At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“Candidates for certification are eligible to become certified members either by passing the certification exam or through our mentorship program.”
ctinb.nb.ca/en/become-a-member/membership-application

Licensed in another province

No separate route for this group.

Source
“As in the case of certification by examination, CTTIC member associations recognize members who have been certified on dossier.”
ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/certifications

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“Please note that the CTINB is not in a position to organize exams outside Canada.”
ctinb.nb.ca/en/become-a-member/membership-application

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • Mentorship program cost: $725
    Source
    “The cost to the participant is $725.”
    ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/certifications
  • Certification exam registration fee: $725
    Source
    “The registration fee for the certification exam is $725.00 (CTTIC taxes and CTINB management fees included).”
    ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/certifications
  • Seal (pre-inked stamp): $120
    Source
    “The total cost of the seal is $120.”
    ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/seal
  • Seal deposit: $30 (refunded when the member ceases to be a member in good standing and returns the seal)
    Source
    “To obtain it the certified member pays a $30 deposit and agrees to return the seal in the event he or she ceases to be a member in good standing of the CTINB. The initial deposit is then refunded.”
    ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/seal

Requirements

Education

  • A translator may become a candidate for certification by holding a university degree in translation or a related field, or by passing an admission examination set or recognized by the Board.

    Source
    “- holds a university degree in translation or a related field, or - passes an admission examination set or recognized by the Board for translators”
    ctinb.nb.ca/en/become-a-member/membership-application

Experience

  • To register for the certification exam or join the mentorship program, a candidate must have either a university degree in translation or a related field plus at least two years of relevant full-time experience (or 200,000 words translated in the past two years), or at least four years of proven, relevant full-time experience (or 400,000 words translated within the last four years).

    Source
    “a. university degree in translation or a related field and at least two years of relevant full-time experience or the equivalent of 200,000 words translated in the past two years; OR b. at least four years of proven, relevant full-time experience or the equivalent of 400,000 words translated within the last four years.”
    ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/certifications
  • The mentorship program is open to any CTINB candidate for certification who has at least two years' work experience in translation.

    Source
    “The mentorship program is open to any CTINB candidate for certification who has at least two years' work experience in translation.”
    ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/certifications
  • Certification on dossier targets professionals with at least five years of attested full-time experience, or a diploma in translation, interpretation or terminology plus at least two years' full-time experience.

    Source
    “This certification method targets professionals who have been practicing for a number of years and who have at least five years of attested full-time experience in their profession or who have a diploma in translation, interpretation or terminology and at least two years’ full-time experience in their profession.”
    ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/certifications

Other

  • Only CTINB members in good standing who have paid their dues are eligible to register for the certification exam.

    Source
    “In New Brunswick, only CTINB members in good standing (i.e., those who have paid their dues) are eligible to register for the certification exam.”
    ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/certifications
  • New candidates for certification must have applied for membership status at least six months prior to the exam registration deadline.

    Source
    “new candidates for certification must have applied for this membership status at least six months prior to the exam registration deadline established by the CTINB.”
    ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/certifications
  • To submit a dossier, the candidate must be admitted as an associate member of the CTINB.

    Source
    “in order to be able to submit a dossier, the candidate has to be admitted as an associate member of the CTINB.”
    ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/certifications

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in New Brunswick.

Source
“As in the case of certification by examination, CTTIC member associations recognize members who have been certified on dossier.”
ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/certifications

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Corporation of Translators, Terminologists and Interpreters of New Brunswick

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Corporation of Translators, Terminologists and Interpreters of New Brunswick

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Corporation of Translators, Terminologists and Interpreters of New Brunswick

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Corporation of Translators, Terminologists and Interpreters of New Brunswick

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Corporation of Translators, Terminologists and Interpreters of New Brunswick

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Certified translators in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Title protected
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare certified translator licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Titles - CTINB ctinb.nb.ca/en/about-us/titles · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Membership Application - CTINB ctinb.nb.ca/en/become-a-member/membership-application · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Certifications - CTINB ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/certifications · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Seal - CTINB ctinb.nb.ca/en/members/seal · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a certified translator in New Brunswick?

Yes. Registration with the Corporation of Translators, Terminologists and Interpreters of New Brunswick is required to practise in New Brunswick, and to use the title certified translator or CT.

Which exams are required?

CTTIC Certification Exam, Admission examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.