How to Become an Audiologist and Speech-language Pathologist in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario to work as an audiologist and speech-language pathologist in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- audiologist, speech-language pathologist
Show the source
“To practice in Ontario as an audiologist or a speech-language pathologist, you must be registered with the College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario (CASLPO).”
From caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps
- Annual fees
-
- General annual fee: $780 (the General fee)
Source
“The difference between the General fee ($780) and the Non-Practising fee ($390), which is $390.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Non-Practising annual fee: $390 (the Non-Practising fee)
Source
“The difference between the General fee ($780) and the Non-Practising fee ($390), which is $390.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Certificate of Authorization renewal: $500 (to renew a Certificate of Authorization)
Source
“To renew a Certificate of Authorization , the annual fee is $500.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/professional-corporations
- General annual fee: $780 (the General fee)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $780 (the General fee), $390 (the Non-Practising fee), $500 (to renew a Certificate of Authorization)
-
You must pass the Canadian Entry to Practice Exam.
Source
“Have passed the Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam and either:”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... -
Source
“Completed 750 hours of patient care or related work outside Ontario within the past three years or within three years of earning their degree in audiology or speech-language pathology, or”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... -
As the alternative option after the exam, you must have successfully completed six months of mentored practice in Ontario.
Source
“Successfully completed six months of mentored practice in Ontario.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... -
Applicants with a professional master’s degree in audiology or speech-language pathology can apply for a general certificate.
Source
“Applicants with a professional master’s degree in audiology or speech-language pathology can apply for a general certificate if they:”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- General annual fee: $780 (the General fee)
Source
“The difference between the General fee ($780) and the Non-Practising fee ($390), which is $390.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Non-Practising annual fee: $390 (the Non-Practising fee)
Source
“The difference between the General fee ($780) and the Non-Practising fee ($390), which is $390.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Certificate of Authorization renewal: $500 (to renew a Certificate of Authorization)
Source
“To renew a Certificate of Authorization , the annual fee is $500.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/professional-corporations
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $780 (the General fee), $390 (the Non-Practising fee), $500 (to renew a Certificate of Authorization)
-
You apply as a Labour Mobility applicant using the College's online process.
Source
“Applying as a *Labour Mobility* applicant with the College is now an online process.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
You must provide a completed Verification of Employment form from your employer or colleague outside Ontario verifying your practice outside Ontario.
Source
“To verify your currency of practice, a completed Verification of Employment (VOE) form from your employer or colleague outside of Ontario verifying your practice outside Ontario is sufficient.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
You must have a Verification of Registration form sent directly to the College from every jurisdiction where you currently or previously held registration.
Source
“To verify your good standing, a completed Verification of Registration (VOR) form must be submitted from all of the jurisdictions where you currently or have previously held registration or licensure as a speech-language pathologist or an audiologist or where you hold or have previously held registration or licensure in another health profession.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
You must pay all applicable Ontario fees.
Source
“Pay all applicable Ontario fees.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
You must obtain professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO requirements.
Source
“Obtain professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO requirements”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
Before beginning practice in Ontario, you must confirm your registration status on the Public Register.
Source
“Before beginning practice in Ontario, confirm your registration status by searching your name or registration number on the Public Register.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- General annual fee: $780 (the General fee)
Source
“The difference between the General fee ($780) and the Non-Practising fee ($390), which is $390.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Non-Practising annual fee: $390 (the Non-Practising fee)
Source
“The difference between the General fee ($780) and the Non-Practising fee ($390), which is $390.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Certificate of Authorization renewal: $500 (to renew a Certificate of Authorization)
Source
“To renew a Certificate of Authorization , the annual fee is $500.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/professional-corporations
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application fee (status change to Non-Practising): $150 (for the change)
Source
“There is a $150 application fee for the change.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Application fee (mid-year status change): $150 (if you change your status after November 1st)
Source
“However, if you change your status after November 1st, you will be required to pay a $150 application fee and the difference between the general and non-practising annual fees (i.e., $390).”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Certificate of Authorization application fee: $100 (for the Certificate of Authorization)
Source
“An application fee for the Certificate of Authorization of $100.00;”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/professional-corporations - Certificate of Authorization registration fee: $200
Source
“A registration fee of $200.00;”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/professional-corporations
Requirements
Education
You must have a professional master’s degree in audiology or speech-language pathology that satisfies the Academic Equivalency Framework.
Source
“You must have a professional master’s degree in audiology or speech-language pathology which satisfies the requirements outlined in the Academic Equivalency Framework (AEF) for audiology and speech-language pathology.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Experience
General registrants must provide 750 hours of patient care or related work over the previous three-year period.
Source
“General registrants must provide 750 hours of patient care or related work in audiology or speech-language pathology over the previous three-year period.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...To return to a General Certificate, you must have accumulated at least 750 hours of patient care or related work within the three years prior to applying for reinstatement.
Source
“Have accumulated at least 750 hours of patient care or related work in audiology or speech-language pathology within the three years prior to applying for reinstatement of your General Certificate.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Insurance
You must obtain professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO requirements.
Source
“Obtain professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO requirements”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...You must maintain professional liability insurance that covers practice in the secondary province.
Source
“Maintain professional liability insurance (PLI) that covers practice in the secondary province.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/cross-provincial-practic...You must maintain professional liability insurance coverage of at least two million dollars per claim.
Source
“Maintain professional liability insurance coverage of at least two million dollars per claim.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Good character
You must declare any past denials of registration, offences, professional misconduct findings, or current proceedings related to your practice.
Source
“You must declare if you have ever been denied registration by a health regulatory body, found guilty of any offences or professional misconduct, or are currently involved in a proceeding related to your practise as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...You must declare any physical or mental condition that could affect your ability to practise safely.
Source
“You must declare if you suffer from any physical or mental condition or disorder that could affect your ability to practise audiology or speech-language pathology in a safe manner.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...You must provide information about your professional conduct so the College can determine your suitability to practise in Ontario.
Source
“Suitability to Practise – You must provide information about your professional conduct so the College can determine your suitability to practise in Ontario.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...You must provide evidence that all current licences or registrations are in good standing and any past ones were in good standing when held.
Source
“Provide evidence that all current licences or registrations are in good standing and any past licences or registration were in good standing when held”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...You must meet the CPP “good standing” requirements in your primary province.
Source
“Meet the CPP “good standing” requirements in your primary province.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/cross-provincial-practic...
Other
You must be a Canadian citizen, a permanent resident of Canada, or otherwise authorized under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act to practise in Ontario.
Source
“You must be a Canadian citizen, a permanent resident of Canada or authorized under the *Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (Canada)* to engage in practice of audiology or speech-language pathology in Ontario.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...You must successfully complete the Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam.
Source
“You must successfully complete the Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...You must demonstrate proficiency in English or French if you did not complete your professional master’s degree in either language.
Source
“You must demonstrate your proficiency in English or French if you did not complete your professional master’s degree in either English or French.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...Labour mobility applicants must provide evidence that they have practised audiology or speech-language pathology within the past three years outside of Ontario.
Source
“Currency of Practice – You must provide evidence that you have practised audiology or speech-language pathology within the past three years outside of Ontario.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...You must be registered as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist in a regulated Canadian province.
Source
“Be registered as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist in a regulated Canadian province”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...You must provide proof of eligibility to work in Canada.
Source
“Provide proof of eligibility to work in Canada”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...You must provide proof that you have practised within the three years before submitting your application.
Source
“Provide proof that you have practised within the three years before submitting your application”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...To be eligible as a CPP applicant, you must be registered as a fully practising Speech-Language Pathologist or Audiologist in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, or New Brunswick.
Source
“Be registered as a fully practising Speech-Language Pathologist or Audiologist in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, or New Brunswick.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/cross-provincial-practic...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Audiologists and speech-language pathologists licensed in another Canadian province are considered to have met the education and training requirements for an equivalent certificate in Ontario without additional assessment. Source
“Under the principle of certificate-to-certificate recognition, audiologists and speech-language pathologists licensed in another Canadian province are considered to have met the education and training requirements for an equivalent certificate of registration in Ontario.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
Exams
-
Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam
Source
“You must successfully complete the Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
Exemptions: You must demonstrate proficiency in English or French if you did not complete your professional master’s degree in either English or French. Source
“You must demonstrate your proficiency in English or French if you did not complete your professional master’s degree in either English or French.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Canadian experience
Applicants must have completed at least 750 hours of patient care or related work within the past three years. Source
“You must have completed at least 750 hours of patient care or related work as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist withi n the past three years.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Supervised practice
Not required
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $29.00 | $46.70 | $59.35 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $33.33 | $46.15 | $59.52 | — |
Audiologists and speech-language pathologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare audiologist and speech-language pathologist licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Apply to the College - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college · fetched October 10, 2026
- General Certificate - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Professionals from Other Regulated Provinces - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Cross Provincial Practice Certificate - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/cross-provincial-practic... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Non-Practising Certificate - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Professional Corporations - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/professional-corporations · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an audiologist and speech-language pathologist in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario, and to use the title audiologist or speech-language pathologist.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.