How to Become a Landscape Horticulturist in Manitoba
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Landscape horticulturist is a voluntary trade in Manitoba. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Some trades in Manitoba require you to be certified; these are known as compulsory certification trades. Other trades are voluntary.”
From gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/trade-qualifier...., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $200
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $200
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Apprenticeship Manitoba emails you the Apprenticeship Agreement, which you and your employer must sign.
Source
“Sign the Apprenticeship Agreement - Apprenticeship Manitoba sends an email to you with the Apprenticeship Agreement - you can print out the agreement and sign it, or electronically sign the agreement - your employer must also sign Part C of the agreement”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... -
You submit your education records, any trade-related work or educational experience documents, and the signed Apprenticeship Agreement to Apprenticeship Manitoba to register it.
Source
“Provide documentation and register your Apprenticeship Agreement with Apprenticeship Manitoba Follow instructions on your Apprenticeship Agreement to submit: - a copy of your education records (post-secondary transcript, or high school diploma, and/or Grade 12 transcripts, GED certificate/ Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC), or equivalent).”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... -
You complete the required on-the-job hours and technical training hours each year, including 1,500 total hours per year and nine weeks of technical training annually for this trade.
Source
“1,500 Total Hours/Year (On-The-Job & Technical Training) 9 Total Weeks/Year (Technical Training)”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/trade-profiles/landscape-Ho... -
After completing all levels and apprenticeship requirements, you must pass the certification exam with a minimum grade of 70 per cent to earn your Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“Once you’ve completed all levels and apprenticeship requirements for your program, you must pass the certification (final) exam. The minimum passing grade is 70 per cent.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/discover-apprentice...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $200
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You complete and follow the instructions on the Trades Qualification Application form.
Source
“Trades Qualification Application Form Complete and follow instructions.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
You submit as many employer or statutory declaration forms as needed to meet the trade's requirements for approval.
Source
“Submit as many declaration forms as needed in order to meet the trade’s requirements for approval. Employer declarations are filled and signed by your direct supervisor (current and past).”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
You provide copies of all trade-related certificates and credentials.
Source
“Proof of Education and Training Provide copies of all trade-related certificates and credentials.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
You include a non-refundable $200 payment with your application to have it assessed.
- Application fee: $200
Source
“Application fee - Include a $200 payment (non-refundable).”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...
Source
“Application fee - Include a $200 payment (non-refundable). - Make cheque payable to: Apprenticeship Manitoba. - This fee is to assess your application and does not guarantee that you will be approved.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... - Application fee: $200
-
If your application is approved, you are notified by email and can study for and take the certification exam.
Source
“If you meet the requirements, you will be notified via email that you have been approved to challenge the certification exam and you are accepted as a trade qualifier.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $200
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $200 | 100% |
| One-time total | $200 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $200
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You complete and follow the instructions on the Trades Qualification Application form.
Source
“Trades Qualification Application Form Complete and follow instructions.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
You submit as many employer or statutory declaration forms as needed to meet the trade's requirements for approval.
Source
“Submit as many declaration forms as needed in order to meet the trade’s requirements for approval. Employer declarations are filled and signed by your direct supervisor (current and past).”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
You provide copies of all trade-related certificates and credentials.
Source
“Proof of Education and Training Provide copies of all trade-related certificates and credentials.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
You include a non-refundable $200 payment with your application to have it assessed.
- Application fee: $200
Source
“Application fee - Include a $200 payment (non-refundable).”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...
Source
“Application fee - Include a $200 payment (non-refundable). - Make cheque payable to: Apprenticeship Manitoba. - This fee is to assess your application and does not guarantee that you will be approved.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... - Application fee: $200
-
If your application is approved, you are notified by email and can study for and take the certification exam.
Source
“If you meet the requirements, you will be notified via email that you have been approved to challenge the certification exam and you are accepted as a trade qualifier.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $200
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $200 | 100% |
| One-time total | $200 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Level Placement Exam: $200
Source
“Level Placement Exam $200”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... - NSF Cheque Service Fee: $20
Source
“NSF Cheque Service Fee $20”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... - Technical Training: $425 (starting at $425)
Source
“Technical Training (click link for full fee breakdown) Starting at $425”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... - Book and materials fees: $800 (vary by program and technical training provider)
Source
“Book and materials fees vary by program and technical training provider and range from $800 to $1,500.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... - Book and materials fees: $1,500 (vary by program and technical training provider)
Source
“Book and materials fees vary by program and technical training provider and range from $800 to $1,500.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr...
Requirements
Residency
You must reside in Manitoba to challenge the certification exam as a trade qualifier.
Source
“Important: You must reside in Manitoba to challenge a Red Seal, provincial or practical certification exam.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...You must be a Manitoba resident to apply as a trade qualifier in this trade.
Source
“You must be a Manitoba resident to apply as a trade qualifier.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/trade-profiles/landscape-Ho...Whether applying as an apprentice or a trade qualifier, you must reside in Manitoba when you apply.
Source
“Whether you plan to be an apprentice, or plan to challenge the certification exam as a trade qualifier, you must reside in Manitoba when you apply.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/newcomers.html
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
If you have received Red Seal certification for a trade, it will continue to be recognized in Manitoba. Source
“If you have received Red Seal certification for any trade (voluntary or compulsory certification), it will continue to be recognized in Manitoba.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/trade-qualifier....
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Exams
-
Certification (final) exam
Source
“Once you’ve completed all levels and apprenticeship requirements for your program, you must pass the certification (final) exam. The minimum passing grade is 70 per cent.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/discover-apprentice... -
Red Seal Exam
Source
“## Red Seal Exam Information”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/trade-profiles/landscape-Ho... -
Level Placement Exam
Source
“Level Placement Exam $200”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manitoba | $18.00 | $21.50 | $27.00 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $21.00 | $30.00 | $40.87 | — |
Landscape horticulturists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/trade-qualifier.... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/discover-apprentice... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/trade-profiles/landscape-Ho... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/newcomers.html · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a landscape horticulturist in Manitoba?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Manitoba. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Manitoba.
Which exams are required?
Certification (final) exam, Red Seal Exam, Level Placement Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.