How to Become a Cook in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Cook is a voluntary trade in Alberta. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“3-Period Apprenticeship Program Optional Certification”
From tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/018, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
-
Apprentices must find a suitable employer who is willing to hire and train them.
Source
“Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/cook -
You apply to become a registered apprentice, and you can begin working on the job before meeting the entrance requirements for classroom instruction.
Source
“You can register and start one part of your apprenticeship journey while working toward the other requirements. As long as you meet the registration eligibility requirements, you can: - Begin working on the job before you meet entrance requirements for classroom instruction”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction, you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses or alternatives such as an entrance exam.
Source
“You must meet them before you enroll in your first period classroom instruction. - This means you can start earning on-the-job hours while you study for your entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Over the three-year apprenticeship you complete at least 1,560 hours of on-the-job training and 8 weeks of classroom instruction in each year.
Source
“The term of apprenticeship for apprentice cooks in Alberta is 3 years (three 12-month periods) that include a minimum of 1,560 hours of on-the-job training and 8 weeks of classroom instruction in each year.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/cook -
You must pass a theory exam to complete each period of the apprenticeship program.
Source
“- Theory exam required to complete each period - Red Seal exam option in final period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/018 -
After completing your apprenticeship you may take the Red Seal exam.
Source
“- You may take the Red Seal Exam upon the completion of your apprenticeship in this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/018
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/018
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“If you have experience in the trade but do not hold an Alberta Journeyperson Certificate, you may be eligible for the Trades Qualifier Program.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/018
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Entrance exam fee: $150
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent...
Requirements
Education
Before enrolling in classroom instruction, apprentices must meet entrance requirements that include specific high school courses they must have passed.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Applicants to the Trades Qualifier Work Experience Program must complete 54 months and 7020 hours of verifiable Cook work experience.
Source
“1. Complete 54 months and 7020 hours of verifiable Cook work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/018
Other
To learn the trade, you must become a registered apprentice.
Source
“To learn the trade, you must become a registered apprentice.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/cook
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Cooks trained in other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate or have journeyperson-level skills, and the Recognized Credentials Program requires submitting the certificate and passing a theory exam. Source
“Cooks trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/cook
Submit recognized certificate
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/018
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Entrance exam
Source
“If you don’t meet the high school entrance requirements, you’ll need to pass an entrance exam before registering in apprenticeship classroom instruction.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... -
Theory exam
Source
“- Theory exam required to complete each period - Red Seal exam option in final period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/018 -
Red Seal exam
Source
“Passing a Red Seal exam shows you have met the national standard in your trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... -
Challenge exam
Source
“If you haven’t passed classroom instruction, you might be able to challenge the period exam to move in your apprenticeship. This is known as a challenge exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $15.00 | $17.50 | $23.50 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $15.00 | $18.00 | $25.00 | — |
Cooks in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Tradesecrets - Cook tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/018 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - About Designated Trades tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades · fetched October 9, 2026
- Cook: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/cook · fetched October 8, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a cook in Alberta?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Entrance exam, Theory exam, Red Seal exam, Challenge exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.