How to Become a Denturist in Nova Scotia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Nova Scotia Regulator of Dental Hygiene, Dental Technology, and Denturism to work as a denturist in Nova Scotia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- denturist
Show the source
“If you wish to work as a denturist in Nova Scotia, you must be registered and licensed with the Nova Scotia Regulator of Dental Hygiene, Dental Technology, and Denturism (NSRDHDTD).”
From oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 7 steps
- Licensed in another province: 0 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $50
- Annual fees
-
- Denturist Practising Licence: $1,030
Source
“Denturist Practising Licence: $1030”
oralhealthns.ca/registration/licence-permit-renewal-outside-renewal - Practising Licence Late fee: $100 (if complete application is not submitted by the Board-set Deadline)
Source
“Practising Licence Late fees if complete application is not submitted by the Board-set Deadline: $100.00”
oralhealthns.ca/registration/licence-permit-renewal-outside-renewal
- Denturist Practising Licence: $1,030
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 7 done
- 7 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,030
-
You must provide an original or notarized copy of your Qualifying Examination (MCQ and OSCE) certificate showing you passed the qualifying exam.
Source
“As part of the required documentation, you must provide an original copy of your Qualifying Examination (MCQ and OSCE) certificate, verifying that you successfully completed the qualifying exam.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den... -
Complete and submit the registration and licensing application form together with the application fee.
Source
“To register, start by submitting the application form.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den... -
Upload the certificate showing you have completed the Nova Scotia Jurisprudence Examination.
Source
“D. Upload the certificate verifying you have completed the Nova Scotia Jurisprudence Examination.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den... -
Upload your professional liability insurance policy covering the full period of the initial practising licence you are applying for.
Source
“You must have PLI for the full period for which you are applying for your initial practising licence.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den... -
If your primary language or your program of study was not English, provide proof of English language competency.
Source
“If your primary language is not English and/or your program of study was conducted in a language other than English, you will be required to provide proof of English language competency.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den... -
Complete the registration and licensing process, including payment of the final fees.
Source
“Complete registration and licensing process, including payment of final fees”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den... -
Meet virtually with the Registrar for a structured interview about your professional obligations, booked once the rest of the application is complete.
Source
“Applicants are required to meet with the Registrar, virtually.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dental Hygiene, Dental Technology, and Denturism
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,030 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Denturist Practising Licence: $1,030
Source
“Denturist Practising Licence: $1030”
oralhealthns.ca/registration/licence-permit-renewal-outside-renewal - Practising Licence Late fee: $100 (if complete application is not submitted by the Board-set Deadline)
Source
“Practising Licence Late fees if complete application is not submitted by the Board-set Deadline: $100.00”
oralhealthns.ca/registration/licence-permit-renewal-outside-renewal
Licensed in another province
- Annual fees: $1,030
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dental Hygiene, Dental Technology, and Denturism
Trained outside Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $50
- 7 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,030
-
Successfully complete a non-accredited denturism program.
Source
“Successfully complete a non-accredited denturism program.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred... -
Apply to World Education Services to have your denturism credentials evaluated to determine whether you are eligible to write the exam.
Source
“Apply to have World Education Services (WES) evaluate your denturism credentials to determine eligibility to write the exam.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred... -
If WES deems you eligible, successfully complete one of the four Board-approved entry-to-practice examinations, which include Part 1 MCQ and Part 2 OSCE/Clinical Examinations.
Source
“If deemed eligible by WES, successfully complete one of the four NSRDHDTD Board-Approved Entry-to-Practice Examinations (i.e., Part 1 MCQ and Part 2 OSCE/Clinical Examinations) listed.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred... -
Complete the registration and licensing application form and pay the application fee.
Source
“3. Complete registration and licensing application form, with application fee”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred... -
Pay for and successfully complete the online Nova Scotia jurisprudence exam, which assesses your understanding of legislation, standards of practice and other matters relevant to practising in Nova Scotia.
- Nova Scotia Jurisprudence Exam: $50
Source
“The cost to take the online exam is $50.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred...
Source
“Applicants must successfully complete a jurisprudence exam for Nova Scotia which assesses an applicant’s understanding of the legislation, standards of practice, and other matters relevant to practising in Nova Scotia.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred... - Nova Scotia Jurisprudence Exam: $50
-
Provide verification of registration showing you are in good standing in any previous jurisdiction.
Source
“Verification of Registration (evidence that you are in good standing in any previous jurisdiction)”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred... -
Pay the registration and licensing fee by an accepted payment method such as Plastiq.
Source
“We accept credit card payment through Plastiq. Using Plastiq, a third-party service provider, you can pay with MasterCard, Visa or American Express:”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred... -
Meet virtually with the Registrar for a structured interview about your professional obligations, scheduled once the rest of the registration process is complete.
Source
“Applicants are required to meet with the Registrar, virtually.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $50
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $50 | 100% |
| One-time total | $50 | 100% |
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,030 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Denturist Practising Licence: $1,030
Source
“Denturist Practising Licence: $1030”
oralhealthns.ca/registration/licence-permit-renewal-outside-renewal - Practising Licence Late fee: $100 (if complete application is not submitted by the Board-set Deadline)
Source
“Practising Licence Late fees if complete application is not submitted by the Board-set Deadline: $100.00”
oralhealthns.ca/registration/licence-permit-renewal-outside-renewal
Requirements
Education
An applicant must have graduated from a denturism program accredited by Accreditation Canada (EQual), or have a non-accredited program assessed for equivalence.
Source
“The basic qualification for registration and licensure in Nova Scotia is that an applicant must have graduated from a denturism program that has been accredited by Accreditation Canada (EQual).”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred...
Experience
Applicants must provide evidence of practice as a denturist within the 3 years immediately preceding the application, which may include evidence of 600 practice hours.
Source
“Provide evidence of practice as a denturist within the 3 years immediately preceding the date of the application for registration is received. If applicable, evidence of the 600 practice hours must be in the form of a signed letter from the employer (on letterhead), ROE (Record of Employment), or another acceptable alternative document, as determined by the Registrar.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred...
Insurance
Applicants must hold professional liability insurance for the full period of the initial practising licence they are applying for.
Source
“You must have PLI for the full period for which you are applying for your initial practising licence.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den...
Good character
Applicants must demonstrate good conduct by providing verification that they are in good standing in any previous jurisdiction.
Source
“Verification of Registration (evidence that you are in good standing in any previous jurisdiction)”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred...
Other
Applicants must show currency in continuing education, such as 36 hours of continuing denturism education within the previous 3 years, unless they graduated within the last 36 months.
Source
“Provide evidence of having obtained 36 hours of continuing denturism education within the 3 years immediately preceding the date of the application for registration is received.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred...Applicants whose primary language is not English or whose program was not taught in English must provide proof of English language competency.
Source
“If your primary language is not English and/or your program of study was conducted in a language other than English, you will be required to provide proof of English language competency.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages list a registration route for denturism applicants currently registered or licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction, but do not state what that route involves. Source
“Denturism Applicants Currently Registered or Licensed in Another Canadian Jurisdiction”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dental Hygiene, Dental Technology, and Denturism
Credential assessment
World Education Services (WES) credential evaluation
To determine eligibility to write the denturist exam(s) for graduates of non-accredited programs
Source
“Apply to have the World Education Services (WES) evaluate your denturism credentials to determine eligibility to take the denturist exam(s).”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred...
Exams
-
NSRDHDTD Board-Approved Entry-to-Practice Examinations (Part 1 MCQ and Part 2 OSCE/Clinical Examinations)
Source
“If deemed eligible by WES, successfully complete one of the four NSRDHDTD Board-Approved Entry-to-Practice Examinations (i.e., Part 1 MCQ and Part 2 OSCE/Clinical Examinations) listed.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred... -
Alberta Denturist Registration Examination
Source
“Alberta Denturist Registration Examination - Part I: a written exam consisting of Multiple-Choice Questions (MCQ) and Part II: an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE);”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den... -
British Columbia Denturist Examination
Source
“British Columbia Denturist Examination - Part I: a written exam consisting of Multiple-Choice Questions (MCQ) and Part II: an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE);”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den... -
Ontario Denturist Qualifying Examination
Source
“Ontario Denturist Qualifying Examination – Part I: a written exam consisting of Multiple-Choice Questions (MCQ) and Part II: an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE); or”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den... -
Nova Scotia Denturist Examination
Source
“Nova Scotia Denturist Examination – Part I: a written exam and Part II: Clinical Examination (no longer offered).”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den... -
Nova Scotia Jurisprudence Examination
Source
“D. Upload the certificate verifying you have completed the Nova Scotia Jurisprudence Examination.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den...
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dental Hygiene, Dental Technology, and Denturism
Exemptions: Applicants whose primary language is English and whose program of study was conducted in English are not required to provide proof of English language competency. Source
“If your primary language is not English and/or your program of study was conducted in a language other than English, you will be required to provide proof of English language competency.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den...
Canadian experience
Applicants must provide evidence of practice as a denturist within the 3 years immediately preceding the application, which may include evidence of 600 practice hours. Source
“Provide evidence of practice as a denturist within the 3 years immediately preceding the date of the application for registration is received. If applicable, evidence of the 600 practice hours must be in the form of a signed letter from the employer (on letterhead), ROE (Record of Employment), or another acceptable alternative document, as determined by the Registrar.”
oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred...
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dental Hygiene, Dental Technology, and Denturism
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nova Scotia | — | — | — | Undetermined |
| Canada | $32,867 | $54,000 | $122,000 | — |
Denturists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Registration as a Denturist oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist · fetched October 10, 2026
- Approved/Accredited Denturism Program Applicants oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/approved-accredited-den... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Non-Approved/Non-Accredited Denturism Program Applicants oralhealthns.ca/registration-as-a-denturist/non-approved-non-accred... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Licence & Permit Renewal-Outside-Renewal oralhealthns.ca/registration/licence-permit-renewal-outside-renewal · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a denturist in Nova Scotia?
Yes. Registration with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dental Hygiene, Dental Technology, and Denturism is required to practise in Nova Scotia, and to use the title denturist.
Which exams are required?
NSRDHDTD Board-Approved Entry-to-Practice Examinations (Part 1 MCQ and Part 2 OSCE/Clinical Examinations), Alberta Denturist Registration Examination, British Columbia Denturist Examination, Ontario Denturist Qualifying Examination, Nova Scotia Denturist Examination, Nova Scotia Jurisprudence Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.