Province comparison
Dietitian Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Licence required
- Alberta: Licence required
- Saskatchewan: Licence required
- Manitoba: Licence required
- Ontario: Licence required
- Quebec: Licence required
- New Brunswick: Licence required
- Nova Scotia: Licence required
- Prince Edward Island: Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Licence required
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $1,260 | Trained outside Canada | 0 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| New Brunswick | $4,120 | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 4 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination (CDRE), Jurisprudence Examination | — | $1,260 (Trained outside Canada) | 16 to 45 months (partial) | $44.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination (CDRE), Foundational Knowledge Examination, Practice Competency Examination, Multiple Mini Interviews | — | Not listed | — | $46.24 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Dietetic Registration Exam (CDRE) | — | Not listed | — | $42.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained outside Canada | Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination (CDRE), Foundational Knowledge Examination (FKE), Practice Competency Examination (PCE), Multiple Mini Interview (MMI) | — | Not listed | 1.8 months (partial) | $34.36 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained outside Canada | Knowledge and Competency Assessment Tool (KCAT), Performance-Based Assessment (PBA), Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination (CDRE) | — | Not listed | 1 to 1.2 months (partial) | $42.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination (CDRE), Knowledge and Competency Assessment Tool (KCAT), Performance-Based Assessment (PBA) | TOEFL iBT 79 overall | $4,120 (Trained outside Canada) | 1 month (partial) | $40.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination (CDRE), KCAT, PBA | — | Not listed | — | $41.94 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Trained in Canada | Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination | — | Not listed | — | $40.38 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination (CDRE) | — | Not listed | — | $40.00 an hour | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (45)
- Not stated (45)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $22.53 | $41.63 | $50.00 |
| British Columbia | $32.85 | $44.00 | $50.00 |
| Alberta | $32.22 | $46.24 | $57.46 |
| Saskatchewan | $38.75 | $42.00 | $48.00 |
| Manitoba | $29.50 | $34.36 | $45.00 |
| Ontario | $20.00 | $42.00 | $50.00 |
| Quebec | $26.75 | $40.00 | $50.00 |
| New Brunswick | $20.00 | $40.00 | $46.00 |
| Nova Scotia | $28.89 | $41.94 | $53.94 |
| Prince Edward Island | $30.77 | $40.38 | $44.00 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $25.00 | $40.00 | $46.00 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Good (4 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.