How to Become a Denturist in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the BC College of Oral Health Professionals of BC to work as a denturist in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under the HPOA, 6 regulatory colleges regulate 25 regulated health professions. … BC College of Oral Health Professionals (BCCOHP) … Denturists”
From www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/health/practitioner-professional-resourc..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Annual renewal fee: $1,714
- Criminal record check fee: $5.60
- Denturists: Total: $1,719.60
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,439.20
- Listed time: 1.8 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Source
“Graduation from a recognized denturist education program”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini... -
Complete and submit the Full Denturist Registration application package to the college.
Source
“To apply for Full Denturist registration with the British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals, please complete and submit the following: - Application for [Full Denturist Registration.]”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-initial-registration -
Source
“As part of the application process, applicants will have to undergo a criminal record check (CRC) process conducted by the Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini... -
Wait for the application to be processed, which generally takes eight weeks.
Time: 8 weeksTime source
“The general application processing time is eight weeks.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini...Source
“The general application processing time is eight weeks.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with BCCOHP
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,439.20 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual renewal fee: $1,714
- Criminal record check fee: $5.60
- Denturists: Total: $1,719.60
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,439.20
- Listed time: 1.8 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Request a Certificate of Standing from the regulatory body in the other Canadian jurisdiction, which must be delivered directly to the college in a sealed envelope.
Source
“If you are currently or have previously been licensed or registered in another Canadian jurisdiction, BCCOHP requires a Certificate of Standing from that jurisdiction for your application for denturist licence.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-lic... -
Complete and submit the Full Denturist Registration application package to the college.
Source
“To apply for Full Denturist registration with the British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals, please complete and submit the following: - Application for [Full Denturist Registration.]”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-initial-registration -
Undergo a criminal record check process conducted by the Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General.
Source
“As part of the application process, applicants will have to undergo a criminal record check (CRC) process conducted by the Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini... -
Wait for the application to be processed, which generally takes eight weeks.
Time: 8 weeksTime source
“The general application processing time is eight weeks.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini...Source
“The general application processing time is eight weeks.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with BCCOHP
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,439.20 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual renewal fee: $1,714
- Criminal record check fee: $5.60
- Denturists: Total: $1,719.60
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,439.20
- Listed time: 1.8 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Obtain a comprehensive evaluation of your educational credentials from the International Credential Evaluation Service, which must send the report directly to the college.
Source
“A comprehensive evaluation of your educational credentials from [International Credential Evaluation Service (ICES). ]ICES must send your report directly to the British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-initial-registration -
Complete and submit the Application for Active Full Registration to the college.
Source
“1. Application for [Active Full ] Registration.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-initial-registration -
Undergo a criminal record check process conducted by the Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General.
Source
“As part of the application process, applicants will have to undergo a criminal record check (CRC) process conducted by the Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini... -
Wait for the application to be processed, which generally takes eight weeks.
Time: 8 weeksTime source
“The general application processing time is eight weeks.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini...Source
“The general application processing time is eight weeks.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with BCCOHP
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,439.20 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual renewal fee: $1,714
- Criminal record check fee: $5.60
- Denturists: Total: $1,719.60
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Renewal late fee: $210
Source
“$210 renewal late fee $1714 annual renewal fee $5.60 CRC fee”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/annual-renewals/renewal-fees - Reinstatement and renewal fees: $1,924
Source
“$1924 (*reinstatement and renewal fees included) $28 CRC fee”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/annual-renewals/renewal-fees - Criminal record check fee: $28
Source
“$1924 (*reinstatement and renewal fees included) $28 CRC fee”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/annual-renewals/renewal-fees - Corporation permit late fee: $53
Source
“$53 late fee $53 renewal feeTotal: $106 per corporation”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/annual-renewals/renewal-fees - Administrative fee for Certificate/Letter of Standing: $79
Source
“There is an administrative fee of $79.00.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-lic...
Requirements
Education
You must have graduated from a recognized denturist education program.
Source
“Graduation from a recognized denturist education program”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini...
Police check
Applicants must undergo a criminal record check process conducted by the Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General.
Source
“As part of the application process, applicants will have to undergo a criminal record check (CRC) process conducted by the Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini...
Other
You must have successfully completed the internship portfolio requirements stated in Schedule G.
Source
“Successful completion of the internship portfolio requirements stated [Schedule G]”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini...You must have successfully completed both the theory examination and the objective structured clinical examination no more than three years before your application.
Source
“Successful completion of both the theory examination and objective structured clinical examination specified by the Licence Committee (see below) no more than three years before date or your application for licence to BCCOHP.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
The college registers denturists who are currently registered in another jurisdiction in Canada in accordance with the Canadian Free Trade Agreement and the BC/AB Trade, Investment and Labour Mobility Agreement. Source
“Consistent with the terms of the Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA) and the BC/AB Trade, Investment and Labour Mobility Agreement (TILMA), the British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals will continue to register Denturists who are currently registered in another jurisdiction in Canada, in accordance with the provisions of these Agreements.”
oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-lic...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCOHP
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | — | $44,400 | — | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $54,000 | $122,000 | — |
Denturists in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Health profession regulation - Province of British Columbia www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/health/practitioner-professional-resourc... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Denturist initial licensing | British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-ini... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Denturists | British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-initial-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Denturist licensure resources | British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/denturist-licensure-renewal/denturist-lic... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Renewal Fees | British Columbia College of Oral Health Professionals oralhealthbc.ca/licensure/annual-renewals/renewal-fees · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a denturist in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the BC College of Oral Health Professionals of BC is required to practise in British Columbia.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.