How to Become a Landscape Horticulturist in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Landscape horticulturist is a voluntary trade in Alberta. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Skilled Trades and Apprenticeship Education Act [pdf], you do not have to be certified if you are self-employed or work for an employer who is satisfied that you have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/landscape-horticu..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 48 months (only 1 of 5 steps state a time)
-
Apprentices must find a suitable employer who is willing to hire and train them.
Source
“Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/landscape-horticu... -
You can register as an apprentice before meeting the entrance requirements, but must meet them before enrolling in first period classroom instruction.
Source
“You can register as an apprentice before you meet the entrance requirements. - You must meet them before you enroll in your first period classroom instruction.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Complete the 4-year apprenticeship term, which includes at least 1,260 hours of on-the-job training and 8 weeks of classroom instruction each year.
Time: 4 yearsTime source
“The term of apprenticeship in Alberta is 4 years (12-month periods) that include a minimum of 1,260 hours of on-the-job training and 8 weeks of classroom instruction each year.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/landscape-horticu...Source
“The term of apprenticeship in Alberta is 4 years (12-month periods) that include a minimum of 1,260 hours of on-the-job training and 8 weeks of classroom instruction each year.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/landscape-horticu... -
Pass the theory exam required to complete each period of the apprenticeship program.
Source
“- Theory exam required to complete each period - Red Seal exam option in final period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/047 -
After completing the apprenticeship, you may take the Red Seal exam.
Source
“You may take the Red Seal Exam upon the completion of your apprenticeship in this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/047
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/047
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“If you have experience in the trade but do not hold an Alberta Journeyperson Certificate, you may be eligible for the Trades Qualifier Program.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/047
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Entrance exam fee: $150
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent...
Requirements
Education
Before enrolling in classroom instruction, apprentices must meet entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses they must have passed.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Apprenticeship in the trade is a 4-year term including a minimum of 1,260 hours of on-the-job training and 8 weeks of classroom instruction each year.
Source
“The term of apprenticeship in Alberta is 4 years (12-month periods) that include a minimum of 1,260 hours of on-the-job training and 8 weeks of classroom instruction each year.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/landscape-horticu...To qualify through the Work Experience Program, you must complete 72 months and 7560 hours of verifiable Landscape Horticulturist work experience.
Source
“1. Complete 72 months and 7560 hours of verifiable Landscape Horticulturist work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/047
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Landscape horticulturists trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate or license, or have the skills and knowledge of an Alberta journeyperson, and those using the Recognized Credentials Program must pass a theory exam. Source
“Landscape horticulturists trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/landscape-horticu...
Submit recognized certificate
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/047
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Entrance exam
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... -
Theory exam
Source
“- Theory exam required to complete each period - Red Seal exam option in final period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/047 -
Red Seal exam
Source
“You may take the Red Seal Exam upon the completion of your apprenticeship in this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/047
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $18.00 | $23.00 | $32.00 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $21.00 | $30.00 | $40.87 | — |
Landscape horticulturists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Landscape Horticulturist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/landscape-horticu... · fetched October 8, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Landscape Horticulturist tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/047 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a landscape horticulturist in Alberta?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Entrance exam, Theory exam, Red Seal exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.