How to Become an Audiologist and Speech-language Pathologist in Manitoba
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Manitoba to work as an audiologist and speech-language pathologist in Manitoba or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Audiologist, Speech-Language Pathologist
Show the source
“To practice as an Audiologist or a Speech-Language Pathologist in Manitoba, individuals must be registered and hold a valid Certificate of Practice from the College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Manitoba (CASLPM).”
From caslpm.ca/new-applicationshow-to-register/ait-grads, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $950
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $150
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement (Full and Provisional Regulated Registration): $950
Source
“Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement Expires December 31 annually Full and Provisional Regulated Registration $950.00”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule - Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement (Non-Practicing Regulated Registration): $411
- Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement (Inactive/Retired Regulated Associate Registration): $105
- Prorated Annual Fee for New Registration (January to June): $950 (for new registrations from January to June)
- Prorated Annual Fee for New Registration (July to December): $475 (provisional registration only, July to December)
- Advanced Competency Certificate Renewal (two or more competencies): $120 (for renewal of two or more competencies)
- Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement (Full and Provisional Regulated Registration): $950
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $950
- Annual fees: $1,466
-
The applicant proceeds to the second step of the application process, the Certificate of Registration.
- Initial Certificate of Registration (Full, Provisional, and Non-Practicing Regulated Registration): $411
Source
“Initial Certificate of Registration Full, Provisional, and Non-Practicing Regulated Registration $411.00”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule
- Initial Certificate of Registration (Full, Provisional, and Non-Practicing Regulated Registration): $411
-
The applicant completes the third step of the application process, the Certificate of Practice.
- Initial Certificate of Practice (Full and Provisional Regulated Registration): $539
Source
“Initial Certificate of Practice Full and Provisional Regulated Registration Expires December 31 annually $539.00”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule
- Initial Certificate of Practice (Full and Provisional Regulated Registration): $539
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $950
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Registration | $950 | 100% |
| One-time total | $950 | 100% |
Annual fees: $1,466 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement (Full and Provisional Regulated Registration): $950
Source
“Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement Expires December 31 annually Full and Provisional Regulated Registration $950.00”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule - Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement (Non-Practicing Regulated Registration): $411
- Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement (Inactive/Retired Regulated Associate Registration): $105
- Prorated Annual Fee for New Registration (January to June): $950 (for new registrations from January to June)
- Prorated Annual Fee for New Registration (July to December): $475 (provisional registration only, July to December)
- Advanced Competency Certificate Renewal (two or more competencies): $120 (for renewal of two or more competencies)
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $150
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,466
-
The applicant reviews the Labour Mobility Applicants Full Registration Checklist before applying.
Source
“Labour Mobility Applicants – Full Registration Checklist”
caslpm.ca/new-applicationshow-to-register/labour-mobility -
The applicant begins the registration process by submitting the Labour Mobility application online with the College.
- Application Fee: $150
Source
“To begin the registration process with the College: apply here”
caslpm.ca/new-applicationshow-to-register/labour-mobility
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $150
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $150 | 100% |
| One-time total | $150 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,466 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement (Full and Provisional Regulated Registration): $950
Source
“Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement Expires December 31 annually Full and Provisional Regulated Registration $950.00”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule - Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement (Non-Practicing Regulated Registration): $411
- Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement (Inactive/Retired Regulated Associate Registration): $105
- Prorated Annual Fee for New Registration (January to June): $950 (for new registrations from January to June)
- Prorated Annual Fee for New Registration (July to December): $475 (provisional registration only, July to December)
- Advanced Competency Certificate Renewal (two or more competencies): $120 (for renewal of two or more competencies)
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,466
-
The internationally educated applicant pays the assessment fee as part of the application process.
- Assessment Fee: $1,350 (for internationally educated applicants)
-
The applicant completes the three-step online application process consisting of the initial application, the Certificate of Registration, and the Certificate of Practice.
Source
“The online application process is divided into three steps, each with its own associated fee:”
caslpm.ca/new-applicationshow-to-register/ait-grads
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,466 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement (Full and Provisional Regulated Registration): $950
Source
“Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement Expires December 31 annually Full and Provisional Regulated Registration $950.00”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule - Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement (Non-Practicing Regulated Registration): $411
- Certificate of Practice Renewal or Reinstatement (Inactive/Retired Regulated Associate Registration): $105
- Prorated Annual Fee for New Registration (January to June): $950 (for new registrations from January to June)
- Prorated Annual Fee for New Registration (July to December): $475 (provisional registration only, July to December)
- Advanced Competency Certificate Renewal (two or more competencies): $120 (for renewal of two or more competencies)
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Advanced Competency Certificate Initial Registration and single competency renewal: $60 (must be a Full Regulated Registrant to hold Advanced Competencies)
Source
“Advanced Competency Certificate Initial Registration and Renewal, valid for three (3) years Must be a Full Regulated Registrant to hold Advanced Competencies $60.00 per competency registration and single competency renewal”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule - Application to Transfer Registration Category: $150 (other than at annual renewal)
Source
“Application to Transfer Registration Category Full, Provisional, and Non-Practicing Regulated Registration other than at annual renewal $150.00”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule - Cross Provincial Practice Restricted Purpose Application Fee: $100 (for Cross Provincial Practice Restricted Purpose Regulated Registration)
Source
“Cross Provincial Practice Restricted Purpose Regulated Registration Application Fee $100.00”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule - Cross Provincial Practice Certificate of Registration: $40
- Cross Provincial Practice Certificate of Practice: $60
- Request for Verification of Registration: $50
- Request for Name Change: $50
- Issuing copies of documents from Registrant's file: $20 (up to 25 pages, $1/page thereafter)
Source
“Issuing copies of documents from Registrant's file Up to 25 pages, $1/page thereafter $20.00”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule - Payment declined, NSF, unauthorized: $50 (applicable to all payment methods)
Source
“Payment declined, NSF, unauthorized Applicable to all payment methods $50.00”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule - Payment made by any means other than online: $20 (e.g. cheque)
- Administration Fee: $20 (at Registrar's discretion)
- Onsite Practice Audit: $500 (does not apply to registrants randomly selected or volunteering for a Practice Audit)
Source
“Onsite Practice Audit Does not apply to registrants randomly selected or volunteering for a Practice Audit per CASLPM General Regulation Section 6.11(1) $500.00”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule - Remediation Plan - One Cycle: $100 (per hour, no charge for first ten hours)
Source
“Remediation Plan - One Cycle No charge for first ten (10) hours $100.00/hr”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule - Health Profession Corporations Application and Initial Permit: $150
- Non-Compliance Fee: $50 (Per incomplete process, information, document, or form)
Source
“Non-Compliance Fee<br>Per incomplete process, information, document, or form including failure to provide information requested by the College, <br> failure to complete Jurisprudence Module<br> Failure to complete Continuing Competency Requirements | $50.00”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule - Non-Compliance Fee (Failure to complete Continuing Competency Requirements): $200 (Failure to complete Continuing Competency Requirements)
Source
“Failure to complete Continuing Competency Requirements | $50.00<br> <br> <br> <br> $200.00”
caslpm.ca/fee-schedule
Requirements
Experience
Full-regulated members must provide 1250 hours of patient care or related work in audiology or speech-language pathology over the previous five-year period.
Source
“Full-regulated members must provide 1250 hours of patient care or related work in audiology or speech-language pathology over the previous five-year period.”
caslpm.ca/registrant-login/registrant-resources/faq
Insurance
Registrants must maintain Professional Liability Insurance coverage that meets the minimum requirements set out by the College.
Source
“Maintain Professional Liability Insurance coverage that meets the minimum requirements as set out by the College;”
caslpm.ca/general-information
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Audiologists and speech-language pathologists in good standing with a full registration in another Canadian regulatory body can apply to practice in Manitoba through the Labour Mobility application as a Full Regulated Registrant. Source
“Registered Audiologists and Registered Speech-Language Pathologists who are in good standing with a full registration in another Canadian regulatory body, can apply to practice in Manitoba through the Labour Mobility application as a Full Regulated Registrant.”
caslpm.ca/new-applicationshow-to-register/labour-mobility
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CASLPM
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CASLPM
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with CASLPM
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with CASLPM
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CASLPM
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with CASLPM
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manitoba | $21.00 | $47.50 | $56.59 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $33.33 | $46.15 | $59.52 | — |
Audiologists and speech-language pathologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare audiologist and speech-language pathologist licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- General Information caslpm.ca/new-applicationshow-to-register/ait-grads · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fee Schedule caslpm.ca/fee-schedule · fetched October 10, 2026
- Labour Mobility caslpm.ca/new-applicationshow-to-register/labour-mobility · fetched October 10, 2026
- College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Manitoba caslpm.ca/general-information · fetched October 10, 2026
- Frequently Asked Questions caslpm.ca/registrant-login/registrant-resources/faq · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as an audiologist and speech-language pathologist in Manitoba?
Yes. Registration with the College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Manitoba is required to practise in Manitoba, and to use the title Audiologist or Speech-Language Pathologist.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.