How to Become a Dietitian in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC to work as a dietitian in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- dietitian
Show the source
“Only individuals licensed with the College of Health and Care Professionals may use the title “dietitian” and practise the Restricted Activities stated in the Health and Care Professionals Regulation and the Bylaws.”
From chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 5 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $260 (3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- Annual renewal of certification: $50 (for audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists)
Source
“| Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Dietitians registration renewal fee (2026/2027): $745
Source
“| Dietitians | $745 | $705 | +6% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
- Annual renewal of certification: $50 (for audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $745
-
The applicant creates an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal and selects the appropriate licence class.
Source
“Create an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal. Once you have logged in, select the appropriate licence class.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics -
As part of the online application the applicant uploads two pieces of notarized government-issued photo ID, authorizes a criminal record check, submits proof of professional liability insurance, uploads a Supervision Agreement, and pays the application fee.
Source
“As part of the online application, you will be required to: 1. Upload copies of two pieces of notarized government-issued photo ID (e.g., passport, driver’s licence, healthcare card) 2. Authorize a criminal record check 3. Submit proof of professional liability insurance 4. Upload your Supervision Agreement (PDF) 5. Pay the application fee”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics -
The applicant arranges for their graduate academic transcript to be sent directly to the College.
Source
“- Arrange for your academic transcript (graduate), to be sent directly to the College at [email protected].”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics -
The applicant arranges for their internship verification letter to be sent directly to CHCPBC by email or mail.
Source
“- Arrange for your internship verification letter to be sent directly to CHCPBC, by email or mail.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $745 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Annual renewal of certification: $50 (for audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists)
Source
“| Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Dietitians registration renewal fee (2026/2027): $745
Source
“| Dietitians | $745 | $705 | +6% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Licensed in another province
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $745
-
The applicant completes and submits an application, making sure they are in good standing with their current regulatory body.
Source
“The first step is completing and submitting an application. Please make sure to be in good standing with your current regulatory body prior to applying to CHCPBC (e.g., no outstanding quality assurance, no outstanding fees, no ongoing investigation).”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics -
The applicant requests a Verification of Registration Form (or Labour Mobility Form) and supporting documents from their current regulatory body and any other Canadian regulatory body they have been registered with, sent directly to CHCPBC.
Source
“- Request a Verification of Registration Form (or Labour Mobility Form) and supporting documents from your current regulatory body, to be sent directly to CHCPBC, and from any other Canadian regulatory body you have previously been registered with. Please note that the Verification of Registration Form expires within 30 days of completion.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics -
The applicant uploads scanned copies of two pieces of notarized government-issued photo ID to the online portal.
Source
“- Upload scanned copies of two pieces of notarized government-issued photo ID to the online portal (e.g., passport, driver’s licence, healthcare card).”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics -
The applicant completes the Jurisprudence Examination.
-
The applicant completes payment of fees.
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $745 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Annual renewal of certification: $50 (for audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists)
Source
“| Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Dietitians registration renewal fee (2026/2027): $745
Source
“| Dietitians | $745 | $705 | +6% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $260
- 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- Annual fees: $745
- Listed time: 16 to 45 months (only 4 of 5 steps state a time)
-
The applicant has their academic qualifications verified by an approved third-party agency, which must send the verification directly to CHCPBC.
- Step 1: Verify Credentials: $250
Time: 1 monthTime source
“Step 1 Verify Documents Timeframe: \~ 1 month Cost: \~$250”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dieteticsSource
“Academic qualifications must be verified by an approved third-party agency. The degree must be authentic and show successful completion of an equivalent to a Canadian post-secondary education with a focus in dietetics.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics -
The applicant submits additional courses, self-study courses and continuing education, and full or partial practical training documents to CHCPBC.
- Step 2: Submit documents: $10
Time: 2 monthsTime source
“Step 2 Submit Documents Timeframe: \~ 2 months Cost: \~$10+”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dieteticsSource
“The CHCPBC needs to receive these documents below (via email to [email protected] or mail, where applicable): - Additional university or college level courses - Self-study courses and continuing education - Full practical training - Partial practical training”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics -
The applicant completes assessments as part of the assessment application process.
- Step 3: Assessments: $1,000 (approximate cost of assessments)
Time: 1 to 6 monthsTime source
“Step 3 Assessments Timeframe: \~ 1-6+ months Cost: \~$1,000”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics -
The applicant completes any upgrading requirements determined by the CHCPBC Licence Committee, which must be done within three years.
- Step 4: Upgrading: $1,000 (approximate cost of upgrading)
Source
“Step 4 Upgrading Timeframe widely varies: \~ 1-3 years Cost: \~$1,000+”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics
Time: 1 to 3 yearsTime source
“Step 4 Upgrading Timeframe widely varies: \~ 1-3 years Cost: \~$1,000+”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dieteticsSource
“Final upgrading requirements are determined by CHCPBC Licence Committee. All upgrading must be completed in a span of three years or the process starts anew.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics - Step 4: Upgrading: $1,000 (approximate cost of upgrading)
-
Once all upgrading is completed and verified, the applicant can apply for Provisional licensure with CHCPBC.
- Step 5: Licensure: $1,400 (approximate cost of licensing)
Source
“Once all upgrading is completed and verified, the applicant can apply for Provisional licensure with CHCPBC. Provisional licensees may use the title “Provisional dietitian.””
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $260
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $260 | 100% |
| One-time total | $260 | 100% |
3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
Annual fees: $745 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Annual renewal of certification: $50 (for audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists)
Source
“| Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Dietitians registration renewal fee (2026/2027): $745
Source
“| Dietitians | $745 | $705 | +6% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application for certification: $250 (for audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists)
Source
“| Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Reinstatement of certification: $100 (for audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists)
Source
“| Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Initial application for registration: $380 (for any profession regulated by CHCPBC)
Source
“- One fee of $380 for initial application for registration of any profession regulated by CHCPBC.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Reinstatement of registration: $265 (for any profession regulated by CHCPBC)
Source
“- One fee of $265 for reinstatement of registration for any profession regulated by CHCPBC.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Late renewal fee: $350 (charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew within 30 days of that deadline)
Source
“- A late renewal fee of $350 will be charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Requirements
Education
Internationally educated applicants must complete a post-secondary academic degree equivalent to a Canadian bachelor’s or master’s degree with a focus in dietetics.
Source
“Education: Completion of a post-secondary academic degree equivalent to a Canadian bachelor’s degree or master’s degree with a focus in dietetics.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics
Experience
Practical training in BC is equivalent to 1480 hours, or approximately 10 months full time, in clinical nutrition, population and public health, management or food systems administration, and electives or research.
Source
“In BC, practical training is equivalent to 1480 hours, or approximately 10 months full time, in the areas of Clinical Nutrition in hospital, Population and Public Health in the community, Management or Food Systems Administration, and Electives or Research.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics
Police check
Applicants must authorize a criminal record check as part of the online application.
Insurance
Applicants must submit proof of professional liability insurance as part of the online application.
Good character
Dietitians registered in other Canadian colleges must be in good standing with their current regulatory body before applying to CHCPBC.
Source
“Please make sure to be in good standing with your current regulatory body prior to applying to CHCPBC (e.g., no outstanding quality assurance, no outstanding fees, no ongoing investigation).”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
A dietitian licensed with another Canadian dietetics regulator can apply directly to CHCPBC, providing verification of registration, notarized ID, the jurisprudence exam, and fees. Source
“A dietitian who is licensed with another Canadian dietetics regulator can apply directly to CHCPBC.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics
Submit application
Request verification of registration
Source
“- Request a Verification of Registration Form (or Labour Mobility Form) and supporting documents from your current regulatory body, to be sent directly to CHCPBC, and from any other Canadian regulatory body you have previously been registered with.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dieteticsUpload notarized ID
Source
“- Upload scanned copies of two pieces of notarized government-issued photo ID to the online portal (e.g., passport, driver’s licence, healthcare card).”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dieteticsComplete jurisprudence exam
Pay fees
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Exams
-
Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination (CDRE)
Source
“The Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination (CDRE) is the national examination that tests the necessary knowledge, skills, attitudes, and judgment required to practice dietetics competently at the entry level.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics -
Jurisprudence Examination
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $32.85 | $44.00 | $50.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.53 | $41.63 | $50.00 | — |
Dietitians in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Dietetics | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/applicants/dietetics · fetched October 10, 2026
- Questions and answers about the CHCPBC Fee Restructuring Project | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a dietitian in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC is required to practise in British Columbia, and to use the title dietitian.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination (CDRE), Jurisprudence Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.