How to Become a Nurse Practitioner in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the BC College of Nurses and Midwives to work as a nurse practitioner in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- nurse practitioner
Show the source
“You are not authorized to practice as a nurse practitioner in British Columbia until we send you an email confirming your registration.”
From bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $265
- Licensed in another province: 0 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 7 steps, listed one-time fees $690
- Annual fees
-
- Practising NP: $1,131.50
- Provisional NP: $1,131.50
- Practising NP: $867.42
- Provisional NP: $867.42
- Non-practising NP: $109.80
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $265
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $4,107.64
-
New graduates must first qualify for RN licensure with BCCNM before their NP licensure can be considered, unless they already hold RN licensure with BCCNM.
Source
“New graduates must qualify for RN licensure with BCCNM before they can be considered for NP licensure.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/Canadian_grads/P... -
Complete the application form for new graduates of B.C./Canada, provide details about the NP education program and registration exam taken, and submit it with all supporting documents.
Source
“Submit your application and all supporting documents to [email protected].”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/Canadian_grads/P... -
After submitting all required documents and information, the applicant is sent instructions to pay the application fee.
- B.C. NP application assessment: $265
Source
“B.C. NP application assessment | $265”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx
Source
“Once you have submitted all required documents and information, we will send you instruction to pay your application fee.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/Canadian_grads/P... - B.C. NP application assessment: $265
-
Applicants may apply for provisional licensure to work while meeting final registration requirements such as passing the regulatory exam, and practising licensure is granted once BCCNM receives confirmation of successful completion of the written exam.
Source
“Provisional licensure is granted to eligible applicants who want to work while meeting their final registration requirements (such as passing the regulatory exam).”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/Canadian_grads/P... -
If all requirements are met the applicant becomes eligible for practising NP licensure, and those without provisional licensure are sent instructions to pay the registration fee.
Source
“If you do not have provisional licensure, you will be sent instructions to pay your registration fee.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/Canadian_grads/P...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $265
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $265 | 100% |
| One-time total | $265 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $4,107.64 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Practising NP: $1,131.50
- Provisional NP: $1,131.50
- Practising NP: $867.42
- Provisional NP: $867.42
- Non-practising NP: $109.80
Licensed in another province
- Annual fees: $4,107.64
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with BCCNM
Trained outside Canada
0 of 7 done
- Listed one-time fees: $690
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $4,107.64
-
The applicant reviews the "who should apply" section and confirms they are eligible to apply.
Source
“Review the "who should apply" section above and confirm you are eligible to apply.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau... -
Applicants must qualify for RN licensure with BCCNM before they can be considered for NP licensure, and may submit the NP application while the RN application is being processed.
Source
“Applicants must qualify for RN licensure with BCCNM before they can be considered for NP licensure.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau... -
The applicant completes the application for NP registration for internationally educated applicants, providing details about their NP education program and licensing exam, and submits it with all supporting documents.
Source
“You'll be asked to provide details about your NP education program, and licensing exam taken (if applicable).”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau... -
After submitting all required documents and information, the applicant is sent instructions to pay the application fee.
- International NP application assessment: $690
Source
“International NP application assessment | $690”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx
Source
“Once you have submitted all required documents and information, we will send you instruction to pay your application fee.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau... - International NP application assessment: $690
-
The applicant must have the Certification Board or nursing regulator where they took the exam send their successful exam result directly to BCCNM.
Source
“We need a copy of your successful exam result. Please request that the Certification Board or nursing regulator in the province where you took the exam send your exam result directly to BCCNM at [email protected].”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau... -
If the applicant meets the requirements they become eligible for practising NP registration, and those without provisional registration are sent instructions to pay the registration fee.
Source
“If you meet the requirements, you will be eligible for practising NP registration.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau... -
BCCNM holistically reviews the competency assessment report, education, identity, language proficiency, licensing history, and practice experience to decide whether the applicant meets the substantial equivalency standard, and identifies transitional education or experience if gaps exist.
Source
“BCCNM will review competency assessment report, education, identity, language proficiency, licensing history, and practice experience holistically to determine whether the applicant meets the substantial equivalency eligibility standard.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $690
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $690 | 100% |
| One-time total | $690 | 100% |
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $4,107.64 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Practising NP: $1,131.50
- Provisional NP: $1,131.50
- Practising NP: $867.42
- Provisional NP: $867.42
- Non-practising NP: $109.80
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Canadian NP application assessment: $345
Source
“Canadian NP application assessment | $345”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx - Certified practice application assessment: $115
Source
“Certified practice application assessment | $115”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx - Non-practising NP application assessment: $115
Source
“Non-practising NP application assessment | $115”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx - Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE): $2,530
Source
“Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) | $2,530”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx - OSCE rescore: $250
- Reinstatement to practising NP application assessment: $265
Source
“Reinstatement to practising NP application assessment | $265”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx - Reinstatement to non-practising NP application assessment: $115
Source
“Reinstatement to non-practising NP application assessment | $115”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx - Reinstatement surcharge (unregistered practice): $375 (for unregistered practice)
Source
“Reinstatement surcharge (unregistered practice) | $375”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx - Verification, certificate of professional conduct or letter of good standing: $60
Source
“Verification, certificate of professional conduct or letter of good standing | $60+GST”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx - Not sufficient funds (NSF): $60
Source
“Not sufficient funds (NSF) | $60”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx - Refund processing (registrant requests cancellation): $85 (registrant requests cancellation)
Source
“Refund processing (registrant requests cancellation) | $85+GST”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx - Certified practice application assessment (per designation) (2023-24): $115
Source
“Certified practice application assessment (per designation) | $115”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx
Requirements
Education
Applicants must have completed a Master's level nursing education program.
Source
“Have completed a Master's level nursing education program.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau...Applicants must be educated and registered in the adult, family, or pediatric streams of practice.
Source
“Be educated and registered in the adult, family, or pediatric streams of practice.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau...Graduates of a recognized Canadian NP education program within the last three years meet both the education and competence requirements.
Source
“By successfully completing a recognized Canadian NP education program in the last three years, you will meet both education and competence requirements.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/Canadian_grads/P...
Experience
Applicants must have completed their education and/or practised at least 900 hours as a nurse practitioner in the last three years.
Source
“Have completed your education and/or have practised at least 900 hours as a nurse practitioner in the last three years.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau...
Police check
Applicants must consent to a criminal record check and provide evidence of identity, capacity to practice, and character.
Source
“You'll be asked to consent to a criminal record check, provide evidence of identity, capacity to practice, and character, and provide details of your nursing education and applications for licensure in Canada or internationally.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/Canadian_grads/P...
Other
Applicants must currently be licensed as a nurse practitioner in another country.
Source
“Be currently licensed as a nurse practitioner in another country.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau...Applicants must demonstrate that their Master's education and NP practice expectations in their jurisdiction are equivalent to the Entry Level Competencies for NPs in Canada.
Source
“Demonstrate that your Master's education and expectations for NP practice in your international jurisdiction are equivalent to the Entry Level Competencies for NPs in Canada.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau...Applicants must have successfully completed a recognized written exam.
Source
“Have successfully completed a recognized written exam.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau...Applicants meet the English language proficiency requirement through successful completion of their NP education program in English, unless French was the language of instruction.
Source
“You will meet the English language proficiency requirement through successful completion of your NP education program in English.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/Canadian_grads/P...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages identify an application route for NPs currently or formerly licensed in another Canadian province or territory, but do not state whether they can register without retaking an entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment. Source
“You are currently or formerly licensed in another Canadian province or territory.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/Pages/Default.aspx
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCNM
Credential assessment
Inspire Global Assessments
English language proficiency assessment for internationally educated applicants
Source
“If you applied for registration after January 31, 2023, Inspire Global Assessments will assess your English language proficiency.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/Pages/English_proficiency.aspx
Exams
-
recognized written exam
Source
“Have successfully completed a recognized written exam.”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau... -
regulatory exam
Source
“Provisional licensure is granted to eligible applicants who want to work while meeting their final registration requirements (such as passing the regulatory exam).”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/Canadian_grads/P... -
Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE)
Source
“Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) | $2,530”
bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCNM
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCNM
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCNM
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $42.49 | $59.53 | $74.59 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $42.00 | $61.54 | $75.00 | — |
Nurse practitioners in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Internationally educated NPs bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/lENP/Pages/Defau... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Graduates of Canadian NP programs bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/Canadian_grads/P... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/fees/Pages/Default.aspx · fetched October 10, 2026
- How to apply bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/how_to_apply/Pages/Default.aspx · fetched October 10, 2026
- English proficiency bccnm.ca/NP/applications_registration/Pages/English_proficiency.aspx · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a nurse practitioner in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the BC College of Nurses and Midwives is required to practise in British Columbia, and to use the title nurse practitioner.
Which exams are required?
recognized written exam, regulatory exam, Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.