At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
  • Trained in Canada: 3 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 24 to 48 months (only 1 of 3 steps state a time)
  1. You apply to register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program managed by the Government of Yukon.

    Source
    “You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  2. As a registered apprentice you spend most of your time learning on the job from a certified journeyperson and the rest at in-school technical training.

    Time: 2 to 4 years
    Time source
    “let you return to your job over the 2 to 4 year period until you're a certified journeyperson.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
    Source
    “As a registered apprentice in the program, you’ll spend: 80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid; and 20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  3. You write the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on your previous experience and training and the requirements of your trade.

    Source
    “the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: your previous experience and training; and the requirements of your trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Experience

  • Experienced but uncertified trade qualifiers in the Yukon must demonstrate a minimum of 10,800 hours working in the trade to be eligible to challenge the certification examination.

    Source
    “Required Hours for Trade Qualifier Provinces and Territories dictate a minimum number of required hours working in a trade for a trade qualifier to be eligible to challenge any certification examination; candidates must also demonstrate experience that covers the trade’s practices | 10800 | 10800 | 10800 | 10800 | Not applicable | 8000 | 9600 | 10200 | 9180 | 9000 | 10800 | 9000 | 9000”
    ellischart.ca/eng/trades/instrument-ctrl-tech/ellis-chart.shtml

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon.

Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada. This indicates if the province or territory allows these experienced but uncertified workers to challenge certification examinations once they have demonstrated proof of eligible trade experience | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/instrument-ctrl-tech/ellis-chart.shtml

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Yukon and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Yukon — — — Undetermined
Canada $31.00 $46.00 $65.78 —

Wages in every province and territory

Instrumentations and control technicians in other provinces and territories

Compare instrumentation and control technician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Instrumentation and Control Technician – Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/instrument-ctrl-tech/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an instrumentation and control technician in Yukon?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.

Which exams are required?

Journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, Apprenticeship level 1 exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.