At a glance

Licence status
Title protected See the source
Routes

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $510
  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 1 to 4 months (only 1 of 5 steps state a time)
  1. You check whether your degree is on the list of OTTIAQ-recognized degrees, and if it is not, you apply for degree or training equivalency.

    Source
    “Check whether your degree is on the list of OTTIAQ-recognized degrees. If it isn’t, you’ll need to apply for degree or training equivalency.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
  2. You log in to the portal to pay the application fee and submit your application online.

    Source
    “You’ll need to log in to the portal to pay the application fee and submit your application online.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
  3. OTTIAQ and the Certification Committee review your application in the order it was received and notify you by email of the decision.

    Time: 1 to 4 months
    Time source
    “Processing times vary from one week (recognized degree) to four months (equivalencies).”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
    Source
    “Your application will be reviewed by OTTIAQ and the Certification Committee.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
  4. If your application is accepted, you take the required online course on ethics, professional conduct, and professional practice.

    Source
    “If your application is accepted, you’ll receive a notice inviting you to take the course on ethics, professional conduct, and professional practice, which is required for all new members.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
  5. Once approved and having completed the ethics training, you register on the membership roll and pay your membership dues.

    Source
    “Once you have been approved and have completed the training on ethics, professional conduct and professional practice, you must register on the membership roll and pay your membership dues.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $510

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $370 73%
Exams $140 27%
One-time total $510 100%

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $325
  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 1 to 4 months (only 1 of 5 steps state a time)
  1. OTTIAQ evaluates your degree to see if it can be considered equivalent to a Quebec degree.

    Source
    “OTTIAQ must evaluate your degree to see if it can be considered equivalent to a Quebec degree.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
  2. You log in to the portal to pay the application fee and submit your application online.

    Source
    “You’ll need to log in to the portal to pay the application fee and submit your application online.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
  3. OTTIAQ and the Certification Committee review your application in the order it was received and notify you by email of the decision.

    Time: 1 to 4 months
    Time source
    “Processing times vary from one week (recognized degree) to four months (equivalencies).”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
    Source
    “Your application will be reviewed by OTTIAQ and the Certification Committee.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
  4. If your application is accepted, you take the required online course on ethics, professional conduct, and professional practice.

    Source
    “If your application is accepted, you’ll receive a notice inviting you to take the course on ethics, professional conduct, and professional practice, which is required for all new members.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
  5. Once approved and having completed the ethics training, you register on the membership roll and pay your membership dues.

    Source
    “Once you have been approved and have completed the training on ethics, professional conduct and professional practice, you must register on the membership roll and pay your membership dues.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $325

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $185 57%
Exams $140 43%
One-time total $325 100%

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $325
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 1 to 4 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
  1. If you gained your experience outside Canada, you are recommended to use OTTIAQ's self-assessment tool for internationally educated professionals.

    Source
    “If you gained your experience outside Canada, we recommend that you take a look at our self-assessment tool for internationally educated professionals who wish to obtain OTTIAQ’s Certified Translator designation.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
  2. If you do not have a recognized Quebec degree or an equivalent degree, you apply for training equivalency.

    Source
    “If you don’t have a recognized Quebec degree or a translation degree considered equivalent to a Quebec degree, you’ll need to apply for training equivalency.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
  3. You log in to the portal to pay the application fee and submit your application online.

    Source
    “You’ll need to log in to the portal to pay the application fee and submit your application online.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
  4. OTTIAQ and the Certification Committee review your application in the order it was received and notify you by email of the decision.

    Time: 1 to 4 months
    Time source
    “Processing times vary from one week (recognized degree) to four months (equivalencies).”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
    Source
    “Your application will be reviewed by OTTIAQ and the Certification Committee.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
  5. If your application is accepted, you take the required online course on ethics, professional conduct, and professional practice.

    Source
    “If your application is accepted, you’ll receive a notice inviting you to take the course on ethics, professional conduct, and professional practice, which is required for all new members.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member
  6. Once approved and having completed the ethics training, you register on the membership roll and pay your membership dues.

    Source
    “Once you have been approved and have completed the training on ethics, professional conduct and professional practice, you must register on the membership roll and pay your membership dues.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $325

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $185 57%
Exams $140 43%
One-time total $325 100%

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • You must have a recognized Quebec degree, a degree considered equivalent to a Quebec degree, or apply for degree or training equivalency.

    Source
    “If you don’t have a recognized Quebec degree or a translation degree considered equivalent to a Quebec degree, you’ll need to apply for training equivalency.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member

Insurance

  • Professionals are required to have professional liability insurance.

    Source
    “Professionals are required to have professional liability insurance.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members

Other

  • Candidates must have appropriate knowledge of French to be granted an OTTIAQ designation.

    Source
    “Pursuant to Section 35 of the Charter of the French Language, candidates must have appropriate knowledge of French to be granted an OTTIAQ designation.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

OTTIAQ must evaluate a translation degree from another province to see if it can be considered equivalent to a Quebec degree.

Source
“OTTIAQ must evaluate your degree to see if it can be considered equivalent to a Quebec degree.”
ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member

  1. Degree evaluated for equivalence

    Source
    “OTTIAQ must evaluate your degree to see if it can be considered equivalent to a Quebec degree.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

  • Training equivalency

    For applicants without a recognized or equivalent Quebec degree.

    Source
    “If you don’t have a recognized Quebec degree or a translation degree considered equivalent to a Quebec degree, you’ll need to apply for training equivalency.”
    ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Certified translators in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Licence required
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare certified translator licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Having skills acquired abroad recognized if your trade or profession is regulated in Québec | Gouvernement du Québec quebec.ca/en/immigration/reconnaissance-etudes-experience/faire-rec... · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Becoming a member - OTTIAQ ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Application fees - OTTIAQ ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member/application-review-fees · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Ethics course - OTTIAQ ottiaq.org/en/future-members/becoming-a-member/ethics-course · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Future members - OTTIAQ ottiaq.org/en/future-members · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a certified translator in Quebec?

No. Only the title is protected in Quebec. Registration with Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec is needed to use the title traducteur agréé, traductrice agréée or Certified Translator.

Which exams are required?

The French exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.