How to Become an Audiologist and Speech-language Pathologist in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists to work as an audiologist and speech-language pathologist in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- speech-language pathologist, audiologist
Show the source
“Registration is mandatory. As a speech-language pathologist or audiologist, you must register with ACSLPA before working/volunteering and using these professional titles in Alberta.”
From acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/application-area, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 7 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Retired/Honourary Renewal: $50
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $50
-
Fill out and submit the online application form along with the required declarations.
Source
“Complete the online application form and declarations.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi... -
Ask your university to send an official transcript confirming the dates you received your Clinical Masters directly to ACSLPA.
Source
“To show evidence of competence to practice, have your university send an official transcript confirming the date(s) on which you received your Clinical Masters directly to ACSLPA.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi... -
Email a current reference letter to ACSLPA using the college's reference request form to show good character and reputation.
Source
“To show evidence of good character and reputation, email a current reference letter to ACSLPA . Please use ACSLPA’s Reference Request Form”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi... -
Have an original Police Information Check shared with ACSLPA digitally by your local police service or mailed to ACSLPA.
Source
“To show evidence of good character and reputation, have an original Police Information Check (PIC) digitally shared with ACSLPA by your local police service or, if your local police service is not setup to share digital PICs with ACSLPA, have your original PIC mailed to ACSLPA.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi... -
When completing the online application form, provide information about your professional liability insurance that meets ACSLPA's requirements.
Source
“When completing the online application form, provide information about your Professional Liability Insurance that meets ACSLPA’s requirements.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi... -
Pay the application fee after submitting the form, and pay the registration and practice permit fees once the application is approved.
Source
“Application Fee – This fee will appear in the application portal for payment once your application form is submitted.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ACSLPA
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Retired/Honourary Renewal: $50
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $50
-
Request a letter verifying your regulatory history from each regulator with which you have been registered.
Source
“Provide a letter verifying your regulatory history from each regulator with which you have been registered. Please contact your previous regulator(s) and request a verification of registration”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l... -
Fill out and submit the online application form along with the required declarations.
Source
“Complete the online application form and declarations.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l... -
Have an original Police Information Check shared with ACSLPA digitally by your local police service or mailed to ACSLPA.
Source
“To show evidence of good character and reputation, have an original Police Information Check (PIC) digitally shared with ACSLPA by your local police service or, if your local police service is not setup to share digital PICs with ACSLPA, have your original PIC mailed to ACSLPA.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l... -
When completing the online application form, provide information about your professional liability insurance that meets ACSLPA's requirements.
Source
“When completing the online application form, provide information about your Professional Liability Insurance that meets ACSLPA’s requirements.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l... -
Pay the application fee after submitting the form, and pay the registration and practice permit fees once the application is approved.
Source
“Application Fee – This fee will appear in the application portal for payment once your application form is submitted.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l... -
If you are registered in a province where the official language is French or both French and English, provide evidence of English language proficiency if you have not already done so in another Canadian province.
Source
“Are you registered in a province where the official language is French or both French and English? You must provide evidence of English language proficiency if you have not already provided evidence of English language proficiency in another Canadian province.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ACSLPA
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Retired/Honourary Renewal: $50
Trained outside Canada
0 of 7 done
- 7 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $50
-
Source
“Complete the online application form and declarations.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o... -
Have the universities where you obtained your undergraduate and graduate degrees send official transcripts confirming your clinical degree dates directly to ACSLPA.
Source
“To facilitate determining whether your coursework is substantially equivalent to a Canadian accredited program, have the universities where you obtained your undergraduate and graduate degrees send an official transcript confirming the date(s) on which you received your Clinical degree(s) directly to ACSLPA.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o... -
Have an original Police Information Check shared with ACSLPA digitally by your local police service or mailed to ACSLPA; you may request an interim registration decision before providing it.
Source
“To show evidence of good character and reputation, have an original Police Information Check (PIC) digitally shared with ACSLPA by your local police service or, if your local police service is not setup to share digital PICs with ACSLPA, have your original PIC mailed to ACSLPA.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o... -
When completing the online application form, provide information about your professional liability insurance that meets ACSLPA's requirements; you may request an interim registration decision before providing it.
Source
“When completing the online application form, provide information about your Professional Liability Insurance that meets ACSLPA’s requirements.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o... -
Pay the application fee and credential assessment fee after submitting the form, and pay the registration and practice permit fees once the application is approved.
Source
“Credential Assessment Fee – This fee will appear in the application portal for payment once your application form is submitted.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o... -
If you have ever worked or been registered as an audiologist or SLP anywhere, submit a completed Currency Hours Reporting Form showing hours practiced over the previous five years.
Source
“To show evidence of meeting ACSLPA’s competence and currency hour requirements, submit a completed Currency Hours Reporting Form providing the number of hours you have practiced over the previous five (5) years.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o... -
Applicants trained outside of a Canadian accredited program must pass an approved entry-to-practice examination.
Source
“Applicants trained outside of a Canadian accredited program seeking to become a Registered Speech-Language Pathologist (R.SLP) or Audiologist (R.Aud) in Alberta must pass an approved entry-to-practice examination.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ACSLPA
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Retired/Honourary Renewal: $50
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Practice Permit fee: $49
Source
“Practice Permit fee: $49.00 x the number of months remaining in the year”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered
Requirements
Education
You need a master's degree from an approved speech-language pathology program or an approved equivalent completed within the last 3 years.
Source
“A master’s degree from an approved speech-language pathology program or an approved equivalent completed within the last 3 years”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/speech-language-p...
Experience
You need at least 350 hours of supervised clinical practice hours as part of your educational program.
Source
“At least 350 hours of supervised clinical practice hours as part of your educational program”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/speech-language-p...
Police check
You must provide an original Police Information Check to show evidence of good character and reputation.
Source
“To show evidence of good character and reputation, have an original Police Information Check (PIC) digitally shared with ACSLPA by your local police service”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o...
Insurance
You must have professional liability insurance that meets ACSLPA's requirements in place to be registered, volunteer, or work in Alberta.
Source
“You are not able to be registered, volunteer, or work as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist in Alberta without having PLI in place.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered
Good character
You must provide a current reference letter to show evidence of good character and reputation.
Source
“To show evidence of good character and reputation, email a current reference letter to ACSLPA”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
An applicant registered with a practice permit on the equivalent of ACSLPA's General Register in another province can apply through the Canadian Labour Mobility stream by providing verification of registration, an application form, a police information check, liability insurance and fees, with no entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment required. Source
“An applicant registered with a practice permit on the equivalent of ACSLPA’s General Register in another province (e.g., not provisionally registered).”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA
Language tests
| Test | Overall | Listening | Reading | Writing | Speaking | CLB | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OET | — | — | — | — | — | 9 | Source“OET and TOEFL equivalencies are mapped to the IELTS CLB 9 equivalency charts as these tests are not currently accepted by IRCC.”acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered |
| TOEFL | — | — | — | — | — | 9 | Source“OET and TOEFL equivalencies are mapped to the IELTS CLB 9 equivalency charts as these tests are not currently accepted by IRCC.”acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered |
Exemptions: New applicants can show English proficiency by graduating from a CACUP-accredited English language program or by completing at least three years of full-time post-secondary education in English. Source
“Completion of studies in English. Proficiency is confirmed if the applicant has completed at least three years of full-time post-secondary education in English”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA
Supervised practice
Not required
If you do not meet ACSLPA's currency hour requirement, you may be required to complete a period of supervised practice or additional requirement. Source
“If you do not meet ACSLPA’s currency hour requirement, you may be required to complete a period of supervised practice or additional requirement.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o...
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $32.05 | $55.00 | $64.66 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $33.33 | $46.15 | $59.52 | — |
Audiologists and speech-language pathologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare audiologist and speech-language pathologist licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Application Area - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/application-area · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Stream: New Canadian Graduate - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Stream: Canadian Labour Mobility - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Stream: Graduate of ASHA - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apply to Become Registered - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered · fetched October 10, 2026
- Speech-Language Pathologist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/speech-language-p... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Stream: Graduate of CACUP - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as an audiologist and speech-language pathologist in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists is required to practise in Alberta, and to use the title speech-language pathologist or audiologist.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.