How to Become a Nurse Practitioner in Nova Scotia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator to work as a nurse practitioner in Nova Scotia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator”
From novascotia.ca/sites/default/files/documents/1-3973/health-professio..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 7 steps
- Licensed in another province: 7 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 9 steps, listed one-time fees $750
- Annual fees
-
- NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31): $669.81
Source
“NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31) | 428.05 | 159.50 | 82.26 | 669.81”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31): $344.49 (prorated licence from July 1)
Source
“NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31) | 142.68 | 159.50 | 42.31 | 344.49”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments
- NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31): $669.81
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 7 done
- 7 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $669.81
-
Sign up for an account in the NSNMR registrant portal, or log in if you already have one.
Source
“If you don't have an account, sign up to create one. If you already have an account, log in.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Choose NP as your application type and pay the application fee.
Source
“Choose your application type: LPN, RN, NP - Pay the application fee”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Submit photocopies of two documents proving your name, such as a birth certificate or passport.
Source
“Photocopy of 2 proof of name documents. These can include: Birth certificate, Passport”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Submit an original criminal record check unless you are already registered with NSNMR in another designation.
Source
“Submit an original criminal record check(s) unless you are currently registered with NSNMR in another designation.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
You may be asked to provide evidence that you meet the English language proficiency requirement.
Source
“You may be asked to provide evidence you meet the English Language Proficiency Registration requirement.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Review the Jurisprudence Resource Guide and complete the Jurisprudence Declaration of Compliance.
Source
“new graduates applying to NSNMR are required to review the Jurisprudence Resource Guide and complete the Jurisprudence Declaration of Compliance confirming they have reviewed the document. There is no fee associated with this requirement.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Pass the applicable NP exam for the client population you studied in your NP program.
Source
“NP: the applicable NP exam for the client population you studied in your NP program”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $669.81 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31): $669.81
Source
“NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31) | 428.05 | 159.50 | 82.26 | 669.81”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31): $344.49 (prorated licence from July 1)
Source
“NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31) | 142.68 | 159.50 | 42.31 | 344.49”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments
Licensed in another province
0 of 7 done
- 7 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $669.81
-
Sign up for an account in the NSNMR registrant portal, or log in if you already have one.
Source
“If you don't have an account, sign up to create one. If you already have an account, log in.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Choose NP as your application type, note your current RN licence, and pay the application fee.
Source
“Choose your application type: LPN, RN, NP - Pay the application fee - Note: Nurse Practitioner applicants require a current RN licence.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Submit photocopies of two documents proving your name, such as a birth certificate or passport.
Source
“Photocopy of 2 proof of name documents. These can include: Birth certificate, Passport”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Submit an original criminal record check unless you are already registered with NSNMR in another designation.
Source
“Submit an original criminal record check(s) unless you are currently registered with NSNMR in another designation.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Include any nursing licence you have held outside Nova Scotia so NSNMR can complete an online verification with the regulatory body.
Source
“If you hold or have held a nursing licence anywhere outside Nova Scotia, include that in your application. If the information is available, we will complete an online Verification of Registration with the regulatory body.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Review the Jurisprudence Resource Guide and complete the Jurisprudence Declaration of Compliance.
Source
“new graduates applying to NSNMR are required to review the Jurisprudence Resource Guide and complete the Jurisprudence Declaration of Compliance confirming they have reviewed the document. There is no fee associated with this requirement.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Pass the applicable NP exam for the client population you studied in your NP program.
Source
“NP: the applicable NP exam for the client population you studied in your NP program”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $669.81 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31): $669.81
Source
“NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31) | 428.05 | 159.50 | 82.26 | 669.81”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31): $344.49 (prorated licence from July 1)
Source
“NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31) | 142.68 | 159.50 | 42.31 | 344.49”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments
Trained outside Canada
0 of 9 done
- Listed one-time fees: $750
- 8 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $669.81
- Listed time: 0.2 months (only 1 of 9 steps state a time)
-
Apply to the National Nursing Assessment Service to get an Advisory Report.
- Main Application: $750
Source
“Step 1: Apply to the National Nursing Assessment Service (NNAS) to get an Advisory Report.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... -
Monitor your application status and receive your Advisory Report, which is sent automatically to the regulatory body you selected.
Time: 5 daysTime source
“Once all documents are received, your Advisory Report will be issued within five days provided no further clarification is needed.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timelineSource
“Once you receive your Advisory Report, you can apply to the regulatory body of your choice. Your Advisory Report will be sent automatically to the regulatory body (or bodies) you have selected.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
Reach out to NSNMR by email for further instructions once you have your NNAS Advisory Report.
Source
“Step 2: Reach out to [email protected] for further instructions.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... -
Arrange for an Education Credential Assessment to be sent directly to NSNMR.
Source
“Arrange for an Education Credential Assessment (ECA) to be sent directly to NSNMR.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... -
Show evidence of recent qualifying nursing practice, such as a truthful declaration of practice as a nurse in the last 3-5 years.
Source
“Truthful declaration of practice as a nurse in the last 3-5* years on your application.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... -
Show evidence that you meet the language proficiency requirement.
Source
“Show evidence that you meet the language proficiency requirement.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... -
Provide truthful declarations about your health and any charges or findings, and submit a recent criminal record check.
Source
“Provide truthful declaration of any health condition that could affect your ability to practice nursing in a safe manner. ... Submit a recent Criminal Record Check (CRC).”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... -
Review the Jurisprudence Resource Guide and submit the Jurisprudence Declaration of Completion form.
Source
“Review the Jurisprudence Resource Guide and submit a Jurisprudence Declaration of Completion form to confirm you have reviewed document.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... -
Pass the registration exam for your designation.
Source
“Pass the registration exam.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $750
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $750 | 100% |
| One-time total | $750 | 100% |
8 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $669.81 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31): $669.81
Source
“NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31) | 428.05 | 159.50 | 82.26 | 669.81”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31): $344.49 (prorated licence from July 1)
Source
“NP – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31) | 142.68 | 159.50 | 42.31 | 344.49”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- NP Initial Fee: $285
Source
“NP Initial Fee | 250.00 | - | 35.00 | 285.00”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - NP – Conditional (4 month term): $228.57 (conditional licence for a 4 month term)
Source
“NP – Conditional (4 month term) | 41.00 | 159.50 | 28.07 | 228.57”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - Reactivation of Licence: $57 (fee after October 31 i.e. late renewal or returning from leave)
Source
“Reactivation of Licence (fee after October 31 31 i.e. late renewal or returning from leave) | 50.00 | 7.00 | 57.00”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - NP Exam Administration Fee: $142.50
Source
“NP Exam Administration Fee | 125.00 | 17.50 | 142.50”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - Canadian Nurse Practitioner (CNPE) Re-Score: $74.10
Source
“Canadian Nurse Practitioner (CNPE) Re-Score | 65.00 | 9.10 | 74.10”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments
Requirements
Education
Nurse Practitioner applicants require a current RN licence.
Source
“Note: Nurse Practitioner applicants require a current RN licence.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad...
Experience
You must meet one of the NP currency of practice options, such as having practised as an NP no later than 3 licensing years prior to application.
Source
“You must meet 1 of the following Currency of Practice options to be eligible for registration and/or licensing in Nova Scotia: ... Practised as an NP no later than 3 licensing years prior to application.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-nurses/curre...
Police check
You must submit a recent criminal record check.
Source
“Submit a recent Criminal Record Check (CRC).”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat...
Good character
You must provide truthful declarations about health conditions and any charges, findings or refusals of registration.
Source
“Provide truthful declaration of any health condition that could affect your ability to practice nursing in a safe manner. ... Provide truthful declaration if you have ever been charged or found guilty of an offence, refused registration, had a finding related to the practice of nursing or another profession, or are involved in certain proceedings.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat...
Other
All application documents must be in English, with translations done by a certified translator at your cost.
Source
“All application documents must be in English. Translations must be done by a certified translator. You are responsible for translation costs if required.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
An NP licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction can meet the currency of practice requirement by holding current licensing in another Canadian jurisdiction for the same designation when applying for registration and an initial practising licence. Source
“Hold current licensing in another Canadian jurisdiction for the same designation you are applying for (*only available when applying for registration and an initial practising licence with NSNMR*).”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-nurses/curre...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator
Exams
-
the applicable NP exam for the client population you studied in your NP program
Source
“NP: the applicable NP exam for the client population you studied in your NP program”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Canadian Nurse Practitioner (CNPE)
Source
“Canadian Nurse Practitioner (CNPE) Re-Score | 65.00 | 9.10 | 74.10”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nova Scotia | $41.41 | $55.88 | $67.63 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $42.00 | $61.54 | $75.00 | — |
Nurse practitioners in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- novascotia.ca/sites/default/files/documents/1-3973/health-professio... novascotia.ca/sites/default/files/documents/1-3973/health-professio...
- New Grad Educated in Nova Scotia | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... · fetched October 10, 2026
- New Grad Educated in Another Province: Not Licensed Anywhere in Canada | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... · fetched October 10, 2026
- International Nurse Applicants | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees - National Nursing Assessment Service nnas.ca/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application Process & Timeline - National Nursing Assessment Service nnas.ca/application-process-timeline · fetched October 9, 2026
- Currency of Practice | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-nurses/curre... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees and Payments | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a nurse practitioner in Nova Scotia?
Yes. Registration with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator is required to practise in Nova Scotia.
Which exams are required?
the applicable NP exam for the client population you studied in your NP program, Canadian Nurse Practitioner (CNPE).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.