How to Become an Optometrist in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Alberta College of Optometrists to work as an optometrist in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- optometrists
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Health Professions Act [pdf], Health Professions Restricted Activity Regulation [pdf], and Optometrists Profession Regulation [pdf], registration with the Alberta College of Optometrists (ACO) is mandatory.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/optometrist, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 6 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Intern Membership fee: $350 (annual fee for interns)
Source
“$350.00 annual Intern Membership fee”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/optometry-graduate-intern-...
- Intern Membership fee: $350 (annual fee for interns)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $350 (annual fee for interns)
-
Complete the Preliminary Registration Form for your category, submit all required documentation to the ACO office, pay the registration fee and complete the statutory declaration.
Source
“Complete the Preliminary Registration Form for your appropriate category listed below, submit all required documentation to the ACO office, submit the registration fee and complete the statutory declaration.”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/new-member-registration -
Apply directly to the Optometry Examining Board of Canada to challenge the OEBC exam.
Source
“Graduates of accredited Schools of Optometry in North America are allowed to apply directly to Optometry Examining Board of Canada (OEBC) to challenge the OEBC exam.”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/new-member-registration -
Complete and submit the Application for Practice Permit and the required ACO Practice Permit fee.
Source
“Complete and submit the Application for Practice Permit and the required ACO Practice Permit fee.”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/new-member-registration -
After completing all registration requirements, the ACO office sends an official notice to the Alberta College of Pharmacists and the Health & Wellness Practitioner Registry, then you contact Alberta Practitioner Registry yourself to set up your billing information.
Source
“After you complete all registration requirements, the ACO office sends an official notice to the Alberta College of Pharmacists (for authorization to write pharmaceutical prescriptions) and to Health & Wellness Practitioner Registry (to inform them of your status as a licensed practitioner).”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/registering-with-alberta-h...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ACO
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Intern Membership fee: $350 (annual fee for interns)
Source
“$350.00 annual Intern Membership fee”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/optometry-graduate-intern-...
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $350 (annual fee for interns)
-
Complete the application checklist, preliminary registration form and statutory declaration for the existing practitioner from another province category.
Source
“If you are a candidate in this category, please complete the application checklist, preliminary registration form and statutory declaration.”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/new-member-registration -
Complete and submit the Application for Practice Permit and the required ACO Practice Permit fee.
Source
“Complete and submit the Application for Practice Permit and the required ACO Practice Permit fee.”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/new-member-registration -
After completing all registration requirements, the ACO office notifies the Alberta College of Pharmacists and the Health & Wellness Practitioner Registry, then you contact Alberta Practitioner Registry yourself to set up your billing information.
Source
“After you complete all registration requirements, the ACO office sends an official notice to the Alberta College of Pharmacists (for authorization to write pharmaceutical prescriptions) and to Health & Wellness Practitioner Registry (to inform them of your status as a licensed practitioner).”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/registering-with-alberta-h...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ACO
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Intern Membership fee: $350 (annual fee for interns)
Source
“$350.00 annual Intern Membership fee”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/optometry-graduate-intern-...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $350 (annual fee for interns)
-
Successfully complete a credentialing process at FORAC.
Source
“Graduates of non-accredited Schools of Optometry (outside of North America) are required to successfully complete a credentialing process at FORAC”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/new-member-registration -
Successfully complete the Advanced Standing Optometry Preparatory Program at the University of Waterloo.
Source
“successfully complete the Advanced Standing Optometry Preparatory Program (ASOPP) at the University of Waterloo before being allowed to challenge the OEBC exam”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/new-member-registration -
Complete the application checklist, preliminary registration form and statutory declaration for the non-accredited school category.
Source
“If you are a candidate in this category, please complete the application checklist, preliminary registration form and statutory declaration.”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/new-member-registration -
After completing the credentialing and preparatory program requirements, challenge the OEBC exam.
Source
“successfully complete the Advanced Standing Optometry Preparatory Program (ASOPP) at the University of Waterloo before being allowed to challenge the OEBC exam”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/new-member-registration -
Complete and submit the Application for Practice Permit and the required ACO Practice Permit fee.
Source
“Complete and submit the Application for Practice Permit and the required ACO Practice Permit fee.”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/new-member-registration -
After completing all registration requirements, the ACO office notifies the Alberta College of Pharmacists and the Health & Wellness Practitioner Registry, then you contact Alberta Practitioner Registry yourself to set up your billing information.
Source
“After you complete all registration requirements, the ACO office sends an official notice to the Alberta College of Pharmacists (for authorization to write pharmaceutical prescriptions) and to Health & Wellness Practitioner Registry (to inform them of your status as a licensed practitioner).”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/registering-with-alberta-h...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ACO
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Intern Membership fee: $350 (annual fee for interns)
Source
“$350.00 annual Intern Membership fee”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/optometry-graduate-intern-...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Initial Registration fee: $100
Source
“$100.00 Initial Registration fee”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/optometry-graduate-intern-... - additional annual membership fee: $350 (if the intern is not successful in passing the OEBC by the end of the calendar year)
Source
“If the intern is not successful in passing the OEBC by the end of the calendar year, the intern must again apply for membership in this program and pay an additional $350 annual membership fee.”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/optometry-graduate-intern-...
Requirements
Education
To register as an optometrist in Alberta, you must successfully complete an approved doctor of optometry (O.D.) degree program within the last 3 years.
Source
“To register as an optometrist in Alberta, you must successfully complete: An approved doctor of optometry (O.D.) degree program within the last 3 years”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/optometrist
Insurance
Interns must provide proof of liability insurance coverage at the time of application.
Source
“Proof of liability insurance coverage”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/optometry-graduate-intern-...The supervising optometrist must have adequate liability insurance covering the intern, with a current minimum amount of $3 million.
Source
“Assure the ACO that the supervising optometrist has adequate liability insurance covering the intern(s) during the course of the approved program. The current minimum amount of liability insurance is $3 million.”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/optometry-graduate-intern-...
Other
You must successfully complete the Optometry Examining Board of Canada (OEBC) exam.
Source
“The Optometry Examining Board of Canada (OEBC) exam”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/optometristYou must successfully complete the ACO Jurisprudence Exam.
You must have Basic Life Support CPR certification.
Source
“Basic Life Support CPR certification”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/optometristYou must apply for registration within 3 years of completing all requirements.
Source
“You must apply for registration within 3 years of completing all requirements.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/optometristAll interns must work under the supervision of a Regulated Member.
Source
“All interns must work under the supervision of a Regulated Member.”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/optometry-graduate-intern-...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
The Agreement on Internal Trade allows the easy transfer of practitioners in good standing from one province to another. Source
“All regulatory authorities in Canada are regulated by the Agreement on Internal Trade (AIT). This agreement allows the easy transfer of practitioners in good standing from one province to another.”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/new-member-registration
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with ACO
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with ACO
Exams
-
ACO Jurisprudence Exam
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with ACO
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with ACO
Supervised practice
Required
All interns must work under the supervision of a Regulated Member. Source
“All interns must work under the supervision of a Regulated Member.”
collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/optometry-graduate-intern-...
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $32,867 | $84,000 | $178,000 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $81,000 | $162,000 | — |
Optometrists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Optometrist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/optometrist · fetched October 9, 2026
- NEW MEMBER REGISTRATION - Alberta College of Optometrists collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/new-member-registration · fetched October 9, 2026
- REGISTERING WITH ALBERTA HEALTH - Alberta College of Optometrists collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/registering-with-alberta-h... · fetched October 9, 2026
- OPTOMETRY GRADUATE INTERN APPLICATION - Alberta College of Optometrists collegeofoptometrists.ab.ca/registration/optometry-graduate-intern-... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an optometrist in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the Alberta College of Optometrists is required to practise in Alberta, and to use the title optometrists.
Which exams are required?
ACO Jurisprudence Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.