employer or colleague outside of Ontario verifying your practice outside Ontario is sufficient.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
You must have a Verification of Registration form sent directly to the College from every jurisdiction where you currently or previously held registration.
Source
“To verify your good standing, a completed Verification of Registration (VOR) form must be submitted from all of the jurisdictions where you currently or have previously held registration or licensure as a speech-language pathologist or an audiologist or where you hold or have previously held registration or licensure in another health profession.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
You pay all applicable Ontario fees as part of your application.
Source
“Pay all applicable Ontario fees. Click here to see Fee Chart.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
You must obtain professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO's requirements.
Source
“Obtain professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO requirements”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
Before beginning practice in Ontario, you confirm your registration status on the Public Register.
Source
“Before beginning practice in Ontario, confirm your registration status by searching your name or registration number on the Public Register.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Copying service fee: $50 (required with the applicant's written request for copies of documents)
Source
“The following service fee is also required with the applicant's written request: • $50.00 per request including the first twenty-five pages, and $1.00 per page thereafter.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/canadian-accredited-prog... - Application fee (General to Non-Practising change): $150
Source
“- There is a $150 application fee for the change. - The General annual fee you already paid is non-refundable.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Application fee (Academic to General change): $150
Source
“2. Pay the application fee of $150.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Requirements
Education
You must have a professional master's degree in audiology or speech-language pathology that satisfies the Academic Equivalency Framework requirements.
Source
“Education – You must have a professional master’s degree in audiology or speech-language pathology which satisfies the requirements outlined in the Academic Equivalency Framework (AEF) for audiology and speech-language pathology.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Experience
You must show evidence of at least 750 hours of patient care or related work as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist within the past three years.
Source
“Verification of Employment – You must show evidence of your recent experience practising as an audiologist or a speech-language pathologist. You must have completed at least 750 hours of patient care or related work as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist within the past three years.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...You must provide evidence that you have practised audiology or speech-language pathology within the past three years outside of Ontario.
Source
“Currency of Practice – You must provide evidence that you have practised audiology or speech-language pathology within the past three years outside of Ontario.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...
Insurance
You must obtain professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO's requirements.
Source
“Obtain professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO requirements”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...All Cross Provincial Practice applicants must have professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO's requirements.
Source
“Yes. All applicants must have professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO’s requirements as outlined in By-law #6.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/cross-provincial-practic...Emergency Certificate holders must maintain professional liability insurance with coverage of at least two million dollars per claim.
Source
“You must maintain professional liability insurance with coverage of at least two million dollars per claim.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Good character
You must declare any denial of registration by a health regulatory body, offences or professional misconduct findings, or current proceedings related to your practice.
Source
“Past Offences and Findings – You must declare if you have ever been denied registration by a health regulatory body, found guilty of any offences or professional misconduct, or are currently involved in a proceeding related to your practise as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...You must declare any condition that could affect safe practice, and the College must be satisfied you will practise with decency, honesty and integrity and in accordance with the law.
Source
“Health and Conduct – You must declare if you suffer from any physical or mental condition or disorder that could affect your ability to practise audiology or speech-language pathology in a safe manner. The College must also be satisfied that you will practise with decency, honesty and integrity, and in accordance with the law.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Residency
You must be a Canadian citizen, a permanent resident of Canada, or otherwise authorized under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act to practise in Ontario.
Source
“Eligibility to Work in Canada – You must be a Canadian citizen, a permanent resident of Canada or authorized under the *Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (Canada)* to engage in practice of audiology or speech-language pathology in Ontario.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Other
You must successfully complete the Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam.
Source
“Registration Examination – You must successfully complete the Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...You must demonstrate proficiency in English or French if you did not complete your professional master's degree in either language.
Source
“Proficiency in English or French – You must demonstrate your proficiency in English or French if you did not complete your professional master’s degree in either English or French.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...You must be registered as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist in a regulated Canadian province with all licences in good standing.
Source
“- Be registered as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist in a regulated Canadian province - Provide evidence that all current licences or registrations are in good standing and any past licences or registration were in good standing when held”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...You must maintain full registration in your home province while practising under the Cross Provincial Practice pathway.
Source
“Applicants must maintain full registration in their home province. A reduced registration fee applies.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/reinstatement
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Source
“CASLPO’s Pathway for professionals from other regulated Canadian provinces allows regulated audiologists and speech-language pathologists from other Canadian provinces to practise in Ontario without additional assessment of their education or training.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
Exams
-
Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam
Source
“Registration Examination – You must successfully complete the Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
Supervised practice
Required
Newly registered audiologists who do not yet meet the professional experience requirements practise under a mentor's guidance while completing CASLPO's Mentorship Program. Source
“The Initial Certificate is a temporary registration for newly registered audiologists or speech-language pathologists who do not yet meet the professional experience requirements for general registration. It allows them to practice in Ontario under a mentor’s guidance while completing CASLPO’s Mentorship Program.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categories
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $29.00 | $46.70 | $59.35 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $33.33 | $46.15 | $59.52 | — |
Audiologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Canadian Accredited Programs - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/canadian-accredited-prog... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Categories - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categories · fetched October 10, 2026
- Professionals from Other Regulated Provinces - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... · fetched October 10, 2026
- General Certificate - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Reinstatement - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/reinstatement · fetched October 10, 2026
- Cross Provincial Practice Certificate - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/cross-provincial-practic... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Emergency Certificate - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Academic Certificate - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an audiologist in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario, and to use the title audiologist or speech-language pathologist.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.