Licence status by province and territory

Where certified translators need a licence
Quebec: Title protectedNew Brunswick: Licence required

Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.

  • Licence required
  • Title protected
  • Not confirmed yet
  • British Columbia: Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta: Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario: Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec: Title protected
  • New Brunswick: Licence required
  • Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon: Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Certified translator: licence status, regulator and guide in each jurisdiction
WhereLicence statusRegulatorGuide
British Columbia Not confirmed yet — —
Alberta Not confirmed yet — —
Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet — —
Manitoba Not confirmed yet — —
Ontario Not confirmed yet — —
Quebec Title protected Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec Read the guide for Quebec
New Brunswick Licence required Corporation of Translators, Terminologists and Interpreters of New Brunswick Read the guide for New Brunswick
Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet — —
Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet — —
Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet — —
Yukon Not confirmed yet — —
Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet — —
Nunavut Not confirmed yet — —

Compare the provinces

Listed one-time fees

Listed one-time fees for certified translators by province and territoryListed fees in Quebec: $325, for people trained outside Canada. Listed fees in New Brunswick: not listed.$0$100$200$300$400Listed fees in Quebec: $325, for people trained outside CanadaQuebec$325Listed fees in New Brunswick: not listedNew BrunswickNot listed
The fees the regulator lists for the steps of one route, added up in Canadian dollars. Fees that depend on your situation and annual fees are not included. Not listed: the guide lists no fee for that route. No-fee steps: steps of that route with no listed fee.
Listed one-time fees for certified translators by province and territory (table)
WhereFeesRouteNo-fee steps
Quebec$325Trained outside Canada4
New BrunswickNot listed——

Listed time

Time not stated for every step: Quebec and New Brunswick.

Side by side

Routes, exams, language, listed fees and time, median wage and outlook in each province or territory with a full guide
WhereRoutesExamsLanguage Listed feesListed timeMedian wageOutlook
Quebec Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada The French exam — $325 (Trained outside Canada) 1 to 4 months (partial) — —
New Brunswick — CTTIC Certification Exam, Admission examination — Not listed — — —

Moving between provinces

Certified translator: moving a licence between provinces and territories
  • Extra steps (1)
  • Not stated (1)
All answers as a table
Certified translator: moving a licence between provinces and territories. Rows: licensed in; columns: moving to.
Licensed in / moving toQuebecNew Brunswick
QuebecSame placeNot stated, Quebec to New Brunswick
New BrunswickExtra steps, New Brunswick to QuebecSame place

Check one move in the licence transfer checker

Tools and tables

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.