How to Become an Audiologist and Speech-language Pathologist in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC to work as an audiologist and speech-language pathologist in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Speech-Language Pathologist
Show the source
“To practise as a Speech-Language Pathologist (SLP) in British Columbia, you must hold a licence with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC (CHCPBC).”
From chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $380
- Annual fees
-
- Registration renewal fee (audiologists): $770
Source
“| Audiologists | $770 | $1,075 | -28% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Registration renewal fee (speech-language pathologists): $1,000
Source
“| Speech-Language Pathologists | $1,000 | $1,075 | -7% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Annual renewal of certification: $50 (for audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists)
Source
“| Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Late renewal fee: $350 (charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline)
Source
“A late renewal fee of $350 will be charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Audiologists: 2025-2026 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,075
Source
“| Audiologists | +13% | $950 | $1,075 | March 31, 2025 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/02/13/questions-and-answers-about-chcpbc-fees - Speech–Language Pathologists: 2025-2026 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,075
Source
“| Speech–Language Pathologists | +13% | $950 | $1,075 | March 31, 2025 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/02/13/questions-and-answers-about-chcpbc-fees
- Registration renewal fee (audiologists): $770
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,920
-
After your master's degree has been conferred, arrange to have your official master's program transcripts sent directly from the university to CHCPBC by email or by mail.
Source
“After your master’s degree has been conferred (i.e., awarded), arrange to have your official master’s program transcripts sent directly from the university to CHCPBC, either by email to [email protected] or by mail to CHCPBC.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology -
Complete the criminal record check, with payment accepted by credit card in the Licensee Portal.
Source
“2. Criminal record check Payment is accepted by credit card (Visa or Mastercard) in the Licensee Portal.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology -
Create an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal and submit your application with the required documents ready.
Source
“Graduates of recognized Canadian speech language pathology programs, as outlined in the College Bylaws, may apply for licensure as a speech-language pathologist (SLP) by having the documents listed below ready and creating an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal to submit your application.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology -
After you submit your application, staff conduct an initial review and, if satisfactory, submit it to the Registrar for final approval.
Source
“After you have submitted your application, staff will conduct an initial review of the application. The sooner all of your required documentation is received by CHCPBC, the sooner the College can process your application. If satisfactory, your application will be submitted to the Registrar for final approval.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,920 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Registration renewal fee (audiologists): $770
Source
“| Audiologists | $770 | $1,075 | -28% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Registration renewal fee (speech-language pathologists): $1,000
Source
“| Speech-Language Pathologists | $1,000 | $1,075 | -7% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Annual renewal of certification: $50 (for audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists)
Source
“| Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Late renewal fee: $350 (charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline)
Source
“A late renewal fee of $350 will be charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Audiologists: 2025-2026 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,075
Source
“| Audiologists | +13% | $950 | $1,075 | March 31, 2025 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/02/13/questions-and-answers-about-chcpbc-fees - Speech–Language Pathologists: 2025-2026 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,075
Source
“| Speech–Language Pathologists | +13% | $950 | $1,075 | March 31, 2025 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/02/13/questions-and-answers-about-chcpbc-fees
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,920
-
Have the required documents ready, including verification of licensure from all other regulators, and create an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal to submit your application.
Source
“To apply, have the documents listed below ready and create an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal to submit your application. 1. Verification of Licensure from all other regulators”
chcpbc.org/applicants/audiology -
After you submit your application, staff conduct an initial review and, if satisfactory, submit it to the Registrar for final approval.
Source
“After you have submitted your application, staff will conduct an initial review of the application. The sooner all of your required documentation is received by CHCPBC, the sooner the College can process your application. If satisfactory, your application will be submitted to the Registrar for final approval.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology -
New licensees who transferred to BC under labour mobility must complete the College's Jurisprudence and Client Consent online learning courses before renewing their licensure in BC.
Source
“Note that all new licensees who have transferred to BC under labour mobility must complete the College’s Jurisprudence and Client Consent online learning courses before renewing their licensure in BC.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/audiology
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,920 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Registration renewal fee (audiologists): $770
Source
“| Audiologists | $770 | $1,075 | -28% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Registration renewal fee (speech-language pathologists): $1,000
Source
“| Speech-Language Pathologists | $1,000 | $1,075 | -7% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Annual renewal of certification: $50 (for audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists)
Source
“| Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Late renewal fee: $350 (charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline)
Source
“A late renewal fee of $350 will be charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Audiologists: 2025-2026 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,075
Source
“| Audiologists | +13% | $950 | $1,075 | March 31, 2025 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/02/13/questions-and-answers-about-chcpbc-fees - Speech–Language Pathologists: 2025-2026 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,075
Source
“| Speech–Language Pathologists | +13% | $950 | $1,075 | March 31, 2025 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/02/13/questions-and-answers-about-chcpbc-fees
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $380
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,920
- Listed time: 1.8 to 2.5 months (only 2 of 3 steps state a time)
-
Submit the assessment fee and required supporting documentation, after which your education, clinical training, and/or professional practice experience will be reviewed by the Licence Committee.
Time: 6 to 8 weeksTime source
“Estimated timeline: Approximately 6–8 weeks after all required documentation and fees have been received.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathologySource
“Once the assessment fee and required supporting documentation have been received, your education, clinical training, and/or professional practice experience will be reviewed by the Licence Committee.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology -
If the Licence Committee determines you have demonstrated substantial equivalency, submit an online application through your CHCPBC Portal, pay the Application Fee of $380, and submit additional documentation required for licensure.
- Application Fee: $380
Source
“Pay the Application Fee of $380 in accordance with the *CHCPBC Fee Schedule*; and”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Time: 2 to 3 weeksTime source
“Estimated timeline: Approximately 2–3 weeks after all required documentation and fees have been received.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/audiologySource
“If your equivalency assessment is complete and the Licence Committee determines that you have demonstrated substantial equivalency to the entry-to-practice requirements in British Columbia, you may be eligible to apply for licensure as a Speech-Language Pathologist with CHCPBC and will be invited to: - Submit an online application through your CHCPBC Portal; - Pay the Application Fee of $380 in accordance with the *CHCPBC Fee Schedule*; and - Submit additional documentation required for licensure, including but not limited to:”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology - Application Fee: $380
-
Once all licensure requirements have been met, you will be invited to pay the applicable licence fee through the CHCPBC Portal, and upon receipt of the licence fee CHCPBC will issue an approval email confirming your licensure status.
Source
“Once all licensure requirements have been met, you will be invited to pay the applicable licence fee outlined in the *CHCPBC Fee Schedule* through the CHCPBC Portal. Upon receipt of the licence fee, CHCPBC will issue an approval email confirming your licensure status.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/audiology
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $380
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $380 | 100% |
| One-time total | $380 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,920 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Registration renewal fee (audiologists): $770
Source
“| Audiologists | $770 | $1,075 | -28% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Registration renewal fee (speech-language pathologists): $1,000
Source
“| Speech-Language Pathologists | $1,000 | $1,075 | -7% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Annual renewal of certification: $50 (for audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists)
Source
“| Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Late renewal fee: $350 (charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline)
Source
“A late renewal fee of $350 will be charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Audiologists: 2025-2026 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,075
Source
“| Audiologists | +13% | $950 | $1,075 | March 31, 2025 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/02/13/questions-and-answers-about-chcpbc-fees - Speech–Language Pathologists: 2025-2026 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,075
Source
“| Speech–Language Pathologists | +13% | $950 | $1,075 | March 31, 2025 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/02/13/questions-and-answers-about-chcpbc-fees
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application for certification: $250 (for audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists)
Source
“| Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Reinstatement of certification: $100
Source
“| Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Initial application for registration: $380 (one fee for initial application for registration of any profession regulated by CHCPBC)
Source
“One fee of $380 for initial application for registration of any profession regulated by CHCPBC.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Requirements
Education
You may be eligible to apply for licensure as an SLP if you completed a post-secondary speech-language pathology program and completed education and clinical training that meets or exceeds the requirements set out in Schedule 8 of the CHCPBC Bylaws.
Source
“You may be eligible to apply for licensure as an SLP under the CHCPBC Bylaws, effective April 1, 2026, if you: - completed a post-secondary speech-language pathology program; and - completed education and clinical training that meets or exceeds the requirements set out in Schedule 8 of the [CHCPBC Bylaws]”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Police check
Applicants must submit a criminal record check, including a criminal record check outside of Canada if applicable.
Source
“criminal record check outside of Canada (if applicable)”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Insurance
Applicants must submit professional liability insurance documentation.
Source
“professional liability insurance documentation”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Other
Passing an approved CHCPBC entry-to-practice examination is a mandatory requirement under the CHCPBC Bylaws for Full licensure as a Speech-Language Pathologist.
Source
“Passing an approved CHCPBC entry-to-practice examination is a mandatory requirement under the CHCPBC Bylaws for Full licensure as a Speech-Language Pathologist (SLP).”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathologySuccessful completion of one of the approved entry-to-practice examinations for audiology is required for Full licensure.
Source
“Successful completion of one of the approved entry-to-practice examinations for audiology is required for Full licensure.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/audiologyLabour mobility applicants must be currently authorized to practise, so those holding non-practising licensure are ineligible.
Source
“Labour mobility applicants must be currently authorized to practise, therefore those holding non-practising licensure are ineligible.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/audiologyLabour mobility applicants must be in good standing with the relevant regulatory body in their jurisdiction.
Source
“Full licensure to practise in BC to speech-language pathologists (SLPs) with an equivalent licensure status in another Canadian jurisdiction, who are in good standing with the relevant regulatory body in that jurisdiction and who meet the licensure requirements set out below; and”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
The College grants full licensure to speech-language pathologists with equivalent licensure status in another Canadian jurisdiction who are in good standing, but new licensees who transferred under labour mobility must complete the College's Jurisprudence and Client Consent online learning courses before renewing their licensure in BC. Source
“Note that all new licensees who have transferred to BC under labour mobility must complete the College’s Jurisprudence and Client Consent online learning courses before renewing their licensure in BC.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/audiology
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Exams
-
CETP Exam
Source
“CETP Exam Speech-Language & Audiology Canada (SAC) administers the CETP Examination.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Supervised practice
Required
Once your Provisional Licence has been issued, you must practise under the supervision of a College-approved supervisor. Source
“Once your Provisional Licence has been issued, you must practise under the supervision of a College-approved supervisor.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $38.46 | $47.00 | $75.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $33.33 | $46.15 | $59.52 | — |
Audiologists and speech-language pathologists in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare audiologist and speech-language pathologist licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Speech-Language Pathology | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology · fetched October 10, 2026
- Audiology | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/applicants/audiology · fetched October 10, 2026
- Questions and answers about the CHCPBC Fee Restructuring Project | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Questions and answers about CHCPBC fees | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/2025/02/13/questions-and-answers-about-chcpbc-fees · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an audiologist and speech-language pathologist in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC is required to practise in British Columbia, and to use the title Speech-Language Pathologist.
Which exams are required?
CETP Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.