How to Become a Cook in New Brunswick
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Cook is a voluntary trade in New Brunswick. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Twelve compulsory occupations are identified on the list of designated occupations.”
From gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $25
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $350
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $25
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Get a job in the trade so you can be registered as an apprentice.
Source
“Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
Register as an apprentice to begin the apprenticeship program.
- Apprentice registration: $25
Source
“Apprentice registration | $25”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... - Apprentice registration: $25
-
Successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements, including on-the-job and technical training requirements and examinations.
Source
“Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
Upon successful completion you are awarded a Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification are awarded upon successful completion of 5,400 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $25
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Registration | $25 | 100% |
| One-time total | $25 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
If you hold a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification or Red Seal endorsement, you can work in New Brunswick using your existing credential.
Source
“Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification (C of Q) or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $350
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Contact Skilled Trades NB to find out whether you can challenge the certification exam or whether the apprenticeship program is the better path.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward New Brunswick certification.
- Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
Source
“Foreign credential assessment fee | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Assessment of your experience: Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
-
Develop and complete a plan created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology, safety, and trade practices and standards.
Source
“Personalized learning plan: Develop and complete a plan is created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology and safety and trade practices and standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Attend training or challenge the exam when you are ready.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“Certificate of qualification examination | $250”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Training and certification exam: Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $350
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Assessment | $100 | 29% |
| Exams | $250 | 71% |
| One-time total | $350 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Certificate of qualification challenger assessment: $100
Source
“Certificate of qualification challenger assessment | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Certificate of qualification re-examination: $120
Source
“Certificate of qualification re-examination | $120”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Practical examination: $350
Source
“Practical examination | $350”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination: $200
Source
“Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Letter of authenticity: $200
Source
“Letter of authenticity | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Replacement certificate: $20
Source
“Replacement certificate | $20”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Assessment for prior learning: $100
Source
“Assessment for prior learning | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Requirements
Experience
A person who has gained the equivalent of 8,100 hours of practical experience in the cook occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.
Source
“A person who has gained the equivalent of 8,100 hours of practical experience in the cook occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...The apprenticeship route requires successful completion of 5,400 hours of on-the-job and technical training and the final examination.
Source
“A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification are awarded upon successful completion of 5,400 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
New Brunswick recognizes valid Red Seal endorsements and Certificates of Qualification issued by other Canadian provinces and territories, so certified tradespeople can move to New Brunswick and work in their trade without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification. Source
“New Brunswick recognizes valid Red Seal endorsements, Certificates of Qualification (C of Q), and other trade certificates issued by Canadian provinces and territories. This means certified tradespeople can move to New Brunswick and work in their trade without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification (C of Q).”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Exams
-
Certification Exam
Source
“Trade Qualification — work the required number of hours in a particular skilled trade, supply proof of those hours, scope coverage and challenge the Certification Exam.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
final examination
Source
“A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification are awarded upon successful completion of 5,400 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... -
Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination
Source
“Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...Which provinces ask for the Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $15.65 | $16.40 | $22.00 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $15.00 | $18.00 | $25.00 | — |
Cooks in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 11, 2026
- The apprenticeship and occupational certification program - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Fees and forms - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... · fetched October 11, 2026
- List of designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Internationally and nationally trained or certified trades people - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... · fetched October 11, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a cook in New Brunswick?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in New Brunswick. Certification is managed by the New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.
Which exams are required?
Certification Exam, final examination, Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.