How to Become a Nurse Practitioner in Prince Edward Island
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery to work as a nurse practitioner in Prince Edward Island or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“All nurses, which includes registered nurses (RNs), nurse practitioners (NPs), registered psychiatric nurses (RPNs), and licensed practical nurses (LPNs), and midwifes in PEI must be registered by PEICNM in order to practice nursing or midwifery in the province.”
From peicnm.ca, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery
- Annual fees
-
- NP registration fee (full year): $465 (NP registration year November 1 - October 31, full year)
Source
“NP, RN, RPN, & Provisional – Registration Year: November 1- October 31 | Full Year | $465.00”
peicnm.ca/registration-requirements/fees - NP registration fee (partial year): $265 (NP registration beginning May 1st)
- NP special class registration fee: $106 (Special Class)
- Late fee (renewal): $100 (late renewal)
- PAD bank administration fee: $12.50 (RN/NP/RPN registrants paying annual renewal fees by pre-authorized debit)
Source
“RN/NP/RPN $465.00 (registration fee) + $12.50 (bank administration fee)”
peicnm.ca/registration-requirements/fees - PAD Fees – RN/NP/RPN $465.00 (registration fee) + $12.50 (bank administration fee): $477.50
Source
“RN/NP/RPN<br>$465.00 (registration fee) + $12.50 (bank administration fee) | $47.75x 10<br>=$477.50”
peicnm.ca/registration-requirements/fees
- NP registration fee (full year): $465 (NP registration year November 1 - October 31, full year)
Your roadmap
The steps are not listed yet.
Check the current steps with Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery.
Requirements
Not stated by the regulator Check with Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how a nurse practitioner already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in PEI. Source
“Applicants for registration as a nurse practitioner in PEI are required to successfully complete the CNPE exam, administered by Meazure Learning.”
peicnm.ca/registration-requirements/examinations
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery
Exams
-
CNPE
Source
“Applicants for registration as a nurse practitioner in PEI are required to successfully complete the CNPE exam, administered by Meazure Learning.”
peicnm.ca/registration-requirements/examinations -
CNPLE
Source
“Applicants for registration as a nurse practitioner in PEI are required to successfully complete the CNPLE exam, administered by Meazure Learning.”
peicnm.ca/registration-requirements/examinations
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prince Edward Island | $37.74 | $50.65 | $59.54 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $42.00 | $61.54 | $75.00 | — |
Nurse practitioners in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery (PEICNM) peicnm.ca · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees & Payment - Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery peicnm.ca/registration-requirements/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Examinations - Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery peicnm.ca/registration-requirements/examinations · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a nurse practitioner in Prince Edward Island?
Yes. Registration with the Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery is required to practise in Prince Edward Island.
Which exams are required?
CNPE, CNPLE.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.