How to Become a Cabinetmaker in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Cabinetmaker is a voluntary trade in Alberta. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“4-Period Apprenticeship Program Optional Certification”
From tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0361, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $160
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $160
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Before applying to become a registered apprentice, confirm that you meet the eligibility requirements for registration.
Source
“Before you apply to become a registered apprentice, make sure you are eligible.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in classroom instruction, meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses or alternatives such as an entrance exam.
Source
“Before you enroll in classes as a registered apprentice, you'll need to meet the entrance requirements.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Source
“- Theory exam required to complete each period - Red Seal exam option in final period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0361
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $160
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Submit a copy of a trade certificate recognized by Alberta that was issued outside the province.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0361 -
Pass the practical exam, paying the associated fee.
- Practical exam: $160
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $160
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $160 | 100% |
| One-time total | $160 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $160
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Complete 72 months and 8160 hours of verifiable Cabinetmaker work experience.
Source
“1. Complete 72 months and 8160 hours of verifiable Cabinetmaker work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0361 -
Pass the practical exam, paying the associated fee.
- Practical exam: $160
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $160
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $160 | 100% |
| One-time total | $160 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
Applicants to the Recognized Credentials Program must hold a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0361Apprentices must meet entrance requirements that include specific high school courses before enrolling in classroom instruction.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Applicants to the Work Experience Program must complete 72 months and 8160 hours of verifiable Cabinetmaker work experience.
Source
“1. Complete 72 months and 8160 hours of verifiable Cabinetmaker work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0361
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Cabinetmakers certified in another province can work in Alberta if their certificate is recognized by Alberta, but otherwise they must qualify through the Recognized Credentials Program by submitting their certificate and passing theory and practical exams. Source
“Cabinetmakers trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/cabinetmaker
Submit recognized trade certificate
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0361Pass a practical exam
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Theory exam
Source
“- Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0361 -
Practical exam
-
Red Seal exam
Source
“- Red Seal exam option in final period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0361 -
Entrance exam
Source
“If you don’t meet the high school entrance requirements, you’ll need to pass an entrance exam before registering in apprenticeship classroom instruction.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $18.00 | $23.00 | $30.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $19.00 | $24.00 | $31.00 | — |
Cabinetmakers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Tradesecrets - Cabinetmaker tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0361 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - About Designated Trades tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Cabinetmaker: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/cabinetmaker · fetched October 8, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a cabinetmaker in Alberta?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Theory exam, Practical exam, Red Seal exam, Entrance exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.