At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. You apply to register as an apprentice in the Government of Yukon's apprenticeship program and pay the application fee.

    Source
    “You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  2. You spend most of your apprenticeship learning on the job from a certified journeyperson while getting paid.

    Source
    “80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  3. You attend in-school technical training each year of your apprenticeship.

    Source
    “20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training. In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  4. You write the apprenticeship level 1 exam and the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam for your trade.

    Source
    “the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: - your previous experience and training; - the requirements of your trade; and - recommendation from your employer. - the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  5. When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.

    Source
    “When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

No separate route for this group.

Source
“Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/cook/ellis-chart.shtml

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/cook/ellis-chart.shtml

Requirements

Experience

  • A trade qualifier must have the minimum required hours working in the trade and demonstrate experience that covers the trade's practices to challenge the certification examination.

    Source
    “Provinces and Territories dictate a minimum number of required hours working in a trade for a trade qualifier to be eligible to challenge any certification examination; candidates must also demonstrate experience that covers the trade’s pr actices | 8100 | 8100 | 8100 | 8100 | Not applicable | 6000 | 8100 | 8100 | 7020 | 5000 | 8100 | 7200 | 7200”
    ellischart.ca/eng/trades/cook/ellis-chart.shtml

Residency

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon as a cook.

Source
“Cuisinier/cuisinière | Applicable | Applicable | Applicable | Applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Applicable | Applicable | Applicable | Applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/cook/ellis-chart.shtml

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Yukon and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Yukon $20.00 $28.37 $41.67 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $15.00 $18.00 $25.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Yukon

Wages in every province and territory

Cooks in other provinces and territories

Compare cook licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Cook – Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/cook/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a cook in Yukon?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.

Which exams are required?

apprenticeship level 1 exam, journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.