At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
  • Full practising licence annual fee: $370 (for the full licensing year (April 1 - March 31))
    Source
    “Annual licensing fees (April 1-March 31) are $370.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd
  • Full practising licence half-year fee: $185 (if you register after October 1)
    Source
    “If you register after October 1, the licensing fee is $185.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd
  • Temporary licence fee: $30.85 (per month, to a max of 3 months)
    Source
    “Temporary licenses are $30.85 per month, to a max of 3 months.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/become-rd-faq
  • Re-licensing late fee: $50 (when licence renewals are received after March 31)
    Source
    “A $50 fee is charged when SCD licence renewals are received after March 31.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/become-rd-faq

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $370 (for the full licensing year (April 1 - March 31)), $185 (if you register after October 1), $30.85 (per month, to a max of 3 months), $50 (when licence renewals are received after March 31)
  1. Complete the SCD online application form and pay the application fee.

    • Application fee: $105 (for graduates of Canadian accredited programs and registrants of other Canadian dietetic regulatory bodies)
      Source
      “The application fee for registrants of other Canadian dietetic regulatory bodies and graduates of Canadian accredited programs is $105.”
      saskdietitians.org/become-rd
    Source
    “SCD has an online application form and payment process which can be accessed here.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd
  2. Arrange for official transcripts of your dietetic education to be sent directly to SCD from the university.

    Source
    “Official transcripts must be sent directly to SCD electronically or by mail at Box 277, Rosetown, SK S0L 2V0 from the university where you completed your dietetic education or the Canadian dietetic regulatory body with whom you are currently licensed.”
    saskdietitians.org/application-form
  3. Have confirmation of completion of your practical training sent directly to SCD from the program coordinator.

    Source
    “Confirmation of completion of practical training must be sent directly to SCD electronically or by mail at Box 277, Rosetown, SK S0L 2V0 from program coordinator or the Canadian dietetic regulatory body with whom you are currently licensed.”
    saskdietitians.org/application-form
  4. Provide an original, current criminal record check completed within the last six months directly to SCD.

    Source
    “an original, current (within six months) criminal record check must be shared electronically or mailed directly to SCD at Box 277, Rosetown, SK S0L 2V0 or sent directly to the Registrar if done through an online service (eg. www.mybackcheck.com).”
    saskdietitians.org/application-form
  5. If you have not yet written and passed the CDRE, apply for a restricted licence and pay the exam fee to be pre-registered for the next exam session.

    • CDRE exam fee: $600 (for Dietitian Candidates writing the CDRE)
      Source
      “Dietitian Candidates will be required to complete the CDRE registration form and pay the $600 exam fee which is not included in your application or licensing fees.”
      saskdietitians.org/become-rd/become-rd-faq
    Source
    “If this is your initial registration with a regulatory body and you have not yet written and passed the CDRE, you will be applying for a restricted licence.”
    saskdietitians.org/application-form
  6. After your restricted licence is approved, schedule and write the Canadian Dietetic Registration Exam.

    Source
    “Once SCD has approved your restricted licence, you will be provided with information on how to schedule your exam.”
    saskdietitians.org/application-form
  7. After successfully passing the exam, the restricted member receives a Full Practicing License.

    Source
    “With successful completion of the exam, a restricted member will receive a Full Practicing License, and can call him/herself a Registered Dietitian (RD) or Professional Dietitian(P.Dt.).”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/become-rd-faq

Listed fees for this route

2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Full practising licence annual fee: $370 (for the full licensing year (April 1 - March 31))
    Source
    “Annual licensing fees (April 1-March 31) are $370.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd
  • Full practising licence half-year fee: $185 (if you register after October 1)
    Source
    “If you register after October 1, the licensing fee is $185.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd
  • Temporary licence fee: $30.85 (per month, to a max of 3 months)
    Source
    “Temporary licenses are $30.85 per month, to a max of 3 months.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/become-rd-faq
  • Re-licensing late fee: $50 (when licence renewals are received after March 31)
    Source
    “A $50 fee is charged when SCD licence renewals are received after March 31.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/become-rd-faq

Licensed in another province

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $370 (for the full licensing year (April 1 - March 31)), $185 (if you register after October 1), $30.85 (per month, to a max of 3 months), $50 (when licence renewals are received after March 31)
  • Listed time: 0.2 to 0.3 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
  1. Complete the SCD application form and indicate which jurisdictions you are currently licensed in, authorizing SCD to verify your registration.

    • Application fee: $105 (for registrants of other Canadian dietetic regulatory bodies)
      Source
      “The application fee for registrants of other Canadian dietetic regulatory bodies and graduates of Canadian accredited programs is $105.”
      saskdietitians.org/become-rd
    Source
    “you will need to fill out the SCD application form and indicate which jurisdiction(s) you are currently licensed in. This will authorize SCD to contact that regulatory body to obtain a verification of registration.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/applicants-currently-licensed-elsewher...
  2. Pay the required fees and submit a current police information check completed within the last six months.

    Source
    “In addition to submitting the application form and paying the fees, you are required to submit a current (within six months) police information check.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/applicants-currently-licensed-elsewher...
  3. Allow 7-10 days for the paperwork to be completed.

    Time: 7 to 10 days
    Time source
    “Please allow 7-10 days for the paperwork to be completed.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/applicants-currently-licensed-elsewher...
    Source
    “Please allow 7-10 days for the paperwork to be completed.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/applicants-currently-licensed-elsewher...
  4. Do not resign from your current dietetic regulatory body until you receive notification from SCD that you have been licensed.

    Source
    “Do not resign from the dietetic regulatory body where you are currently licensed until you have received notification from SCD that you have been licensed.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/applicants-currently-licensed-elsewher...

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Full practising licence annual fee: $370 (for the full licensing year (April 1 - March 31))
    Source
    “Annual licensing fees (April 1-March 31) are $370.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd
  • Full practising licence half-year fee: $185 (if you register after October 1)
    Source
    “If you register after October 1, the licensing fee is $185.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd
  • Temporary licence fee: $30.85 (per month, to a max of 3 months)
    Source
    “Temporary licenses are $30.85 per month, to a max of 3 months.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/become-rd-faq
  • Re-licensing late fee: $50 (when licence renewals are received after March 31)
    Source
    “A $50 fee is charged when SCD licence renewals are received after March 31.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/become-rd-faq

Trained outside Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $370 (for the full licensing year (April 1 - March 31)), $185 (if you register after October 1), $30.85 (per month, to a max of 3 months), $50 (when licence renewals are received after March 31)
  1. Before the assessment, review the Canadian Dietetic Practice Orientation and Self-Assessment Tool to understand the entry to practice competencies.

    Source
    “Before proceeding with the substantial equivalence assessment, review the Canadian Dietetic Practice Orientation and Self-Assessment Tool website.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/internationally-trained-dietitians
  2. Contact the Registrar to find out about the assessment process for applicants trained outside approved dietetic education programs.

    Source
    “Contact the Registrar to find out about the assessment process for applicants trained outside of approved dietetic education programs.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/become-rd-faq
  3. Undergo an assessment of the substantial equivalency of your dietetic education and receive a written copy with individualized recommendations.

    • Application fee: $400 (for internationally trained dietitians who require a substantial equivalence assessment)
      Source
      “The application fee for those who require a substantial equivalence assessment to determine registration eligibility is $400.”
      saskdietitians.org/become-rd
    Source
    “You will be provided with a written copy of your assessment that will include individualized recommendations specific to you.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/internationally-trained-dietitians
  4. If your training is not substantially equivalent, complete any academic or experiential upgrading recommended in your assessment.

    Source
    “Dietetic education received outside of an approved program will be assessed to determine substantial equivalence.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/registration-requirements
  5. Once eligibility is established, apply for registration and write the Canadian Dietetic Registration Exam like other applicants.

    Source
    “All applicants to SCD must meet the same registration requirements to be issued a licence to practice as a Dietitian in Saskatchewan.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/internationally-trained-dietitians

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Full practising licence annual fee: $370 (for the full licensing year (April 1 - March 31))
    Source
    “Annual licensing fees (April 1-March 31) are $370.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd
  • Full practising licence half-year fee: $185 (if you register after October 1)
    Source
    “If you register after October 1, the licensing fee is $185.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd
  • Temporary licence fee: $30.85 (per month, to a max of 3 months)
    Source
    “Temporary licenses are $30.85 per month, to a max of 3 months.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/become-rd-faq
  • Re-licensing late fee: $50 (when licence renewals are received after March 31)
    Source
    “A $50 fee is charged when SCD licence renewals are received after March 31.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/become-rd-faq

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Experience

Police check

  • You must submit a current criminal record check completed within the last six months.

    Source
    “an original, current (within six months) criminal record check must be shared electronically or mailed directly to SCD at Box 277, Rosetown, SK S0L 2V0 or sent directly to the Registrar if done through an online service (eg. www.mybackcheck.com).”
    saskdietitians.org/application-form

Good character

  • You must demonstrate good character and reputation through a declaration, a current police information check and, if applicable, details of your licensing history.

    Source
    “Good Character and Reputation: The applicant must be able to demonstrate good character and reputation. This involves a declaration at the time of application, submission of a current police information check and if applicable providing details on past/current licensing history.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/registration-requirements

Other

  • Your academic and practical training must have been obtained within three years of the date of application, or you may need upgrading.

    Source
    “Currency: Academic and practical training must be obtained within three years of the date of application. Beyond three years, the applicant may be required to undertake academic and/or experiential upgrading to be eligible for registration.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/registration-requirements
  • You must demonstrate fluency in English at a professional level, or proficiency if your dietetic education was not in English.

    Source
    “English Language: Fluency in English at the professional level is required to ensure language is not a barrier for the applicant to practice dietetics in Saskatchewan.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/registration-requirements

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

A dietitian currently licensed with a dietetic regulatory body in another Canadian province can become licensed in Saskatchewan by filling out the SCD application form, paying the fees and submitting a current police information check, with no mention of retaking the CDRE or a competence assessment.

Source
“If you are a dietitian who is currently licensed with a dietetic regulatory body in another Canadian province and want to become licensed in Saskatchewan, you will need to fill out the SCD application form and indicate which jurisdiction(s) you are currently licensed in.”
saskdietitians.org/become-rd/applicants-currently-licensed-elsewher...

  1. Fill out SCD application form

    Source
    “you will need to fill out the SCD application form and indicate which jurisdiction(s) you are currently licensed in.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/applicants-currently-licensed-elsewher...
  2. Pay fees and submit police check

    Source
    “In addition to submitting the application form and paying the fees, you are required to submit a current (within six months) police information check.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/applicants-currently-licensed-elsewher...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Dietitians Association

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Dietitians Association

Exams

  • Canadian Dietetic Registration Exam (CDRE)

    Source
    “Canadian Dietetic Registration Exam (CDRE): The CDRE is a four-hour, computerized, multiple choice examination designed to test practice-based knowledge, application, and critical thinking skills required to competently and safely practice dietetics.”
    saskdietitians.org/become-rd/registration-requirements

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Dietitians Association

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Dietitians Association

Supervised practice

Required

Applicants who have not yet passed the CDRE must hold a restricted licence and may practise dietetics up to 12 weeks after writing the CDRE.

Source
“A restricted Licence entitles the individual to use the designation Graduate Dietitian, Professional Dietitian (Candidate), Registered Dietitian (Candidate), RD (candidate) or P.Dt. (candidate) and to practice dietetics up to 12 weeks after the Member has written the CDRE.”
saskdietitians.org/become-rd/become-rd-faq

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Saskatchewan and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Saskatchewan $38.75 $42.00 $48.00 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $22.53 $41.63 $50.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Saskatchewan

Wages in every province and territory

Dietitians in other provinces and territories

Compare dietitian licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Becoming an RD in Saskatchewan saskdietitians.org/become-rd · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Application Form saskdietitians.org/application-form · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Registration FAQ saskdietitians.org/become-rd/become-rd-faq · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Out of Province Dietitians saskdietitians.org/become-rd/applicants-currently-licensed-elsewher... · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Internationally Trained Dietitians saskdietitians.org/become-rd/internationally-trained-dietitians · fetched October 10, 2026
  6. Registration Requirements saskdietitians.org/become-rd/registration-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a dietitian in Saskatchewan?

Yes. Registration with the Saskatchewan Dietitians Association is required to practise in Saskatchewan.

Which exams are required?

Canadian Dietetic Registration Exam (CDRE).

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.