How to Become a Denturist in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Alberta Denturists to work as a denturist in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Health Professions Act [pdf], Health Professions Restricted Activity Regulation [pdf], and Denturists Profession Regulation [pdf], registration with the College of Alberta Denturists is mandatory.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/denturist, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Alberta Denturists
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0 to 0.1 months (only 1 of 5 steps state a time)
-
You complete the online registration form, providing the required documentation and paying the associated fees.
Source
“To apply to be a regulated member, you must complete the online registration form, provide the required documentation and pay the associated fees.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration -
You provide the required documentation, which may be uploaded through the online application or sent to the College directly.
Source
“The required documentation may be uploaded through the online application or sent to the College directly.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration -
You provide evidence of completing the College of Alberta Denturists jurisprudence course.
Source
“Evidence of completion of College of Alberta Denturists jurisprudence course”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration -
You pay all applicable fees so the application is considered complete.
Source
“An application will be considered complete when all required documentation has been received, in the form required, and all applicable fees have been paid in full.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration -
Once the College receives all required documentation, your application is processed and a decision rendered within 1-3 business days.
Time: 1 to 3 daysTime source
“Once the College receives all the required documentation, you can expect that it will take 1-3 business days for your application to be processed and a decision rendered.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registrationSource
“Once the College receives all the required documentation, you can expect that it will take 1-3 business days for your application to be processed and a decision rendered.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Alberta Denturists
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
You complete the applicable application form.
Source
“Complete the applicable application form”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration -
You provide the required documentation plus a letter of standing from your most recent regulatory authority.
Source
“Provide the required documentation plus a letter of standing from your most recent regulatory authority.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration -
You remit the appropriate fees.
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Alberta Denturists
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 6 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
You complete the application form and pay the assessment fee for the application to be considered.
Source
“Applicants must complete the application form and pay the assessment fee for the application to be considered.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/internationally-trained-denturists -
You submit supporting documentation, which may be uploaded to the application form or sent to the College by email.
Source
“Documentation may be uploaded to the application form if it is available. Applicants may also complete the application form with as much detail/documentation as possible and augment their file by submitting outstanding documentation to the College via email”
abdenturists.ca/registration/internationally-trained-denturists -
Once a complete application is received, the Registration Committee reviews it and assesses it for substantial equivalence.
Source
“The College may assess an application for substantial equivalence through the submission of an application form and supporting documentation. Once a complete application is received by the College, it will be reviewed by the Registration Committee.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/internationally-trained-denturists -
You receive an interim decision from the Registration Committee as soon as possible, but not exceeding six months, from the time a complete application is received.
Time: 6 monthsTime source
“You will receive an interim decision from the Registration Committee as soon as possible, but not exceeding six months, from the time a complete application is received by the College.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/internationally-trained-denturistsSource
“You will receive an interim decision from the Registration Committee as soon as possible, but not exceeding six months, from the time a complete application is received by the College.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/internationally-trained-denturists
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Alberta Denturists
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
You must have graduated from a denturist program accredited by the EQual Program of Accreditation Canada or a program approved by College Council.
Source
“Evidence (original or notarized transcripts) of graduation from a program approved by Council”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registrationYou must provide evidence of completion of the College of Alberta Denturists jurisprudence course.
Source
“Evidence of completion of College of Alberta Denturists jurisprudence course”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registrationTo register as a denturist in Alberta you must successfully complete an approved denturism diploma program and practical and theoretical examinations.
Source
“To register as a denturist in Alberta, you must successfully complete: - An approved denturism diploma program - Practical and theoretical examinations”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/denturist
Experience
To maintain registration you must have a minimum of 1200 practice hours within the immediately preceding five years, with allowances made for new graduates.
Source
“In order to maintain registration as a regulated member, an individual must have a minimum of 1200 practice hours within the immediately preceding five years. There are allowances made for new graduates.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration
Police check
You must provide a current criminal record check with category A vulnerable sector search completed within six months.
Source
“Current criminal record check with category A vulnerable sector search (within six months)”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration
Insurance
You must provide evidence of professional liability insurance at the level required by Council.
Source
“Evidence of Professional Liability Insurance at the level required by Council”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration
Good character
You must provide two character references, at least one of which must be professional in nature.
Source
“Two character references (at least one reference must be professional in nature)”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration
Other
You must provide proof of legal entitlement to work in Canada.
Source
“Proof of legal entitlement to work in Canada (i.e., Canadian birth certificate, citizenship card, PR card, passport, work VISA)”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registrationYou must hold a current CPR certification.
Source
“Current CPR certification (for CPR specifications required, please click here)”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registrationYou must provide a certificate of completion from a trauma-informed practice course or an equivalent course.
Source
“Certificate of completion from a trauma-informed practice course”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages say applicants registered in another Canadian jurisdiction may be eligible through a labour mobility pathway by completing an application form, providing documentation plus a letter of standing, and remitting fees, but they do not state whether the entry-to-practice exam or a competence assessment is waived. Source
“Should you be registered in another Canadian jurisdiction, you may be eligible to be registered in Alberta through a labour mobility pathway.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration
Complete the application form
Source
“Complete the applicable application form”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registrationProvide documentation and letter of standing
Source
“Provide the required documentation plus a letter of standing from your most recent regulatory authority.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registrationRemit the appropriate fees
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Alberta Denturists
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Alberta Denturists
Exams
-
Canadian Denturist Multijurisdictional Registration Examination
Source
“The College has opted to utilize the Canadian Denturist Multijurisdictional Registration Examination.”
abdenturists.ca/registration-exam -
Practical and theoretical examinations
Source
“To register as a denturist in Alberta, you must successfully complete: - An approved denturism diploma program - Practical and theoretical examinations”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/denturist
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Alberta Denturists
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Alberta Denturists
Supervised practice
Required
Members may be required to work under the supervision of another regulated member, for example while registered with a provisional practice permit or by decision of the Registrar or Registration Committee. Source
“Members may be required to work under the supervision of another regulated member. These situations would include while registered with a provisional practice permit or by decision of the Registrar or Registration Committee.”
abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | — | $46,800 | — | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $54,000 | $122,000 | — |
Denturists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Denturist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/denturist · fetched October 10, 2026
- General Registration - College of Alberta Denturists abdenturists.ca/registration/how-to-register/general-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Internationally-trained Denturists - College of Alberta Denturists abdenturists.ca/registration/internationally-trained-denturists · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Exam - College of Alberta Denturists abdenturists.ca/registration-exam · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a denturist in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the College of Alberta Denturists is required to practise in Alberta.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Denturist Multijurisdictional Registration Examination, Practical and theoretical examinations.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.