How to Become an Instrumentation and Control Technician in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Instrumentation and control technician is a voluntary trade in Alberta. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“you do not have to be certified if you are self-employed or work for an employer who is satisfied that you have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/instrumentation-a..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 48 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
-
Apprentices must find a suitable employer who is willing to hire and train apprentices.
Source
“Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/instrumentation-a... -
You can register as an apprentice before meeting the entrance requirements, as long as you meet the registration eligibility requirements.
Source
“You can register as an apprentice before you meet the entrance requirements.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in the first period of classroom instruction, you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses you must have passed.
Source
“You must meet them before you enroll in your first period classroom instruction.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Complete the 4-year apprenticeship term, which includes on-the-job training hours and weeks of classroom instruction in each year.
Time: 4 yearsTime source
“The term of apprenticeship for apprentice instrumentation and control technicians in Alberta is 4 years (four 12-month periods)”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/instrumentation-a...Source
“The term of apprenticeship for apprentice instrumentation and control technicians in Alberta is 4 years (four 12-month periods) that include a minimum of:”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/instrumentation-a... -
A theory exam is required to complete each period of the apprenticeship program.
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/031 -
Apprentices can choose the Red Seal exam option in the final period and can write it at their school after passing the final period exam.
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/031
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/031
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- PLA entrance exam application fee: $150
Source
“There is a $150 fee for this application.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... - Entrance exam fee: $150
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... - PLA period exam fee: $150
Source
“Instrumentation and Control Technician | 1,2,3,4 | $150.00 each | n/a”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear...
Requirements
Education
Entrance requirements for classroom instruction include specific high school courses that you must have passed.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Applicants for the Trades Qualifier Work Experience Program must complete 72 months and 9180 hours of verifiable Instrumentation and Control Technician work experience.
Source
“Complete 72 months and 9180 hours of verifiable Instrumentation and Control Technician work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/031
Other
Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.
Source
“Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/instrumentation-a...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Instrumentation and control technicians trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by the Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training Board. Source
“Instrumentation and control technicians trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by the Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training Board or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/instrumentation-a...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Theory exam
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/031 -
Red Seal exam
-
Entrance exam
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $29.70 | $57.00 | $67.85 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $31.00 | $46.00 | $65.78 | — |
Instrumentations and control technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Compare instrumentation and control technician licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Instrumentation and Control Technician: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/instrumentation-a... · fetched October 8, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Instrumentation and Control Technician tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/031 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Prior Learning Assessments tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an instrumentation and control technician in Alberta?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Theory exam, Red Seal exam, Entrance exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.