How to Become a Landscape Horticulturist in Saskatchewan
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Landscape horticulturist is a voluntary trade in Saskatchewan. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Landscape Horticulturist Agriculture, Tourism and Service Sector Red Seal Sub-trade or Endorsement”
From saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Applicants contact the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission to discuss signing up as an apprentice.
Source
“Contact the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission at 1-877-363-0536 to discuss signing up as an apprentice or challenging the interprovincial Landscape Horticulturist examination as a tradesperson.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/landscape-horticulturist-apprenticeship-techn... -
The apprentice completes online technical training courses through the University of Saskatchewan’s Prairie Horticulture Certificate program while working in the trade.
Source
“Rather, technical training will consist of online courses offered through the University of Saskatchewan’s Prairie Horticulture Certificate program. Apprentices will still gain on-the-job experience while working in the Landscape Horticulturist trade”
saskapprenticeship.ca/landscape-horticulturist-apprenticeship-techn... -
Upon completing the apprenticeship, the apprentice writes the interprovincial journeyperson examination.
Source
“upon completion of their apprenticeship, will write the interprovincial journeyperson examination.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/landscape-horticulturist-apprenticeship-techn...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with SATCC
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
Applicants apply through IMMSKILLS to have their foreign documentation assessed for preliminary credit.
Source
“Through IMMSKILLS, clients can apply to have foreign documentation assessed for preliminary credit.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/training-partners -
The Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission completes the final approval of the assessment.
Source
“Final approval is completed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/training-partners
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with SATCC
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan.
Source
“A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...Modified or general math and science classes do not meet the entry requirements for apprenticeship.
Source
“However, “modified” or “general” math and science classes don’t meet entry requirements.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...Completing Grade 12 is recommended but not required for apprenticeship entry.
Source
“While completing Grade 12 is encouraged, it is not a requirement for apprenticeship entry.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan. Source
“Contact the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission at 1-877-363-0536 to discuss signing up as an apprentice or challenging the interprovincial Landscape Horticulturist examination as a tradesperson.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/landscape-horticulturist-apprenticeship-techn...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Exams
-
interprovincial journeyperson examination
Source
“upon completion of their apprenticeship, will write the interprovincial journeyperson examination.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/landscape-horticulturist-apprenticeship-techn...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $15.35 | $24.28 | $36.19 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $21.00 | $30.00 | $40.87 | — |
Landscape horticulturists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Designated Trades | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable · fetched October 11, 2026
- LANDSCAPE HORTICULTURIST APPRENTICESHIP TECHNICAL TRAINING AVAILABLE IN SASKATCHEWAN | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/landscape-horticulturist-apprenticeship-techn... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Training Partners | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/training-partners · fetched October 9, 2026
- Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a landscape horticulturist in Saskatchewan?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Which exams are required?
interprovincial journeyperson examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.