Province comparison
Cabinetmaker Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Voluntary certification
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Voluntary certification
- Ontario: Voluntary certification
- Quebec: Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick: Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia: Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island: Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Voluntary certification
- Yukon: Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories: Voluntary certification
- Nunavut: Voluntary certification
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $120 | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Alberta | $160 | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Saskatchewan | $625 | Trained in Canada | 0 |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| New Brunswick | $350 | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not listed | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 6 |
| Yukon | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 4 |
| Northwest Territories | Not listed | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not listed | — | — |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification exam, Practical assessment, Red Seal exam | — | $120 (Trained outside Canada) | 25.8 to 26.3 months (partial) | $26.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Theory exam, Practical exam, Red Seal exam, Entrance exam | — | $160 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $23.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada | Level One Examination, Level Two Examination, Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination | — | $625 (Trained in Canada) | — | — | Undetermined |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Red Seal exam, Level Placement Exam | — | Not listed | — | $22.50 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certifying exam | — | Not listed | — | $25.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification Exam, final examination | — | $350 (Trained outside Canada) | — | — | Undetermined |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | trade qualifier exam | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Prince Edward Island | — | Written Certification Examination | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certification exam | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Yukon | Trained in Canada | apprenticeship level 1 exam, journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Northwest Territories | — | entrance examination, Written Level Examinations, Practical Level Examinations, Practical Final Examination, Written Certification Examination | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Nunavut | — | Written Certification Examination | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (60)
- Extra steps (12)
- Not stated (84)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $19.00 | $24.00 | $31.00 |
| British Columbia | $20.00 | $26.00 | $33.35 |
| Alberta | $18.00 | $23.00 | $30.00 |
| Saskatchewan | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Manitoba | $17.00 | $22.50 | $31.84 |
| Ontario | $19.00 | $25.00 | $33.00 |
| Quebec | $19.00 | $24.00 | $30.00 |
| New Brunswick | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nova Scotia | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Outlook not determined |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Outlook not determined |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.