How to Become a Nurse Practitioner in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Registered Nurses of Alberta to work as a nurse practitioner in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Call themselves nurse practitioners or NPs”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-practitioner, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps (3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $750
- Annual fees
-
- Permit (full year): $483
Source
“Full Year Permits that are issued for the full year, which include annual renewals. $483.00”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... - Permit (full year): $504
Source
“Full Year Permits that are issued for the full year, which including annual renewals. $504.00”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees... - Courtesy Registration Status permit: $241.50 (a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason)
Source
“Courtesy Registration Status A permit issued to a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason. $241.50”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... - Courtesy Registration Status permit: $252 (a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason)
Source
“Courtesy Registration Status A permit issued to a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason. $252.00”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees...
- Permit (full year): $483
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $987
-
You must first go through the Pathways to a Permit tool, which recommends an application pathway based on your situation, to create an account.
- Account Creation: $183.75 (required fee to create an account with the CRNA; virtual care accounts are exempt)
Source
“Account Creation This is the required fee to create an account with the CRNA. If you already have an account, you do not need to pay again. Virtul care accounts are exempt from the one-time creation fee. $183.75”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-...
Source
“To create an account, you must go through our Pathways to a Permit tool first. It will recommend an application pathway based on your situation.”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs... - Account Creation: $183.75 (required fee to create an account with the CRNA; virtual care accounts are exempt)
-
Your nursing education program must submit a confirmation of program completion form to the CRNA on your behalf.
Source
“Graduates from all Canadian NP programs will need their nursing education program to submit a confirmation of program completion form on their behalf.”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/post-seco... -
You must complete the jurisprudence and Protecting Patients from Sexual Abuse and Misconduct courses and confirm your drugs and controlled substances education.
Source
“Confirm drugs and controlled substances (CDS) education”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs... -
You must take the registration exam for your stream of practice.
Source
“Take the registration exam”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs... -
You must purchase professional liability protection as part of the application.
Source
“Purchase professional liability protection”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs... -
You make payment through the options provided and review your application to confirm its accuracy.
- Non-refundable application assessment: $236.25 (if you are not already a registrant)
Source
“$236.25 for a non-refundable application assessment by the CRNA if you are not already a registrant*”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs... - Permit: $504 (once your application is complete and you are not already a registrant)
Source
“$504 for your permit once your application is complete and you are not already a registrant*”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs...
Source
“Make payment through convenient options provided Review your application and confirm its accuracy”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs... - Non-refundable application assessment: $236.25 (if you are not already a registrant)
Listed fees for this route
3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $987 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Permit (full year): $483
Source
“Full Year Permits that are issued for the full year, which include annual renewals. $483.00”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... - Permit (full year): $504
Source
“Full Year Permits that are issued for the full year, which including annual renewals. $504.00”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees... - Courtesy Registration Status permit: $241.50 (a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason)
Source
“Courtesy Registration Status A permit issued to a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason. $241.50”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... - Courtesy Registration Status permit: $252 (a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason)
Source
“Courtesy Registration Status A permit issued to a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason. $252.00”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees...
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $987
-
In the application, you enter details about your current jurisdiction so the regulatory body can confirm you hold a current permit in good standing.
Source
“A verification of registration is confirmation from a regulatory body that you have a current permit in good standing. In the application, you will enter details about your current jurisdiction.”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/post-seco... -
You do not need to submit any documents for this application type.
Source
“You do not need to submit any documents.”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/post-seco...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CRNA
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $987 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Permit (full year): $483
Source
“Full Year Permits that are issued for the full year, which include annual renewals. $483.00”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... - Permit (full year): $504
Source
“Full Year Permits that are issued for the full year, which including annual renewals. $504.00”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees... - Courtesy Registration Status permit: $241.50 (a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason)
Source
“Courtesy Registration Status A permit issued to a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason. $241.50”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... - Courtesy Registration Status permit: $252 (a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason)
Source
“Courtesy Registration Status A permit issued to a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason. $252.00”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $750
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $987
-
Before starting your application, you review the steps to a permit page, your options for confirming competency, and download the substantial equivalence worksheet.
Source
“Before you start your application, review the steps to a permit page, your options for confirmation competency page and download your copy of the substantial equivalence worksheet.”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/international-applicants -
You create an online account with the NNAS application portal and agree to the Terms and Conditions.
Source
“An application requires you to create an online account with the NNAS application portal. There are five steps to an NNAS application:”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
You provide your information in the NNAS portal, then review and accept the Terms and Conditions and make your payment.
- Main Application (Expedited Service): $750
Source
“Once you have filled out all the necessary information, you will gain access to the payment screen.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
After your payment is verified, you access the document submission screens and submit documents, most of which must be sent to NNAS by third parties.
Source
“After your payment has been verified, you will gain access to the document submission screens. Here, you will be able to download forms and submit certain documents to NNAS.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
You monitor your application status and receive your NNAS Advisory Report, which is sent automatically to the regulatory body you selected.
Source
“Once you receive your Advisory Report, you can apply to the regulatory body of your choice. Your Advisory Report will be sent automatically to the regulatory body (or bodies) you have selected.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
Once you have your Advisory Report, you apply to the regulatory body in the province of your choice.
Source
“Once you receive your Advisory Report, you can apply to the regulatory body in the province of your choice directly from the NNAS portal.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $750
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $750 | 100% |
| One-time total | $750 | 100% |
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $987 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Permit (full year): $483
Source
“Full Year Permits that are issued for the full year, which include annual renewals. $483.00”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... - Permit (full year): $504
Source
“Full Year Permits that are issued for the full year, which including annual renewals. $504.00”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees... - Courtesy Registration Status permit: $241.50 (a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason)
Source
“Courtesy Registration Status A permit issued to a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason. $241.50”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... - Courtesy Registration Status permit: $252 (a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason)
Source
“Courtesy Registration Status A permit issued to a registered Canadian nurse who must practice in Alberta short-term for a specific reason. $252.00”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Permit (May 1 - Sep 30): $290.85
Source
“May 1, 2027 - Sep 30, 2027: $290.85”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... - Permit (Jun 1 - Sep 30): $242.55
Source
“Jun 1, 2027 - Sep 30, 2027: $242.55”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... - Permit (Jul 1 - Sep 30): $193.20
Source
“Jul 1, 2027 - Sep 30, 2027: $193.20”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... - Permit (Aug 1 - Sep 30): $144.90
Source
“Aug 1, 2027 - Sep 30, 2027: $144.90”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... - Permit (Sep 1 - Sep 30): $95.55
Source
“Sep 1, 2027 - Sep 30, 2027: $95.55”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... - Permit (May 1 - Sep 30): $302.40
Source
“May 1, 2026 - Sep 30, 2026: $302.40”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees... - Permit (Jun 1 - Sep 30): $252
Source
“Jun 1, 2026 - Sep 30, 2026: $252.00”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees... - Permit (Jul 1 - Sep 30): $201.60
Source
“Jul 1, 2026 - Sep 30, 2026: $201.60”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees... - Permit (Aug 1 - Sep 30): $151.20
Source
“Aug 1, 2026 - Sep 30, 2026: $151.20”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees... - Permit (Sep 1 - Sep 30): $100.80
Source
“Sep 1, 2026 - Sep 30, 2026: $100.80”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees... - Account Creation: $236.25 (required fee to create an account with the CRNA; virtual care accounts are exempt)
Source
“Account Creation This is the required fee to create an account with the CRNA. If you already have an account, you do not need to pay again. Virtul care accounts are exempt from the one-time creation fee. $236.25”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees... - Late information or requests: $51.75 (information or requests received after the deadlines)
Source
“Information or requests received after the deadlines noted above will result in an additional fee of $51.75.”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/registrat... - Reactivation of expired application: $240
- NNAS document translation: $115 (per page of document translation by NNAS)
- Appeals: $500
Requirements
Education
You must have a master's degree in nursing or a post-master's certificate or diploma from an approved nurse practitioner program.
Source
“A master’s degree in nursing or a post-master’s certificate or diploma from an approved nurse practitioner program”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-practitionerYou must be completing your program within six weeks or have completed an approved entry-level NP program in Canada.
Source
“Be completing your program within six weeks or have completed an approved entry-level NP program in Canada”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs...
Experience
You must have 4,500 hours of experience as a registered nurse.
Source
“4,500 hours of experience as a registered nurse”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-practitionerYou must have reported at least 4,500 RN hours of practice satisfactory to the registrar.
Source
“Have reported at least 4,500 RN hours of practice satisfactory to the registrar”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs...
Insurance
You must purchase professional liability protection.
Source
“Purchase professional liability protection”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs...
Other
You must not have held an NP permit in another Canadian province.
Source
“Have not held an NP permit in another Canadian province”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs...You must receive confirmation that you may start your application from the CRNA.
Source
“Receive confirmation that you may start your application from the CRNA”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs...You must successfully complete the CRNA Jurisprudence courses.
Source
“Successful completion of the CRNA Jurisprudence courses”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-practitionerYou must have an Alberta registered nurse practice permit.
Source
“An Alberta registered nurse practice permit”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-practitionerYou must demonstrate proficiency in speaking, writing, listening, and reading in English.
Source
“You must demonstrate proficiency in speaking, writing, listening, and reading in English.”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/english-l...
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Nurse practitioners registered and in good standing with a regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar. Source
“Nurse practitioners who are registered and in good standing with a regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-practitioner
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CRNA
Credential assessment
NNAS Advisory Report
credential assessment of nursing education for internationally educated applicants
Source
“The NNAS Advisory Report includes all the documents that have been submitted and verified by NNAS and any correspondence you have had with NNAS.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline
Exams
-
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) Examination
Source
“Exam: Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) Examination Administered by: American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Certification Board (AANPCB)”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/registrat... -
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (AGNP) Examination
Source
“Exam: Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (AGNP) Examination Administered by: American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Certification Board (AANPCB)”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/registrat... -
Alberta Neonatal Nurse Practitioner Objective Structured Clinical Examination (NNP-OSCE)
Source
“Exam: Alberta Neonatal Nurse Practitioner Objective Structured Clinical Examination (NNP-OSCE)”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/registrat... -
NCLEX-RN
Source
“Provisional permits allow you to work as a graduate nurse (GN) or graduate nurse practitioner (GNP) under certain conditions while you work to meet the requirement of writing and passing the NCLEX-RN exam.”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs...
Language tests
| Test | Overall | Listening | Reading | Writing | Speaking | CLB | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canadian English Language Benchmark Assessment for Nurses (CELBAN) | — | 9 | 8 | 7 | 8 | — | Source“Completion of Canadian English Language Benchmark Assessment for Nurses (CELBAN) test meeting the following minimum scores: Minimum scores: Listening = 9, Writing = 7, Reading = 8, Speaking = 8.”nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/english-l... |
| International English Language Testing System (IELTS) Academic | 7.0 | 7.0 | 6.5 | 6.5 | 7.0 | — | Source“Completion of International English Language Testing System (IELTS) Academic test meeting the following minimum scores: Minimum scores: Listening = 7.0, Writing = 6.5, Reading = 6.5, Speaking = 7.0, Overall = 7.0.”nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/english-l... |
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CRNA
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with CRNA
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $38.88 | $53.25 | $67.85 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $42.00 | $61.54 | $75.00 | — |
Nurse practitioners in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Nurse Practitioner: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-practitioner · fetched October 9, 2026
- Nurse Practitioners | University Graduate Applicants nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/nurs... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Fee Structure for 2026-2027 nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fee-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Post-Secondary Education Requirement nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/post-seco... · fetched October 10, 2026
- International Applicants nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/international-applicants · fetched October 9, 2026
- Application Process & Timeline - National Nursing Assessment Service nnas.ca/application-process-timeline · fetched October 9, 2026
- Fees - National Nursing Assessment Service nnas.ca/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- English Language Proficiency nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/english-l... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees for 2025-2026 nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/fees/fees... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Exams nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/registrat... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a nurse practitioner in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the College of Registered Nurses of Alberta is required to practise in Alberta.
Which exams are required?
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) Examination, Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (AGNP) Examination, Alberta Neonatal Nurse Practitioner Objective Structured Clinical Examination (NNP-OSCE), NCLEX-RN.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.